We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chattermark Restaurant

Chattermark Restaurant
220 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
(907) 224-4333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 43 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Seward, Alaska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Underrated food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

When I first walked into this place, I had to ask the bartender if they were still open, it was so empty. Though I do not know why it was so empty, because the food was very good, and the service (maybe partly due to me being one of the only people there) was excellent. I don't think many people know about this restaurant, but it is definitely worth checking out for a great meal in a clean, modern looking atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reston, va
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a quick breakfast this morning and came upon Chattermark. There was no one in there which felt strange but we decided to take a chance. We had a very good meal, delivered promptly, with friendly service. What more could we ask? My husband loved his reindeer scramble which was a new food for him. I enjoyed my veggie scramble. The menu was very limited but we both easily found something we wanted. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Walked in, waited, and walked out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The restaurant is much larger than the photos on its website would lead one to believe. After waiting five minutes at a very uncomfortable table with a thick center pillar which left little room for my legs, we left when menus or even an acknowledgement of our arrival had not been given to us. That is inexcusable for a restaurant which charges over $30 for main courses and was not even half full.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent sweet potato fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I give them top marks on the strength of a great burger and a generous serving of superb sweet potato fries.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Has lost what made it exceptional...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family traveled to Seward last summer. We stumbled on the Chattermark & we loved it!

Things have changed. We were disapointed with some of the menu changes. While the setting & burgers are still good, the gems on the menu are now missing--specifically the crab cakes!! There are only 5 items now on the dinner menu. Other seafood options are missing. The Halibut from the lunch menu was $19 and included only three small pieces!! The "gourmet" dipping sauces were strange & disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattermark Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chattermark Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chattermark Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.