We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sourdough Sue's Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourdough Sue's Yurts
Save
You added Sourdough Sue's Yurts to your Saves list
33940 Tressler Ave, Seward, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Tustin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A great alternative to staying in Seward proper. Don't think that these are basic tents, the yurts are large, clean and have all the amenities. Sue and Greg are great as well. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We try to keep our lodging groomed and clean.. Guests seem to like the fact that it is not your basic cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GTA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying in one of Sue's cabins - which was neatly prepared upon our arrival, with full attention to even the smallest details. The yurts are not your typical bare-bones yurts, but rather a modernized touch - which makes the experience even better for a first time user. Sue and her husband - and their dogs - were all great hosts and very welcoming. Would return without hesitation.

Only note, and not to be negative, sound travels well between yurts - so respect your neighbours privacy and enjoy the quiet scenery of Seward.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Yes, Our dogs are the main attraction to our lodging. The keep all predators out and our good guests comfy and protected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My first time living in a yurt. It was amazing. It was clean, comfortable. 5 of us shared the smaller yurt and it was not a problem at all. It had good kitchen, toilet and even a grill at the deck. We could not figure out how to close the skylight first night. The hosts were wonderful people. It was really fun and unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I love it when our guests describe their stay as a unique experinece. Once more I smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First time in a yurt is really fun and we absolutely love it. The place feels cozy and clean while is still roomy for three of us. When we first enter the yurt, it was baked under the Alaska sun, which is a rarely experience during our trip in Alaska, and it is a little hot. Within a minute, our 11-year-old son figured out where and how to open the "Alaska air conditioner". Ten minutes later, it felled really cool and comfy. The night can be cold, but the oil stove helps to keep it warm and put nice ambiance tone to the place. Lighting up the stove became our son's favorite job.
As for the breakfast, the blueberry bread was delicious. The only complaint is it is not enough for three of us. We ended up cooking our own every morning.
We stayed there for two nights in Yurt #2 and our son wishes we could stay long, because there were so many cool jobs he can do. It was fun!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
When your son grows up he can come help me with the yurt , he would be a good grounds keeper I bet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed at the 30' yurt and it was better than anything we could have imagined!

It's a very spacious, bright yurt. Although the walls between the bedrooms and bathroom are partitions, the bathroom is real. It has a real shower, a real sink, a real toilet. The kitchen was great too - it had a small refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, a stove, an electric grill. Cooking utensils and silverware/cutlery were provided. There was also some tea, coffee, and a coffee maker.

The futon expanded into a bed - so did the two lounge chairs in the living room area. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the blankets that were provided for the beds/futon were great too. There was even a towel set for each of us.

The porch area was great - it's covered and there's a propane grill and outdoor chairs for everyone.

Sue was a great person who was extremely nice - so was her husband. She provided us with juice boxes and a delicious homemade banana blueberry cake.

Outside, there is a picnic table and a campfire site. We lit up a campfire and barbequed some fresh salmon we bought at the fish market in Seward (10 minutes drive) using the grill on the porch. It was amazing.

In the morning, we woke up to the nice sound of rain hitting the center dome! We don't get that much in LA.

We will definitely stay here if we come back. I think it's better than staying in Seward itself because that place was FREEZING. It is a little warmer in the wooded area of the yurts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
thank you so much for staying with us. I love to hear the great times that our guests are sharing with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was very happy with our decision to stay in Sourdough Sue's Yurts. There was fresh blueberry-banana bread and juice boxes on the kitchen table. I was pleased with how roomy it was and how cozy it felt at the same time. We lit the oil stove and it just added to the ambience. We were greeted on our arrival by the owner's three friendly dogs who were welcoming every time we came back to the property. That was a great treat for my daughter. The kitchen had everything you could need and there was a great bbq on the porch.
Would definitely recommend this place- really was a unique setting and a great value!


Only thing missing was a hairdryer- this was the only place we stayed at where one wasn't available. (To be fair we didn't ask if there was one avaialbe but it wasn't in our bathroom)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ootimom, Owner at Sourdough Sue's Yurts, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Our dogs live for the fact that each day there will be new guests to get pets from. They thoroughly enjoy every minute of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I absolutely LOVED Sourdough Sue's yurts! My mom and I stayed for two nights and wish we had stayed longer! The yurt had a kitchen area as well as a barbecue if you wanted to make your own meals! We stayed warm by lighting the oil stove which gave the yurt a nice ambiance! I slept on the futon which was really comfortable. Even though a yurt sounds small and compact it wasn't. It was very spacious! I also loved the three greeters- Uti, Midu and Gaya- the three dogs that belong to Sue. They were very sweet and reminded me of my dog at home! Sue was very nice and helpful! Another plus was the price- we didn't break the bank staying at Sourdough Sue's! Overall Sourdough Sue's yurts are a must if you are staying in Seward

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sourdough Sue's Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sue's Yurts

Address: 33940 Tressler Ave, Seward, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ( 1 acre property ) has (3) available yurts. Our yurts are provided with all of the amenities. We have (2) 24ft. Yurt's which each sleeps (6) guests. Our new 30ft. Yurt has (2) private bedrooms with double beds and a full family room with a queen futon couch bed and (2) twin chair beds, to sleep (8) guests. Our 30ft. Also has a full kitchen and private bath and also includes all amenities, whick include coffe pot, dishes, towels, pots, pans griddle, fridge, microwave, 4 burner cooking stove and BBQ on deck. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sourdough Sue's Yurts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.