We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Seward!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exit Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Exit Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Exit Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Exit Glacier Road (Herman Leirer Road), PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warren, OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Seward!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a business/vacation trip to Alaska. This was our very first visit, and I can't wait to go back. I spent a considerable amount of time researching the ideal place to stay in Seward. This was a phenomenal choice! From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were treated like friends. The lodge is along the lines of a bed and breakfast, with a complimentary cooked to order breakfast each morning. It was enough to last until dinner. The rooms were immaculate and the beds very comfortable. Sarah, the owner, booked a tour of Resurrection Bay for us through Marine Tours. We were not going to take the cruise because the most popular company required a lunch/dinner buffet along with a visit to Fox Island. We were not interested in this and were unaware of another quality company that did not require this. I am SO happy that Sarah brought this to our attention and then went out of her way to acquire tickets for us. It was the highlight of our trip. Upon checkout, Sarah allowed me the use of her personal computer to check in with the airlines and obtain our boarding passes. We received personalized treatment from the moment we arrived. This is THE place to stay in Seward!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was so happy to discover this little gem in Seward! Our room was spotless and comfortable and I loved the rustic decor! It had a B&B vibe. We sat in the lobby and drank hot chocolate and had fun looking at all of the old photos on the walls. And you can't beat the price! Fantastic! If you go, don't miss the hike to Exit Glacier! Phenomenal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms are comfortable and clean with enough amenities to make you feel at home. There was a coffee maker, refrigerator, and hairdryer provided. It's quiet & we slept with the windows open at night. It's built as a lodge or small motel, but it has the feel of a B&B w/very few rooms and personalized service. We booked the last room available, which was the double queen, but it was roomy & looked out on the woods. The folks who run the place are friendly and willing to make recommendations on things to do. The breakfast was wonderful - they cooked eggs and waffles for us each day. The Exit Glacier Salmon Bake is on the same property, so you can just walk next door for dinner. We also loved the dog that sits out front - very friendly - and the rabbits that hop around the yard (they're all over town, but there are at least 10 in the lodge yard). It's close to town, so it takes just a few minutes to drive to the docks or downtown. It's very convenient for visiting the Exit Glacier. It's on the same road, so you just have to drive a couple of miles and you're there. Our only complaint would be the lack of elevator. Our room was on the second floor, and we had to lug all of the luggage upstairs. Overall, I would highly recommend this as a great & affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We booked a room at the Seward Windsong Lodge but could only book one night so we found Exit Glacier Lodge down the street and was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean, great breakfast included and loved the resident dog! And...It was about half the price of Windsong! Although, you enter your room from the interior of the lodge and you can hear voices in the hall, it is a quaint lodge and a great value.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location: 2 miles from Seward on the Exit Glacier Road, 8 miles from Exit Glacier trailhead.
Room: Very comfortable, clean, good king-size bed, fridge.
Breakfast: Hot items cooked to order, good selection of continental breakfast items. Brittni and Sarah both said "no problem" when I asked if we could make peanut butter sandwiches and take them with us for lunch.
Staff: The owner, Sarah Benjamin, was very responsive and helpful over the phone and by email before we arrived. Sarah was away the night we arrived, and Brittni had left us a note and room key at the (unattended) front desk -- refreshingly casual and comforting. We met her the next morning at breakfast -- very friendly and helpful.
Ambience: Rustic, quiet and casual. Everything seems new, but the overall style is old-fashioned. Pretty fixtures, beautiful stone fireplace with mounted antlers.
Price: Sarah said they are usually closed this late in the season (mid-late Sept.), but they had a construction crew staying there so they were going to be open, and she could offer us an off-season rate of $79. We thought this was extremely reasonable -- an excellent value. BTW, we thought it might be noisy with a construction crew onsite, but it was very quiet!
We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is very well decorated and cozy. Staff very friendly and accommodating . Very quiet peaceful nights sleep. The restraurant on site was also very good. The breakfast was prepared as ordered, and all the food items were fresh. It was help yourself and also waiter help too! Great place would go back there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our early Sept stay at Exit Glacier Lodge. Sleeping temps were nice and cool, just what we like. I loved that it is close to a flowing river and not far from Exit Glacier. Hosts were very accommodating and personable. The breakfast was amazing with cooked to order eggs and waffles, included. All in all, a great stay. Decor is fun, too. It is actually a new building, made to look historic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exit Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exit Glacier Lodge

Address: Exit Glacier Road (Herman Leirer Road), PO Box 3151, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Hotel Class:3 star — Exit Glacier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Exit Glacier Hotel Seward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exit Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.