We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach House Rentals Seward Alaska” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House Rentals
Save
You added Beach House Rentals to your Saves list
14065 Beach Drive, Seward, AK   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Seward B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Beach House Rentals Seward Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My stay at Beach House Rentals was the most enjoyable experience. The rustic quaint accomodations truely made our stay in Alaska worhtwhile. I would definitely choose to stay at the Beach House Rental when I return to Alaska. The trip was a wonderful experience.
Thank you again for such an enjoyable relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Choose Beach House Rentals. The rustic atmosphere is truely an Alaskan experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited Seward in June and stayed at Beach House. The accommodations were great and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the rest of the accommodations were perfect. We were able to cook all of our meals in the kitchen. We had plenty of room to sit around, eat, play games and visit with family. The fire pit was a fun place to end the day. The hostess was welcoming, helpful and made sure our stay was pleasant. Thank you for making our vacation wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I've been staying in this cabin every year for the last 6 years and it's a great stay. If you have a group or family, you can easily make it work to sleep 6 people - if some are smaller and/or flexible. I would say that 4 adults would be comfortable though. It used to be roomier and could sleep more people, but some great remodeling since then has actually made it a nicer cabin.

The location is the tough to beat. You're a short walk from South Beach and the only thing separating you from the ocean is a dirt road and a row of beachfront property. There is also a nice fire pit behind the cabin and nothing is better in Alaska than sitting by the fire.

I've been to Alaska 8 times as a traveler and if you need a top notch stay, there are plenty of hotels that can give you that satisfaction. If you're looking for an experience that is true and unique to Alaska, stay at places like this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Excellent small cottage near beach with great hiking trails. we were very pleased with the cleanliness and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

There is NO WAY that this property should be advertised to sleep 6 people! And it was certainly too small for the 4 adults in our party. The lower bedroom is fine, but the slope of upper bedroom's ceiling makes it difficult (or impossible if your husband is 6'2") to walk without hitting your head.

The living area is absolutely TINY. The point of us renting a house instead of staying in-town in a hotel is that the four of us wanted to be able to spread out a bit, cook a lot, and eat together in the house. The kitchen utensils were inadequate (for example, no spatula) and the dining area is basically nil. In order to make it work, you have to literally move around the three pieces of furniture in the living space to allow four people to eat at the 2-person table together.

The sink in the kitchen was also broken, which the owner knew about and didn't fix prior to our arrival. Instead, she waited for the busted pipe to gush water all over the floor and we had to call her and tell her she needed to fix it. She clearly knew it was broken beforehand because she had bowls under the pipes to catch the water!!

I would not stay there again, and I would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachhousealaska, Owner at Beach House Rentals, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience in Beach House #2. There is nothing more important to us than giving you and every one of our guests a pleasant and comfortable stay. Beach House Rentals has a wide variety of places to stay and we strive to match out customers needs with their rental. For those looking for a larger living space for more formal dining, we recommend choosing the Treefort House with a table that can seat up to 6 people. We are sorry for any inconvenience. We appreciate your comments about the upstairs bedroom. We have changed the website to read that the upstairs bedroom has a 'low vaulted ceiling'. The photos show the ceiling, but it may not have been noticed at a quick glance, so it has been labeled. I was glad that I was able to get someone immediately the day you called about the kitchen sink to fix it while you were on your whale watching tour. We regret that this occurred during your stay and apologize that you had to deal with this.

Most people today acquire their information from the website, so we strive to describe Beach House Rentals and present photos that give you a clear picture of your accommodations. We also encourage questions to be sure that you will be pleased with your stay.

Thanks again for contacting us, as it's with the help of people like you that we continually improve. We are always looking for ways to better satisfy our customers.

With Kind Regards,

Claire Musgrove Horton, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at the cabin for 3 nights and I really liked this place. It is located just south of Seward in the quiet area of Lowell Point. You can walk to the beach and access some of the local hiking trails. (Unfortunately there was still snow covering the trails when we were there). And Millers Landing and other kayak rentals are right down the street.

We stayed in the Treefort House.... large cabin. You take a set of stairs up to the cabin, the inside is just beautiful. Large common room with cathedral ceilings, dining area and full kitchen. Two good size bedrooms, one downstairs the other up a spiral staircase. Lots of space to spread out. The bathroom was a good size as well. Lots of storage space. Well maintained property, back a little in the woods. (ignore a couple of the neighboring properties as they are in disarray... I noticed that in many areas while traveling through the peninsula).

The downstairs bedroom has blackout blinds and so do the windows in the upstairs bedroom, but there is no bedroom door upstairs so light will come through the door area and a cut through window that is open to the downstairs area... bring an eye mask if the light will bother you. Short nights in the spring and summer.

The owner was very helpful by email and by phone when needed. As this is a vacation rental and not a hotel, you will not see the owners.

Would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs... one set to get into the cabin and a spiral staircase to get to the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Treefort apartment for 7 nights..just the two of us. Any more than 2 would have been cramped. Maybe two adults and one child max. If you decide to stay keep in mind that the large Treefort house is right above you and the noise can be a annoying...we only had to deal with it for one night. No reason not to stay just something to consider. The apt is located on Lowell Point just steps from the public beach access. Also just steps is Miller's Landing for boats kayaks fishing and more. You are short cab ride from the downtown Seward or a one hour walk. On this walk we saw seals, sea lions, a whale and sea otters. Back to the apt ...it's clean and cozy. Kitchen is fully equipped. There's a fire pit and bbq that we used a couple times. We enjoyed our stay in Seward immensely.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Rentals

Address: 14065 Beach Drive, Seward, AK
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner: Claire Horton. A scenic drive along beautiful Resurrection Bay brings you to Magical Lowell Point and a home or 2 all to your selves. Beach House Rentals is across the street from the bay with beach access just a short walk down the street. Choose from our 2 bedroom houses that sleep 6 or 7 or our Treefort efficiency apartment nestled back in the woods for 2-5 people. Each place has a bath and a full furnished kitchen with pots & pans, utensils, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and condiments. You can also enjoy the outdoor barbecue grill, firepit and picnic tables for a fresh salmon or halibut dinner and smores under the midnight sun. Lots of activities are right in the area for hiking, kayaking, fishing, wildlife viewing and beachcombing. For the campers who want to stay dry, we also have a small heated cabin with a frig and microwave. Stay with us and enjoy the great Alaska experience! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.