We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Cantina

Railway Cantina
1401 4th Ave, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-8226
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 43 Restaurants in Seward
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Out of place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

This might seem out of place being in Seward, but its not your typical mexican dive. The burritos are all unique and are "alaskan" at heart. The halibut burrito, the reindeer burrito, the take a great twist on the foods and make them their own. Wonderful salsas as well, the portions are great and i was never let down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    62
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blue moo steak burrito ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Gotta get this. Super good burritos, lots of different salsas to choose from. Can get a bit crowded and not very big but the food is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Halibut Burrito ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Love their blackened halibut burritos. Pineapple salsa is amazing. Fast service, great location, right across the street from the boat dock.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Reindeer burrito, yes please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Its not often you get to have something as crazy as a reindeer burrito, so when you get a chance, you have to take it! Great burritos, cool little spot, beer is a little on the expensive side, but really, when is the next time you get to have a beer with a reindeer burrito!?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Ordered the wrong thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We ate at this establishment 4 years ago and could not wait to get back there. The halibut tacos lived in our memory and we vowed to eat there again if in Alaska. We got back but a weird thing happened, the escort on bus told how great their burritos were and we somehow got confused and forgot it was the tacos we loved. We got the burritos which were large but full of fillers and the halibut was not the dominant flavor as before. As we were leaving somewhat disappointed we saw someone with a halibut taco, it was like that V-8 commercial because I wanted to hit myself in the head. You could see the chucks of halibut on the taco and I realized that was what we had before.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Railway Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.