We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Garden

Oriental Garden
313 4th Ave, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-7677
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 46 Restaurants in Seward
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got take-out, using the family deal. It was delicious and affordable. Food was hot and enough for 2 meals for 2 people. The cashier was very nice and gave us tea bags to take back since we were soaked. He also did some fun magic tricks while we were waiting.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
harrisonburg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“unbelievably bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

There were two of us who ordered delivery from this restaurant. It was storming and we had done a very long hike that day and weren't expecting much. Honestly, how good can chinese be in a small coastal town in AK?

IT WAS AWFUL!

I am not a professional writer so I can not accurately describe how bad this was. The General Tso chicken was mush. There was no chicken but just this god awful mush with an awful aftertaste. The chicken dish my friend had was in this sugary sauce that tasted like it was purposely made to taste like a sugary , moldy shoe .

The other issue was that it was $32 for the two of us to get this delivered.

My recommendation is that if you want to laugh about a meal for weeks to come, go here. If you want edible , overpriced food go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good value and great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Lovely chinese and Japanese food
Great value and the waiter was superb, really funny, lots of little magic tricks - great evening

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Entertaining and tasty meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

An entertaining meal with a waiter who insisted on amusing us with magic tricks ! Meal tasty and good value. A Chinese restaurant is one of the few spots to find a few vegetarian options so it is recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Good food! Great value for money! And Mr.Q does some amazing magic tricks! He also entertains kids with Guinness Records and other astonishing facts!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Garden also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.