We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Seward” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Den B&B and Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Save
You added Bear's Den B&B and Lodging to your Saves list
221 Bear Drive, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Seward B&B and Inns
ellicott city, md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place in Seward”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family of 6, 2 adults and 4 children, stayed in Bears Den 3. We found the place to be spotlessly clean, comfortable and perfect for our stay. The beds were comfortable, the curtains kept out the light, the bathrooms and kitchen were well stocked and the layout was comfortable. Three bedrooms provided necessary family harmony. Our view was that of the homes across the street and a mountain top above. We found it quite pleasant. We also found many outdoor activities in Seward that the view didn't matter much to us. Breakfast is not included with Bears Den 3 but Safeway is 2 doors down so we grabbed what we needed and were set. The Adelmann's checked in with us on occasion but then left us with plenty of privacy.

A couple of highlights were when Shari met us with a plate full of cookies, right out of the oven. The kids thought that this might happen every time we walked in the door, so after devouring the treats they walked in and out the door a few times to see if it would work :). Another was when a moose walked right in front of our door, crossing between it and our car on the driveway. Seven y/o daughter, "Mom there's a big brown thing in our driveway!" And last we were so pleased when Shari sent my sons lost DS cartridge back to us in Maryland. Anyone with a DS knows how small those cartridges are. A testament to the level of cleanliness!

The only slight criticism is that the shampoo/conditioner/soap dispenser in the shower only provides 1 small teardrop of product. Not sure if it's clogged or by design. We did not mention it (too busy having fun) so there was no opportunity to remedy the complaint.

We would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Bears Den appears to be a farm house-looking place. Bears Den 1 and 2 are at the front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The accommodations could not have been better! This is a very comfortable B&B, wonderful beds! I felt right at home at Bears Den! It is remarkably clean and fresh, as well as spacious. The hosts were delightful and welcoming. The breakfast basket was full of homemade breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, and much more. Quite delicious as we sipped our fresh ground coffee on the deck overlooking the bay. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Seward. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had two couples in Bears Den 3 and it was like a little home away from home. The owners are amazing, so helpful, and personable. We got warm chocolate chip cookies, very clean and comfortable. We even had a bbq to cook our freshly caught fish on. We had no transporation but could easily walk to the bus stop and catch the free bus downtown, which runs frequently. Its right across the street from the train station where we came in at, and we were able to drop off our bags and head out to our first tour. I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful place and people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Den #3 for three nights in May and were thrilled with our accommodations. While we did not need three bedrooms, the smaller units were booked, but we loved having all the space after spending four nights in very tight quarters! The "den" was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, and provided all the comforts of home. The kitchen was well appointed, although we did not use it much since we ate at Ray's Waterfront Restaurant all three nights; after all, we were on vacation! Our hosts were very warm and welcoming; Shari even greeted us with fresh baked banana bread and yummy cookies, a welcome treat after a long drive. Thanks for a relaxing three days in Seward!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Friendly folks, great accomodations, lots of space. Warm cookies on arrival, and the breakfast basket is outstanding

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

My neice and I stayed upstairs in room 1. We enjoyed the privacy of this room, the large deck, comfy furniture. We were in Seward to go sea kayaking and found the Bears Den to be a warm cozy headquarters for our adventures. Although the B&B is at the far northeast end of town, we were able to walk everywhere. What made our stay so special was Sherry's genuinely warm welcome and very thoughtful services far and above our expectations. Out train left in the evening hours after checkout. Sherry called that morning to offer to keep our bags and bring them to the station at boarding time. When we walked up to the station about 20 minutes before boarding, there was Sherry waiting for us. She handed over our bags then gave us a box full of warm chocolate chip cookies and banana muffins! We sure felt special and trulybappreciated such a thoughtful gesture.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This B&B had everything a girl could want. A soft bed to get lost in after a day of adventures a kitchen to cook for my self and friends, and it was close enough to the stores and town I could walk where ever I had to go. I was looking for a hide away so that I could regroup for the next day and this place was perfict. Clean warm and very comfortable. felt like home only better. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear's Den B&B and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den B&B and Lodging

Address: 221 Bear Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and relaxation await you at Bear's Den Bed and Breakfast and Lodging. With three “dens” to choose from, our goal is to provide you with the perfect lodging choice for your visit to Seward. Vacationers to Alaska, honeymooners, business travelers and families will find what they need at Bear’s Den. Ideally located one block from the small boat harbor, shops, train depot and restaurants. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Den B&B and Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.