We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room average, staff great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Bake Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salmon Bake Cabins
Save
You added Salmon Bake Cabins to your Saves list
Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Brentwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Room average, staff great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. When we checked in we found out that cable was not working and they said they would have it checked out the next day. The next day they found that cable company needed to be called and it would not be fixable until several days later.
Although they offered to move us into lodge, we chose not to have to pack up and move everything. Wifi (as stated at all times) was available only at the lodge and did not reach the cabins. They not only offered the move to the lodge, but also provided free breakfast (which is not offered in cabins).
So..... staff very friendly and helpful. Room not really ready for the summer season that was about to start.
Cabin was very rustic, but with refrigerator and microwave. Bed was a bit awkward, it was against the wall and had a bunk above with ladder at the foot, so it was difficult for inside person to get in and out of bed without disturbing other person.

Room Tip: Cabins are much more economical, but don't provide the same ammenities as lodge rooms. Cabin 1 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Liberty
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great Cabins. Located on the road to Exit glacier. Parking was very convenient. Salmon Bake restaurant is across the parking lot. Owners were great. Excellent value. Will definitely stay here again when in Seward.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, North Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Three of us stayed at one of these cabins during a fishing/road trip to Alaska. The cabin was located very convieniently on the north edge of town. Parking was close to the cabin, and the restaurant on the property was great! The cabin was clean, and the staff was excellent! We took advantage of the opportunity to make our own sack lunch before our early morning fishing trip, which also included an excellent breakfast. The staff was more than helpful and very friendly. They made us feel at home, and made sure we had every need met.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This cabin was just right for us. Clean, charming, wonderful hosts, great location and excellent food at their restaurant. Very close to Seward and Exit Glacier.
Bed was excellent. Will stay here again.
Ask the host about their bear experiences. Quite informative and interesting.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were really pleased with the value which was exceptional. The location is great on the exit glacier road and still close to Seward. Tried the respirator and that was excellent as well. Sarah, tag owner was great with our grand kids and so was her staff.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful services. Both the lodge and cabin are good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 kids in Cabin #3. It was perfect and just what we wanted. It isn't huge but it's decorated very nicely and the kids got quite a kick out of the bunkbeds. The bathroom was nice and clean~very soft towels. I loved the colors, the wood, the smell of the cabin and we weren't in the middle of nowhere. The staff & owners are really nice and very helpful.
We got to see a moose walk right out of the woods which we loved~I'm not sure I'll ever get sick of seeing them lol My kids also loved the cats roaming around, who are very friendly and sweet.

I highly recommend this place and if we are ever back in Seward, we will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salmon Bake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Bake Cabins

Address: Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Bake Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.