We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend the ice climb over the hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exit Glacier Guides

Exit Glacier Guides
405 4th ave, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-5569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Activities in Seward
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Seward, Alaska based guiding and hiking company focused on providing affordable tours in the Exit Glacier area of Kenai Fjords National Park. We have been running our hiking tours out of Seward for five years now, and we are the only company in town offering guided glacier tours. Our tours allow adventurous folks to ice climb and hike directly on the surface of this magnificent natural attraction. We also offer a cheap ride to Exit Glacier from Seward via an hourly, eco-friendly $10 shuttle. The rangers at the park offer free tours of the lower area 3 times a day.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would recommend the ice climb over the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were lucky since we called the day before to make reservations and the ice hiking was full. Instead, they suggested we try the ice climbing, which I was a bit skeptical as I don't have much upper body strength. But this ended up being the highlight of our trip and great start to our cruise. The main advantage of the ice climb is the view you get inside the glacier, which is shockingly blue and so serene. Additionally, with the ice climb there is normally only a group of 3 people and the guide (on this trip it was just my husband and me). Otherwise the hike and climb goes to the same area. We saw the ice hiking group later in the day and they were crowded with 20+ people, and I guess some were SLOW... so they were late getting back, which may be a problem if you are trying to catch a cruise that evening. If you do the ice climb, remember to bring warm gear as it's cold and there is some downtime while the set up the rope systems.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best impressions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was in Exit Glasier in 2008, but i still remember the beautiful nature. It was a beautiful ascent. I saw a brown bear far from me. The Glasier is so huge, it was blue, not white. I couldn't believe my eyes, it was wonderful!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Close to Seward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A side trip to Exit Glacier is worth the time and effort. We just took a basic trip, no ice climbing just hiking to the glacier, and were amazed at how close to the glacier you can get. Yes, the ice really is blue. Also on the way, a black bear was spotted on the trail, always a thrill :) This was an inexpensive but great trip. We went in the morning while the sun was shining, and spent the afternoon at the Sea Life Center.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Definitely the Beat !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Highly recommend Exit Glacier Guides.

Our guide, Trevor was knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. We had a great time. In about 4-5 miles distance, we covered about 2000 feet elevation. Trevor was knowledgeable about the Flora and Fauna of the area, which was nice. On the Hike he gave us info about various berries, Bears, vegetation, etc.
Equipment provided for the Glacier Hike was well maintained and clean. Everyone was very professional and took personal care for each and everyone's safety in the group.

The Hike on the Glacier was an out of the world experience. Looking at the White Glacier in the middle of the Lush green mountains was just breath-taking. I highly recommend this hike. Just be prepared with lots of water and Food. It is a long and strenuous Hike. But it’s all worth in the end.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I really wanted a unique experience in Alaska, so we booked the heli-climbing trip. Seward was having some bad weather, so we were concerned that we wouldn't get to fly. There's basically no such thing as a rain out in Alaska for tours, so we were prepared to hike if plans needed to change. But, the staff was incredibly patient and understanding as we called multiple times to see what the chances were. In the end, it worked out and we had a picture perfect day!
Our guide, Julian, was amazing! He is a great instructor, has a lot of knowledge about climbing and the environment, and it was refreshing to see that he was soaking in the gorgeous day on the glacier as much as we were! We felt very safe and also appreciated that the focus was about making it a great experience, not just a "canned" tour.
The helicopter was definitely worth it, as you get more time to climb and experience the glacier in a more remote setting. Plus, it's a fun ride!
There is nothing like experiencing a glacier up close and personal, going down into a crevasse and then feeling accomplished when you climb your way out of it. If you truly want to experience Alaska, do it with Exit Glacier Guides.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exit Glacier Guides also viewed

 

Been to Exit Glacier Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exit Glacier Guides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.