We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Berry jam and yogurt -- YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berry Patch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berry Patch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Berry Patch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
14247 Victor Drive, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wild Berry jam and yogurt -- YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

What nice people and a nice place to stay! The room was delightful-- the breakfasts were wonderful with home made wild berry jams, yogurt, and sausage and fresh eggs from the chickens. Trish even shared her recipe for the home made yogurt. The coffee started perking at 5:30 a.m.. so everything was ready even though I am an early riser.

Most fun was the hike through the woods, finding out about the foliage, seeing the salmon in the stream and picking wild berries of various types in the back yard and then several miles away. We did not have a problem with the shared bath as we were given permission to use the down stairs bathroom if the upstairs one was in use.

I can hardly wait another two hours when my first batch of yogurt will be ready!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We saw this on Trip Advisor and went to their website and knew this was the perfect place for us. My mom had several things to do on her list for Alaska including picking berries. (Yes, it doesn't take much to make us happy.) The owner let us pick berries in her yard and took us on a walk through the forest to a nearby creek to where the salmon were running, and we went berrypicking closeby too. Yes, the breakfasts were delicious!
This being my first time at a B&B, I will definitely consider this option again. We will always remember how much fun we had here.

Room Tip: Get the room with a private bath. Definitely worth the addn price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a lovely B and B. The room was lovely and the owners very friendly and made us feel at home. A little bit out of town but very beautiful. Would certainly recomend this B and B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Berry Patch for several nights as part of our 3 month trip to Alaska. The place was very nice and our room was very comfortable. The common area was wonderful. Two of the best things about the Berry Patch were the really good breakfasts including game meats such as moose and caribou and our hostess. She gave us a good feel about how it is to live in Seward and good advice about what to see and where to eat in Seward.

The only reason I gave the place 4 stars instead of 5 is that it has a shared bath. We knew about this in advance so it was not a surprise but a shared bath can present a problem in the morning or if you have to use the lavatory really badly and someone is taking a shower.

You should be aware that the Berry Patch is a bit out of town so you do need a car to get there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

What a wonderful place!! B&B's usually have a high standard, but this place definitely sets the bar -- probably the best we've stayed at anywhere in recent memory.

The atmosphere inside is really cozy; lovely music playing throughout the day creates a wonderful ambiance. Beds are super-comfortable and you'll sleep right through the night. The bathroom is the most ornately decorated we've ever seen, really a pleasure to take a shower, bath, etc. Coconut shampoo, vanilla soap, even Q-tips next to the sink -- whatever luxury you could wish for -- it's all at your disposal.

I got up early to go running and went downstairs to get something to drink -- what a wonderful surprise to find a percolator with great coffee ready and waiting. I guess it was there earlier (the previous day too), we just didn't see it. There is tea and hot chocolate too, whatever you could wish for -- it's all there, apparently available whenever you want it. There is a hot tub too, although we were too busy sight-seeing all over Seward to use it. Great high speed Wifi anywhere in the house if you have a spare moment.

Breakfasts with Trish were the best of the entire trip. My mom had been wanting to get a cheese omelet ever since the beginning of our trip 2 weeks prior, so when Trish asked us how we wanted our eggs, my mom tentatively asked if a cheese omelet would somehow be possible. Was it ever! We can't recall ever having a more tasty, more fluffy omelet, whether in a hotel or anywhere else. Lovely seasoned potatoes and the most amazing jams for toast -- Trish picks her own berries and makes her own jam. I would have expected her to keep such treasures for her own family, but she readily shares it with her guests -- a very generous host, to say the least.

Our stay at the Berry Patch was more luxurious than a 5-star hotel. What an absolutely wonderful place, and host. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at the Berry Patch for 2 nights. It was very nice. Tricia was a wonderful host. Very friendly and helpful. She allowed us to use the grill out back to make burgers for dinner. We used the hot tub which was great. The beds were comfortable and she made us feel very welcome. It is a close drive to the downtown as well as the glacier you can hike up to. We had a great time and will recommend it to anyone who is going to Alaska

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We spent two nights at the Berry Patch B&B in July 2009 as part of a longer trip through Alaska. With us were our two children, ages 10 and 5, and two other families with children. We essentially took over the place!

This was a delightful B&B and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hostess was out of town, but the host was there and he did a great job keeping us fed and happy. The location, just outside of Seward, was perfect for us--since we visited the Sea-Life Center, took a Kenai Fjords boat tour, and hiked to Exit Glacier, as well as engaging in a little sightseeing in Seward.

The rooms were fine. My family had what was probably the smallest room, but that was okay with us. The host made sure we all had beds and were accommodated. I'm not sure if the place had air conditioning--I remember an open window (only one small one for our bedroom) and a fan. But after all, this is Alaska, and the nights were cool.

The breakfast offerings from our host were yummy, and he even allowed the five chidren in our three combined families to use the hot tub the day we arrived. Overall, this was a great option and great fun for the three families to share the Seward experience. I highly recommend the Berry Patch for a "berry" good time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berry Patch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Patch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14247 Victor Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one acre property is located on a quiet cul-de-sac just a few minutes from the hub of town. A full breakfast is served daily and includes farm fresh eggs. Relax in the hot tub or hammock; pick berries or organic salads at your leisure. Enjoy the beauty of Alaska from the back deck. Hosts are avid gardeners and hikers. Berries and lettuces are plentiful!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berry Patch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.