We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluesun Resort Afrodita

Save Saved
You added Bluesun Resort Afrodita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluesun Resort Afrodita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dracevice 35, Tucepi 21325, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Tucepi
Bexhill on Sea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Probably the Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Holiday satisfaction depends on expectations; better informed means fewer surprises.
Hotel Afrodita is located on the sloping seafront in Tucepi and consists of a main building with the rooms all located in seperate two storey blocks of about 6 to 14 rooms each. Note : because these block are built on a terrace most groundfloor and some firstfloor rooms have NO Seaview. They all have a balcony that looks into the pretty garden walkways between the blocks but may also view a blind wall or entrance door and bathroom window. It's not bad, but not holiday fantastic. The rooms that do have seaview are brilliant and it is worth spending a bit more.
That is the only drawback we can think of ; other hotels have probably a higher percentage rooms with seaview. But what is better than strolling from the pool through the garden walkways direct to your own front door - rather than standing dripping waiting for a lift to the 6th floor in a massive hotel.
The rooms are kept perfectly clean, new towels a plenty, furniture including the beds is good, aircon works properly and so do the doors and windows. Bathroom is high standard. All in all worth a 4-Star (considering it is Croatia)
The staff are very friendly & perfect in English and German, The pool is probably the largest of the hotels in Tucepi and considering Afrodita is not that huge ( 350 persons whereas Alba next door is a complex of over 700) there is plenty of space. Breakfast is really good; wide choice of hot and cold food. Yes in high season one probably has to wait at the coffee and toast but hey you're on holiday. Buffet diner ( 90 kuna is approx. 11 pound per person ) is good quality and spoiled for choice and plenty. Outside Bar, terrace at the poolside, cocktails, live music in the evening.
Having had a quick look at the other hotels, we think Afrodita is one of the, if not, The Best in this little village.

Room Tip: Pay more for the sea view and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Resort Afrodita, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate that you took time to share your positive thoughts on Afrodita. You are absolutely right about the charms of this Holiday Village, and we proudly confirm that it is indeed one of the best. Just recently the hotel has won the prestigious TUI Holly Award for the 3rd time since 2008.
Your descriptive outlook precisely detects the reason why so many have found Afrodita charming and feeling like home... and so thank you very much for precisely depicting just that...

Greetings from the sunny Tučepi and come back soon !

Cheers,

Petar Krvarić
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
annan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

the hotel is excellent, the rooms were modern and well furnished and clean. hotel staff were curtious and friendly and very helpful. The exception was the restaurant. don't get me wrong the food is well cooked and you can always find something to eat, but, there is very little variation in availability. for example breakfast for the whole week was the same (chicken frankfurters, fried eggs, bacon, and alternately scrambled eggs or omelette) and every day beef soup, also the same puddings. the location was stunning, but a long way for any major town. everywhere you go you feel safe and is clean. local buses are clean well air conditioned and cheap. beer is about £1.80 a pint and they are forever offering free schnapps and nibbles in bars. definitely going back to Croatia next year.

Room Tip: avoid block a (up 50 steps) block c preferable. not suitable for the less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Resort Afrodita, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel rooms and the overall service. However, we also appreciate your feedback about the food variety and promise to take it into an account when discussing the meal plan with our Operations department at the end of the year. Our goal is to continue listening to all the input in order to come as close as possible in matching the meal offer to our guests' preferences.

We'll be more than happy to welcome you to Croatia again next year...

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Firstly, i've stayed in 2 'Bluesun' hotels and I cannot fault them.

The hotel itself is well maintained, modern and clean. It is a pleasure to stay in the rooms as they are spacious, comfortable and have everything you need.

The food is by far the best point of this hotel. It is AMAZING, the variety and selection cannot be faulted and all the food is cooked freshly and in front of you. All waiting staff were extremely attentive and polite and took great pride in the restaurant. The restaurant was air conditioned and greatly comfortable.

The pool/bar was also lovely, extremely spacious and well maintained. Happy hour is run in certain points of the day and the cocktails are great.

The location of the hotel was great, a 10/15 minute walk into the resort centre where there were shops, bars and restaurants, the resort of Tucepi felt extremely safe and had a great atmosphere, recommended for all ages. The excursions offered are also definitely worth doing, we had a trip up a mountain and it was a really special experience.

Overall, a Great hotel and holiday, would not hesitate to return, however, there are hardly any english guests (mainly German and dutch) but nevertheless, we found them friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KresoCo, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Resort Afrodita, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review. Your kind words are very encouraging, and provide us with a sense of what it is that we need to make sure to continue to do well.

We would love to welcome you again in Afrodita at some point in the future. As more direct flights have been recently opening from the UK to Croatia, we expect and are excited to be welcoming an increasing number of guests from the UK. We hope that you'll be encouraged by this and consider a repeat holiday visit.

Kind regards from sunny Croatia,

Petar Krvaric,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

ok just come back from croatia , great place lovely and warm great beaches . but the hotel afrodita in tucepi, very GERMAN indeed 98% to be precise and elderly and the hotel staff are GERMAN freindly , the bar staff need a bit of people skills given to them and a rocket up there 8ums. if your lucky enough to get served the barman will be making coffee (constant) for someone but cant pour out a beer at the same time will stand with arms folded watching coffee trickle into a cup. very anoying after a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piteå
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We (two families), stayed at Afrodita between Aug 25 and sep 1 2012. The first impression was very good, thanks to Josip(i think that was his name), and his collegues at the front desk.He gave us a warm welcome and nice help with luggage and getting installed in our rooms(we arrived late). The next morning we had a good breakfast which satisfied all of us. The pool area was good, the main pool had depths from ca 90 cm to ca 165 cm. There is also a kids pool ca 50 cm deep and a big jacuzzistyle pool.The distance to the beach/sea is about 30 meters and on the promenade one can eat all kinds of meals and sweets/icecreams etc. The rooms are modern, clean and even if we lived closest to the beachpromenade we never got our sleep ruined by the nightlife. I can really recommend this hotel to anybody: young, old, families. I cant see why anybody would dislike this hotel with its great location, serviceminded staff, and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just got back from a week stay Bed and Beakfast at this lovely hotel. Wanted to stay longer. Couldn't find anything to fault except the bar service on the Terrace was lacking. Room and facilities were excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable . Good air conditioning in room which was welcomed as the outside temperature in the evening was never below 30F.Choice of breakfast was excellent continental style as well as eggs sausage and bacon served between 7 and 10 which suited us as we are early risers. Seating around the pool was plentiful with lots of parasols all free of charge. Shaded area around the pool bar with reasonable priced drinks and ice cream. Didn't see any evidence of bar snacks which would been nice some days, however lots of eating establishments 5 mins walk along the promenade. Can turn right or left outside the back of the hotel (not through Reception) onto promenade and shaded pebbled beach Advice is to turn left as this is where most of the restaurants are situated. It's quieter to the right but still a lovely walk into next reort of Makarska. Take your camera lovely scenic views especially the sunsets. Would definately return to Tucepi and stay at this hotel again. Visit to Dubrovnic is a must although a lengthy journey to get there 3/4 hours well worth it. Cost 435KN roughly £43.00 each. A touch expensive but made the holiday experience all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are quite a number of steps to some of the accommodation so if you have mobility issues bare t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I agree with the many previous reviewers, the hotel is great; food, cleanliness and other things necessary to make your holiday a good one are all there. The staff is friendly and helpful; we had a late flight back, and we were allowed to stay at the hotel for 8 hours after the checkout time and use the swimming pool, lounge etc.

What I'd like to share might be of use for those of you who would rather spend the day at the beach, instead of occupying the free sunbeds next to the hotel's swimming pool. While the sea is only some steps away, it makes all the difference, since the area around the pool gets unbearably hot as early as 11 a.m.. Not to mention, the pool is almost permanently quite crowded and noisy. If you'd rather indulge in the coolness of the pines' shadow and sea smells, you'd have to bring your own sunbed/towel, or rent a sunbed at the beach for 50 kuna (appr. 7 euros) per day. The catch is (beside the price, that is) that the shadowed space is limited, since the beach line closest to the hotel is relatively narrow (not more than 3-4 rows of people and things can fit), so if you don't feel like being in the sun the whole day, you'd have to come as early as 6:30 a.m. to leave some stuff to mark the desired shadowed place as yours. The other catch is that the young man lending the sunbeds has been developing his entrepreneurial skills for some time, and learned that he's got more chance to actually get paid if he provides extra services. Thus, at 6 a.m. almost all the future shadow space is occupied by the neat row of sunbeds to be rented; if you are ready to shell 50 kunas for a day, you'll get a durable plastic sunbed, guaranteed shadow over you, and the space in front of it protected from the money-saving intruders by strategically placed small mattresses, which you can use during the day, too. Should you by some miracle arrive earlier than the young man and occupy the expensive space with your non-profit-wielding own stuff (like towels and own mattresses), be prepared to find some of it missing when you are back later (spoiler: it's in the garbage bin). The above-mentioned young man's expression of innocence is almost as good as his business sense.

Take that into account if relevant for you, and have a great vacation! We certainly did :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluesun Resort Afrodita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Resort Afrodita

Address: Dracevice 35, Tucepi 21325, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Tucepi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucepi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucepi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tucepi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Resort Afrodita 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluesun Hotel Afrodita is a village of lovely villas providing an oasis of tranquility and privacy hidden in a Mediterranean garden. Pebble beach in the front of the hotel offers refreshment on hot summer days, while shelter from the sun can be found by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bluesun Resort Afrodita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Resort Afrodita Hotel Tucepi
Bluesun Hotel Tucepi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluesun Resort Afrodita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.