We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely evening and excellent gourmet experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Tree

Olive Tree
Kamena 46 | At Villa Andrea Hotel, Tucepi 21325, Croatia
+385 695 257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Tucepi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant belongs to Villa Andrea-slow food Restaurant!We offer you free charge transfer within 30 km
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“lovely evening and excellent gourmet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

we"ve stayed in Tucepi from 3.-13. september, everything was perfect weather,sea people and we decided to go out for a dinner, we choose this restaurant because we saw their presentation menu on the main promenade and it really looked amazing...everything in restaurant looked decorated with style, and very clean...on recommendation of the waiter me and my wife ordered fish meal called "Fish gregada" we had to wait for almost 40 minutes but waiter gave us some marinated cheese as cold appetizer and it was very tasty.....when we finally got our main dish we were nicely surprised old- fashined pot on our table looked impressive and real delicacy was inside soup with potatoes, shrimps and lot of white fish , all seemed as a perfect whole and gave us real gourmet experience...
nice restaurant lovely personel and excellent food is all what wanted that night and we totally get it! we are definetly going back next year, and highly recommended to everyone....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blansa M, Manager at Olive Tree, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! It was our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A spoilt evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The presentation of this restaurant is immaculate. Cutlery and crockery is impressive as is the friendly and most professional service by the waiter who served us.

The menu looked interesting I had king prawn risotto, and my wife had deep fried camembert . No sooner had the starter plates been taken away - the main course arrived. Much, much too soon, considering the size of the starters.

I had fillet steak that the menu suggested contained truffles, I saw no evidence and my wife veal in calvados with gorgonzola. The fillet was butterflied suggesting that the chef did not know how to cope with this meat and the sauce was over complicated. Neither of us either finished the meals nor enjoyed that was eaten - we were not the only ones.

In all fairness the wonderful waiter did offer us another dish but at that time the evening had gone.

Too much food, served too soon in a wonderful situation. What a shame, as there is so much potential here.

The owners need to take note of the skills of the front of house staff who are superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blansa M, Manager at Olive Tree, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Sir

first I want to thank you for your opinion. Maybe you didn't like our method of preparation and I am sorry . A few thinks I think that you can't said . First ; File Mignon we don't serve with truffles/ on menu says " Filet Mignon Villa Andrea with truffle sauce"/. Second our water asked a few times did you like it and our director , you said that everything is good but you didn't use on this style. Thirdly you can't said for other guests that you sow that they didn't like the food. We are open from 2005 and usually people review us on Villa Andrea page. I accept the criticism and we will try to fix but I must said that we have 85% of guests how are coming back year by year must be that something we do good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Olive Tree Restaurant is located next to Villa Andrea and operated by one and the same people. You can enjoy a wonderful view to the Adriatic and listen to sound waves.
Outside and inside restaurant is very clean and nicely decorated, the staff dressed in classic good uniforms, tables served correctly and accurately. This is probably the best decorated restaurant in the city. It gives the impression of the restaurant with high prices. But, in fact, prices are quite comparable with other restaurants. The biggest advantage of this restaurant - high quality and great taste dishes and homemade wine. Quality of service is higher than in many other restaurants downtown, we visited to change impressions.
Administrator and the waiters always find time to ask are you satisfied with food and rest in their city.
We express great appreciation to the staff restaurant for hospitality and service - hi to all from city Lviv, Ukraine.
We encourage all to visit Olive Tree, despite the fact that the restaurant is not located in the downtown - walk after dinner, even useful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blansa M, Manager at Olive Tree, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree also viewed

Tucepi, Split-Dalmatia County
Tucepi, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Tucepi, Split-Dalmatia County
Tucepi, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.