We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top table fish platter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bota Sare - Mali Ston

Bota Sare - Mali Ston
Mali Ston bb, Ston 20230, Croatia
+385 20 754 482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Ston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Validated Parking
Description: You can find restaurant Bota Sare, Mali Ston in narrow center waterfront, situated within old castle.Wide palette of oysters, fish, shellfish are prepared as per original local recipes that bring finger licking food to your table (ask for gradele, popara, buzara, brudet…). Do not miss to try local risotto, black risotto, and homemade bread from natural fire heated oven…We also invite you to take a boat trip to see Ston's bay and to visit the place where the Sare family is growing shellfish close to the island Banje that is owned by family Sare and family Matkovic. On Banje island there is a large number of various Mediterranean herbs and over 200 olive trees which provide the olive oil for Bota restaurants. The experience of visiting the island will be improved by the programme of offering “the guest to choose alone“.
Kent
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Top table fish platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lunch stop with a brilliant back drop. Opted for the fish platter and the tuna and swordfish exceeded expectations. The mussels were a disappointment until we were told back at our hotel that Croatians prefer a more minuscule mussel than the engorged specimens that come rope grown from Scotland. Croatian beer is somewhat addictive and we had service with a smile. Will try out the fish in Ston on another occasion to see who deserves the top accolade.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing fish and oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a must come place. The fresh fish is worth comming for and the oysters are exceptional. Ask for the oysters with bread crums to try something different but dont miss the oysters on the shell. One of the best fresh fish i have tried.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable meals in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had what could only be described as a fishermans feast. It is a bit more formal and indoors than many others but the best meal by far. A beautiful presentation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious oysters and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was a beautiful sunny March and after walking the wall from Ston to Mali Ston, we decided to stop for a bite to eat with a friend. Given that this area has a great reputation for its seafood (particularly oysters), we opted for oysters. To be honest, they were the best I've ever eaten and even my partner (who was dubious about trying them, loved them!).

As it was not the tourist season there were just a few tables set up outside in the sun, which was perfect. We found the service excellent; the waitress was very smiley and incredibly friendly. Sitting beside the water on such a lovely sunny day, with amazing scenery, tasty fresh oysters and a cold beer certainly made for a perfect afternoon. Would happily go back...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugi Rat, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were travelling on 26th of December to Dubrovnik, and all the restaurant along the way were closed. We were so hungry, we couldn't wait to arrive in Dubrovnik so we decided to try in Mali Ston. Taverna Bota Sare was only opened, so we decided to have lunch here - what a mistake! First of all, it is so cold inside and both waiters were disaster, unpolite, no smile, as they couldn't wait we all go out! We ordered ram-steak and french fries, the steak was like rubber and the french fries were so greasy. The prices are criminal - I felt so ripped off, bad food, bad service and very, very expensive. I will never come back here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bota Sare - Mali Ston also viewed

Mali Ston, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Ston, Peljesac Peninsula
 
Ston, Peljesac Peninsula
Ston, Peljesac Peninsula
 

Been to Bota Sare - Mali Ston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bota Sare - Mali Ston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.