We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Reef Resort to your Saves list
Kona Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75-5888 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Clean comfortable rooms. Great view from F22 (ocean view straight front also overlooking the pool). Also walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Nice staff and good parking. Excellent luau next door at the royal kona resort!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    154
    60
    24
    19
See reviews for
103
214
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our stay is perfect. As many people's review, we can late chsck-in only using telephone. There are no staffs. However, it was easy to complete check-in and our oceanfront unit was greater than I had expected.

Room Tip: Room D7 was nice. A,D building are ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenel, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spent two wonderful weeks at Kona Reef unit D3. This one-bedroom unit has a queen sized bed and was nicely furnished with everything we could possibly need including a full-size futon in the living area. The unit is ground floor ocean-front with a lovely view of the ocean just 30 feet away. The soothing sound of the ocean is everywhere. Tidal pools have formed in the lava which is easy to walk on and are frequently visited by sea turtles which love to eat the moss growing on the rocks. Great shopping, restaurants and swimming or snorkeling beaches were just a short walk from the condo.
The unit is also only 15 feet from the entrance to the pool area which includes a hot tub and also a large covered area containing multiple built-in gas grills for those who wish to barbecue. These were cleaned daily by the staff and we never had to wait to use one.
Truly two weeks in paradise and we highly recommend this unit.

Room Tip: The amenities and location of Kona Reef unit D3 can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent a week at the Kona Reef. The condos were very clean and modern. They all seem to have great views - ours did! The location is great - just a short stroll down the street to a fun historic town with plenty of restaurants, shopping and points of interest. The management that handles the RCI, II exchanges (Raintree at Kona Reef) are wonderful folks. Very nice, helpful and professional. They provided great suggestions and had everything I kept asking for. We will stay here again when we visit in the future. The bedroom is in the back of the unit, and air flow is not ideal to push the air conditioning from the front room to the bedroom. This would be the only negative - however it cools down enough at night that it did not matter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

After booking our rooms a year in advance and being promised ocean front rooms with king sized beds, we were shocked to arrive and receive two units right on the road, directly facing a park where homeless people squat nightly. The street noise was so loud that our 7 month old baby could not sleep at night, which made for a very unrelaxing vacation. The beds in our units were double, not king - which left one person sleeping on the couch each night. Again, not the relaxing vacation we dreamed of, and paid for.

I will say that the location is nice as you can walk to town. It was very unfortunate that management lied to us about the type of rooms we would be getting. We would not recommend staying here as you will likely not get what you pay for. It is unfortunate that this resort/condo complex is dishonest and seems to be comfortable with accepting payment and then not delivering what they've guaranteed. I strongly advise that if you are considering a trip to Kona you do not stay here unless you are receiving an excellent price and are not expecting great accommodations and honest management.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaReefCondoOwner, Owner at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
The Kona Reef consists of 130 individually owned condos. A small number are rented out by a timeshare company, some are rented out by property management companies, and many are rented out by individual owners through VRBO and FlipKey. You rented a condo through the timeshare company. We encourage you to let them know of your dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Kona Reef has been our favorite place to stay due to the ocean front view, hearing the sounds of the water, great updated condo units fully furnished, and without hearing the sounds of vehicles driving by. Sitting out on the lanai is so relaxing!! You will not be disappointed to stay here.

Room Tip: I suggest having a oceanfront unit on the 2nd to 4th level as that makes it much more private to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our home away from home in Kona. I really can't say enough good things about it. I think our room was newly remodeled. It had flagstone floor, carved wood furnishings, glass-fronted cabinets; it was RIGHT on the shore. We would open the patio door and listen to the waves as we cooked. Comprehensive kitchen cookware including multiple sets of measuring cups/spoons. Washer/dryer. VERY comfortable bed. Beautiful furnishings everywhere. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: #A5. Or anything else on the ocean side on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.