We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Reef Resort to your Saves list
Kona Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75-5888 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
San Leandro, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

This was our third time staying here. We stayed in unit D36. The unit was well maintained by the owner. Every night we went to sleep with the sound of the Pacific waves crashing on to the rocks below our room. Our mornings would start off by drinking a cup of coffee on the lani and watch the para sailors, and surfers enjoy the water.

This is a nice resort to go to and just relax.

  • Liked — Quiet, Friendly Staff, Close to town
  • Disliked — Sometimes First room given is not the best, staff will work with you to make you happy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    158
    67
    24
    19
See reviews for
106
229
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Great value. Very clean rooms. Well stocked Kitchen utensils. Good location, right next to a small reef/park/beach. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location, Kitchen utility, cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

We booked here because we thought it best met our criteria;
- Price (we paid $125/n)
- atmosphere, we had a full view of a small beach and then the ocean 50 feet away). We could hear the waves day and night.
- location, easy walking distance to center of town
- accessibility, within 5 minutes on the major n/s roadway.
- amenities, decent pool, HOT jacuzzi and bbq
- furnishings, depending on condo owner. but we had everything we needed.
- it is an apartment, we like the kitchen and the option to sit on our balcony and watch the waves as we have breakfast.
- staff turned out to be helpful and very friendly

Advice;
- bring binoculars to see the whales passing up the coast, outside your window.
- be aware there is not a good swimming beach in the town vicinity. You have to drive 20+ minutes.
- we spent a good amount of time travelling back/forth to Hilo to see lava/volcano/Mauna Kea etc. It may have been better to book there for 2 or 3 nights.
- there is wifi available, but our experience with AWS was spotty. It may be best to try out the different suppliers for a day. Optimally, the condo owners will subscribe to a combined cable package that would allow tv/internet/phone.
- buy a good map of the Big Island only, when you get there. Other maps, such as AAA, are good for planning but not for the details.
- if you arrive at night and only have a lockbox combination, you better bring a flashlight!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No bathing beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We just spent a week in B23. It is on the south side, so it is ocean front on the side! It gets road noise from Ali'i Drive, but I would stay in it again.

The unit was clean, well maintained and well equipped.

The only thing I miss versus 20 trips to Kihei, Maui is 3-mile walks on the beach. Kailua-Kona - just doesn't have but a few, small beaches.

It is a 6 minute walk to live music at Huggo's on the Rock and another minute to the Hard Rock Cafe. You *don't* have to walk on busy Ali'i Drive. There is a narrow road from the side of the complex along the Royal Kona to where the sidewalk starts. It gets a little traffic, but it's slow since they are just parking.

  • Liked — Short walk to town
  • Disliked — Bedroom is near the stairs
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

We went to Hawaii between christmas and new year's eve. Kona reef was overbooked and no one was there in office. We were send to Kona Makai hotel by security guard. This place was 2 miles farther away and there was no aid service so we had to do laundrt and all cleaning before checking out. No one was there to assist.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

FANTASTIC!!!!! We stayed in this condo late Oct. 2007 for a week and were sad to leave. The condo has EVERYTHING you could possibly need; spices, snorkeling gear, sunscreen, etc. The owners were great to work with and gave plenty of suggestions on things to do and see. It is a beautiful condo and the perfect location to watch the sunset, plus, surfers, spinner dolphins, and the daily arrival of cruise ships. And, it receives plenty of sun all day long. Downtown is easily within walking distance so no need to bother with parking. We absolutely loved this condo and would recommend it to anyone who is considering a stay in Kona. It is right on the water, and the sound of the waves all day long, is so relaxing. Don't pass up this condo, you won't be sorry.
If you go to Hawaii, get the book "Hawaii, the Big Island Revealed", it has tons of great tips on what to see.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

See if your checklist for a memorable stay at the Kona Reef matches mine:

- Crumbs and garbage material neatly swept into kitchen corners and between fridge and counter.

- Never washed tile floors resulting in souls of feet immediately turning jet black.

- Dishwasher not mounted to counter resulting in dishes falling out of dishwasher onto tile floor.

- Screen door not attached to track.

Other than the filth at the Kona Reef we enjoyed our stay on The Big Island. As other posts have mentioned you roll the dice as to whether you will get a fabulous or forgettable room. We viewed some of the units that were for sale and saw how clean and modernly decorated they were. Location was great, parking was free, the pool and BBQ facilities were great and our non-ocean view room actually had a nice view of the park next door and the ocean. All in all after checking out other options for accommodation you can find much better and much cleaner options for your $ unless you roll the dice and get one of the clean/modern rooms or rent directly from the owner.

  • Liked — Location, access to beach/park, pool, BBQ
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of accomodation, no action was taken when I pointed out that the dishwasher was not mounted to the counter or that the screen door fell down the first time I openend it.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.