We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo rental in Kona” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kona Reef Resort to your Saves list
Kona Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75-5888 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth nh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Condo rental in Kona”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We read the reviews before we booked and most are pretty accurate. The location is fantastic, walking distance to town, good parking, and the pool area is very nice.

The units, our friends had another, are run down. They need a rehab, especially for the price. There was some rust around our tub and the cabinets in the kitchen were beat up. The office staff isn't terribly friendly, and they don't go out of their way to do much. Towels and linens sparse and thread-bare.

If I could rate it a 2.5 I would but will be generous with a 3, just because the location is great. I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    158
    67
    24
    19
See reviews for
106
229
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oceano, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights back in September of 2010. We booked the room online through Castle Resorts and enjoyed our stay very much. We had an oceanfront condo and loved hearing the waves crash all night long. It was a small unit but perfect for our needs. The kitchen had everything we needed for quick meals. We had a very large balcony on the third floor and enjoyed seeing turtles, dolphins and surfers. We could walk to town form the unit.

Our unit did have air conditioning in the living room but did not work well. The bedroom stayed very hot and we were uncomfortable most nights trying to sleep and there really was no window in the bedroom to open, just a small slit window near the ceiling. The closet had very little usable space and there were not many places to store your clothes. But we overlooked this since we were ocean front. Parking can be trouble if you are coming in late, we just tried not to use the car in the evenings and opt to walk to town.

Front desk was nice checking in but crabby checking out. They did give us a coupon for a local grocery story we used and were glad we did. We found amazing foods in this store. We would stay at this resort again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean front room, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Apt appeared OK. T.v. Didn't work but fixed, wifi works sometimes, no phone book. Clothing dryer does not work and I was asked by management co., why I didn't use it sooner (earlier in my trip). It can't be fixed till the day I leave. Scuba clothes and accessories were left out the screen door to dry. STOLEN. So much for ocean front. No real beach, black lava rock. A/C window unit is in living room which doesn't cool bedroom. Equipped well which hardly matters. The bad always outweighs the good. Look elsewhere but be careful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at the Kona Reef Hotel. It is disappointing that we did not meet your expectation. I would like to apologize for the deficiencies you experienced and your unfavorable perception of our facilities. I have addressed your concerns with my team and we are working to improve our resort and our services. Should you provide us with a future opportunity to meet your expectations, please contact me directly before your arrival I will personally inspect you room.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Stephen Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Kona Reef Condo has a massive advantage in their location - just 10 minutes from the town, you won't need to drive down to the shops, restaurants and all that this great little place has to offer. But it's also convenient for driving out to the other locations on the island.

The complex is directly on the sea front with a small lawn for lounging on. Sadly there is no beach- just rocks - at this location, so swimming in the sea here isn't really practical. However just 30m along there is a small sandy beach where the brave can swim or body-board. For snorkelling, a short (15mins) drive south to an easy snorkelling location. The sea front offers a wonderful sunset view.

Our condo was nicely appointed, and was quite spacious. We were not sea front, but had a sea view, looking out and able to see the sea, sunsets and the cruise liner when in town! Wifi was included in our condo, along with all the expected facilities (dishwasher etc). The bathroom was fine, if a little tired, but overall the apartment was of a good standard and clean.
My only (minor) complaints with our experience was that on arrival and departure, the receptionist was a little robotic and didn't give a great personal welcome - I suspect we were just a little spoilt at previous locations. Not a big deal, but a smile and personality don't cost!

The pool, hot tub and BBQ area did what was expected perfectly well - no complaints on these.

Overall, a relaxing and enjoyable stay, and would come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Kona Reef is located within walking distance of the "downtown" area of Kailua-Kona. Lots of restaurants and shopping. This is a condominium complex with some people that live there and some of the units are part of the timeshare network.

The unit has a full kitchen, and in the pool area there are several gas grills. It seemed like the complex was designed so every unit would have an ocean view.

There is a small beach adjacent to the complex, but swimming/snorkeling is not recommended there due to the current. About 7 miles up the road is a public beach (kahulu) with bathrooms, tables, etc. and has excellent snorkeling. We saw schools of yellow tangs, and many others. There was even a couple of sea turtles one day!

It is worth the drive (about 2.5 hours) to the Hawaii Volcano National Park area. Hike the 400ft down to the crater floor and walk across the cooled lava bed, really awesome! Eat dinner at the "Lava Rock" cafe in the nearby town of Volcano, and then return in the evening (your $10 park entry fee is good for 10 days) to see the glow of the lava from the Jagger Museum area.

Room Tip: The units with single digit (example: A1, A2) are on the ground floor so the slider opens out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Kona Reef for the Hawaiian Ironman in October 2012 and we found the accom excellent. It is located within 10 mins walking distance of the Pier and shops of the village. The resort was meticulously maintained and the apartment was fabulous with everything included and in perfect working order. We had a great view over the pool and ocean and watched the sunset evry night. Great location, great apartment and even better value for money than others we checked out. We will certainly return to Kona Reef.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in an oceanfront suite for two weeks. The oceanfront view was priceless. We saw dolphins from our unit. The location is superb as it is near restaurants and areas for shopping. Kahulu beach is excellent for snorkeling and was approximately a 5 minutes drive from the condo. The swimming pool, BBQ facilities, free Wi-Fi and free international long distance calls were fantastic. The kitchen utilities were also in excellent condition. The supplies for the dishwasher and laundry detergents were much appreciated. The weekend receptionist, Antonio, was very helpful and told us about the Kahulu Beach.
The cleaniness in the bathroom area requires attention. In my opinion, the bathtub needs to be replaced. I thought it was filthy but when I tried to scrub it, the stains did not come off. The floor is dirty as well. It has not been mopped or sweeped for some time. We found nail clippings on the floor infront of the couch on the day we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.