We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Marriott Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not your typical Marriott Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This Marriott Courtyard offered much more than we expected. It felt very resort like with large pool, pool side bar and dining, and a beach offering water sport equipment. It is walking distance to almost everything and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Our only disappointment was, as with all Marriott hotels we have stayed in, the pool closes early and opens late at least for us, but again that is a common Marriott thing not specific to this property. The coffee shop on the first floor offered great coffee and the business center was easily accessible and easy to use to print boarding passes. A very reasonably priced gem (except maybe for Ironman week) that is close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    805
    202
    52
    32
See reviews for
466
840
100
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location for being by a beautiful location, downtown and walking distance to most restaurants in the area. The hotel is completely refurbished and the staff and service excellent. There is a beautiful good sized pool you can swim in along with the small lagoon like beach that is part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view, Beach side,top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Spring
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Here for a work trip during the Ironman. Room wasn't ready until 3:30pm for a Marriott Platinum member. Quite surprising..

Front desk did everything they could do. Not much more they could do I don't think. View was terrible overlooking a roof. Not impressed.

I understand they were very busy since it was during the Ironman race. It was nice and I would return. The staff make it fantastic.

The beach and pool and both beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were interested in the Hawaii Ironman, and for this purpose we were not disappointed.
Staying so close to the start and finish allowed us to soak up the atmosphere, as well as making its easy for us to volunteer to help out on the day.
That said, you do have to pay for the privilege of staying here for this week, the prices of the standard room increased by $200 for the few days over the ironman week, making this a very expensive 8 days, however, considering what we were there from then in this case I would consider it worth it.
The room we had was a standard room, and was situated at the front of the hotel, we were concerned that we may be subject to a lot of road noise, however the room was sufficiently insulated that road noise was not a problem. The great thing about the position in this case though, was that you could see the bike out/in and also the run out.
The room was well equpped with fridge as well as coffee making facilities.
It should also be noted that the staff were fantastic, friendly and very polite, with some nice little touches. For example, while sunbathing around the pool they would bring cups of ice water for no charge, and considering the temperatures, it was much appreciated.
There are a couple of gripes.
the gym was basic and has very limited equipment.
On Ironman day we were unable to go to the Hotel beach, or to lie on the sun beds near to the beach, because you required passes to get into the enclosed areas for the Ironman area. However, what made this worse were that some of the ironman staff had managed to get passes for their children who we're then able to play on the beach, while those of us who had paid to stay at the hotel were forced to try and get spaces on the extremely limited number of pool sun beds. This gave a very poor impression for the guests, and smacked of nepotism and really it was taking the piss.
As alluded to already, there were a very small number of sun beds for sunbathing purposes around the pool, which considering the price being paid I felt let them down quite a lot.
I am not in a position to comment on the hotel restaurant as we ate out every day, but that was mainly due to the prices. They do have a good coffee shop on huge premises though, and the staff and coffee quality was of a high standard.
A couple of other gripes, there is no shuttle to and from the airport, and I think that for a hotel of this standard, it should be something that they offer.
Also, as there is an 11 am checkout, those people who have late flights have to pay for a late check out, which again, considering the prices they charge, there should be a facility for late leavers to be able to shower without incurring more costs, especially considering the amount paid to stay for this particular week.
On the whole though, it was an enjoyable stay, which I would do again, but I would need to save again in order to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia, Ohio
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. I spent a lot of time in the pool and the hot tub. I went snorkeling right behind the hotel. I walked around town to restaurants and shops. It was the first time in Hawaii for two weeks that I just relaxed and took in all the sun and fun of actually being in one of the most fantastic places on Earth. I went on a dinner show cruise which was very entertaining. There is a convenient food shop attached to the hotel so I could get all the comforts of home like Frosted Flakes and Pringles. My room was perfect and the staff very accommodating and friendly. I would stay here again with pleasure..

Room Tip: Next time I would book a room with a better view. I did not ask about it at first so I took what was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff at this hotel is fantastic and really went out of their way to make us feel at home and ensure we had the best possible stay. The whole island was gearing up for the Ironman contest and we were able to watch contestants practicing the swimming course from our balcony which was completely unexpected but the most fabulous part of our experience was the snorkeling. We had experienced some rough seas in Kauai so we were happy to see the protected lagoon area would be easy to navigate and it was full of fish. We liked it so much, we decided to go down to the lagoon instead of breakfast the morning that we left and we were shocked to see a juvenile Monk Seal clambering out of the water onto the rocks near shore! It was only there for a few minutes but we felt very privileged to see this extremely endangered animal. This was truly a once in a lifetime experience and I will never forget my stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly care about the comfort of our guests and it is our number one priority to create an exceptional experience for them. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay including spotting the baby Monk Seal in our beachfront lagoon. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel on the shore, but typoons can cause major damage. The rooms were lovely, with balconies & clean but tiny bathroom.
We however ran into a major issue just before checking out... we got locked outdoors & the key wont open the door, the door was jammed/locked. Even the hotel handyman couldnt open it & we had to literally pass a thin wire through the tiny gap on the floor & open the handle from inside - a very scary & stressful experience especially when one is about to check out & catch a flight out!
The hotel staff were very unapologetic or helpful - this pretty much dampened our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.