We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, OK Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 1 night here using our Marriott Visa night and an additional night using our Rewards Points. The location is great, walking distance to restaurants and farmers market. It is also close driving distance to the airport. The property itself is ok. Parking was a reasonable $12 per day, free Wifi, no resort charge, in room refrigerator and coffee maker, and an on site ABC Store. On the negative side, the pool & beach was tiny and crowded, the bath rooms are small. Overall, it is a great value if you plan to stay on the Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    809
    202
    52
    32
See reviews for
469
843
100
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Location is everything, and youre 10 seconds from the water. Right in the middle of Kona. The shopping and restaurant strip is right there.

We stayed here for one week for our honeymoon.
You get what you pay for, its decently priced so there are a few minor gigs but certainly worth it for a honeymoon. Good bed too!

They offer one of the best luau's (spelling?) in the area. Just outside the door at their private and historical beach, and dont forget the open bar! We paid an extra 10$ a night for the partial ocean view, and yeah it was a partial view if you stand on the balcony and look 80 degrees to your right. But it was worth it considering otherwise were looking at a parking lot, as opposed to the lit up downtown strip and sound of water. There is little noise from the street so that was no worry from our 4th floor.

However the housekeeping was slow when we requested more towels, and the glasses (all hotels have this problem) were still wet and likely dirty. I suggest buying a case of water and keep 1 in your trunk and another in your room. Otherwise housekeeping was very very speedy cleaning our room each day.

Theres a great pool and hot tub, outside bar and mini grocery/souvenir shop in the hotel. Id stay there again, well worth the money you pay, you can do much worse for more money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our 34th wedding anniversary. I'm giving 3-1/2 star (if there was one) for the following reasons:
1. We chose this hotel because of the Marriott name, although it is a Courtyard. The price we paid for the semi-ocean view was not worth the cost, since the coconut trees and other trees blocked the view;
2. Room was clean and beds were comfortable, except for the bottom shower faucet which came off while I was showering, so I was unable to complete my shower so it was a very unpleasant experience. This shows that the hotel is old, although there were signs of refurbishment. Lobby looked great with Hawaiian artwork and other displays;
3. Service was excellent; all staff were pleasant and friendly -- from the breakfast area to front desk and even the utility person who came to fix the problem;
4. Swimming pool was nice, which was just next to a small area for ocean swimming.
5. Nice locations and you can walk to some of the small shopping stores and restaurants; hotel parking was reasonable at $12/day.

I WOULD RECOMMEND this hotel but not the semi-ocean view room; either go with an economical garden view or spend the money and go for the ocean view room.#

Room Tip: Avoid the semi-ocean view room; either go with an economical garden view or spend the money and go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Although we were happy to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay we do regret that your accommodations were not as you had hoped in terms of the view. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that were caused to you as a result of the broken shower faucet. Your feedback and patronage is greatly appreciated and we hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location in Kona. Room was very clean and hotel amenities were good. We didn't eat at the Hotel restaurant so can't review that. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the Hotel so plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We finished two weeks travelling the Hawaiian archipelago by chilaxing in this beach hotel. We managed to get an earlier flight over from Honolulu and so arrived early at the hotel. The staff were just great and set to work in getting us into our room as soon as possible. Our room was facing the carpark at the back but we also had a partial sea view, it was very quiet and we both slept well. The room and the hotel is a 'few years old' but well maintained and the rooms clean and tidy and the aircon worked well. Breakfast i thought was a little expensive but a closer look at the menu got prices down to a tolerable level. Sitting outside in the early sunshine was wonderful and you overlooked the beach which was only a matter of stepping outside, the beach however is public but nevertheless a great experience. The location at the small harbour was wonderful with lots going on. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant at night but used local places, wonderful. Try the Fish Hopper only about 150meters walk away.
Only discovered that i could have hired a Harley Davidson from a place 200 meters up the hill but too late, it was the last day. would have been a good experience. The pool area was nice but not enough parasols for all the people at the time although management subsequently have said they realise this and will rectify. A great end to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is located near the airport in the town of Kailua Kona. It isn´t a beach resort but an acceptable city hotel suitable as a starting point for exploring the island.
Local transportation around the island is limited, so it is best to rent a car at the airport. The roads are good and well signposted. The taxi ride from the airport to the hotel takes 15-20 minutes and costs about $30. It is only a few minutes walk to the small harbor and to the centre of the town with lots of shops and restaurants. There are large department stores (Walmart, Target, Kmart) a few minutes by car. Right behind the hotel is a large parking lot ($12/day).
The six-storey hotel building reminds block of flats. It consists of two wings - Eastern has a view of the main road and the town, West (quieter) – of the parking lot and a garden. We appreciated that all public areas are strictly non-smoking.
Lobby and common areas are large, bright, with flowers, plenty of comfortable seating, a nice thick coloured carpet. Elevators and corridors are clean. We didn’t like the unpleasant smell which is felt in the lobby and close area.
Check-in was quick, professional, the staff was friendly and helpful. We sent an e-mail to the hotel before our arrival, but no response. None of the staff knew about it. We were disappointed that nobody reads guest’s emails at this hotel.
At check-out staff willingly called taxi to the airport for us, but he told us the wrong price - $30/person. I can not believe that the staff doesn’t know the right price taxi to the airport. Be careful and check your hotel receipt. It has been issued a bill with an incorrect price, after notice our account has been corrected.
The hotel is connected with a shopping gallery (very poor) and ABC store (basic shopping). There are outdoor swimming pool, a small sandy beach, a fitness center, tennis courts, a concierge desk and a car rental desk (open only 8–12 am). We weren’t satisfied with the Concierge Desk offering overpriced trips (in downtown you can buy the same trips cheaper).
It is positive that the hotel provides free access to computers with a printer connected to the Internet.
There are two computers in the lobby for web check-in (you can print a boarding pass for your flight), the other two PCs with a printer are available in the business center (free password at the front desk). At the entire hotel, including the rooms is free wifi internet connection.
We disliked the room. A small balcony with a view of the side wall, garden and parking lot.
Under the window was a noisy air condition unit and dumpster to which trucks ran regularly. It was a big disappointment especially after we sent to the hotel email that a quiet room is very important for us.
We had a small dark room with uncomfortable furniture. Soft beds, large LCD TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, air condition, in the bathroom there was a bath with a shower, basic toiletries, clean towels. Everything was clean and well maintained. There were wooden sliding doors instead of curtains and drapes. There was unplesant smell in the the room probably from the carpet or air condition. We didn’t feel cozy in the room. We had a minor problem in the bathroom - water on the floor, it was quickly and effectively resolved, we were given a voucher for breakfast.
Mediocre breakfast - missed cheese, ham, salami, poor selection and quality of pastry, limited choice of fruit. I had to ask for honey. It was a little annoying that birds were even on the tables at the restaurant.
If you have a car and looking for the average city hotel near the airport for a reasonable price, then this hotel may be the right choice. But if you require really quality accommodation and services for your money - select a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Front Office Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review and for your recent visit. It’s truly disappointing that although you’ve shared an appreciation for many aspects of our hotel, we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. We sincerely regret that your accommodations were not as anticipated. Our goal is to provide our guests with quality customer service and humbly apologize for any inconvenience. . Rest assured that I and the rest of the management team are taking your comments and feedback and utilizing it to further identify areas of opportunity to improve our hotel and the services we provide. We appreciate your feedback and your patronage and hope that we have an opportunity in the future to regain your trust in our brand. If I can be of any other service to you please contact me at 808-329-2911.
Sincerely,
Gabriela Markova, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I returned to this hotel after exactly 20 years, and found some of my memories still in evidence, like the Holy shrine in the small bay outside the hotel, and many displays in the huge lobby area, paintings, paraphernalia, homages to Hawai'ian history (especially King Kamehameha, who hung out on this bay) and an outdoor restaurant with the same great view as I had from my ocean-view room (West Tower).

There's an ABC store in the maze of beach-side lobby, selling food and souvenirs and sundries. No room service. A refrigerator in the room, and coffee maker and safe. Nice LCD TV, comfy bed.

Decent (not ostentatious) bath/toiletry offerings, lovely ice bucket, quiet rooms.

Kayak rentals (and lessons) and inexpensive daily rental of snorkeling gear right on the beach.

I'd give it 5 stars except for one glaring and disgusting thing: served with their Kona (blend) coffee, in one of the coffee capitals of the world, the 'fixings' include a plastic bag with stir stick, sugar, and fake milk/cream, you know, pure 100% toxic chemicals with no relationship to milk or 1/2 & 1/2, which IMHO any half-decent hotel in Hawai'i serving the famed Kona coffee would offer. I ended up going down to the ABC store, which doesn't sell small containers of milk or 1/2 and half, and getting a large container of milk. Sure would have made it heavenly to offer milk with the Kona coffee, and maybe a choice of sweeteners. I found this so repulsive I was tempted to rate the hotel 1 star, so ruining my otherwise wonderful time there. The free wi-fi was great, almost making up for it, but sorry, serving plastic chemicals rather than a real milk product is extremely tacky IMHO.

That said, it's convenient self-parking, quick access (for a daily fee) in and out from either wing (with a daily permit on the dashboard), great location for visits to Captain Cook, Two Steps (snorkeling), City of Refuge, and old town of Kona, now funkier (and more traffic-choked) than my last visit. Generally loved the room, the view, the staff, amenities, and everything except the shock of being served chemical packs rather than milk for my Kona coffee. I wrote the manager, have not heard back. I won't visit again, on principle. I love coffee, cannot stand toxic chemicals masquerading as milk. Different taste, different experience. Zero sense of coffee or Aloha.

Room Tip: High rooms, West Tower probably best, but all (full) ocean view rooms have nice lanais and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.