We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area in town,good food,and terrific beach amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great area in town,good food,and terrific beach amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the perfect pick hotel for us as we could walk into town and go to different restaurants every night.
I went to Hula's for happy hour $3 drinks and the best fish tacos I have ever eaten $3! The younger people go Friday and Saturday ,girls watch out for those military fellas.
The hotel had different conferences on all the time like hat weaving headed by "aunty" for 3 days. Her hats were not from straw but a special reed and sold for $600 ,like the finest silk weaves Ive seen and had the privlege of meeting her.
The long boats went out every day boys and girls saying a prayer before they go. The older men had huge arms from rowing and flew through the water at great speeds, terrific to watch from the restaurants.
I believe Mr Microsoft Bill Gates house was just next door.
Only black spot was no room service, that was not good as we needed it.

Room Tip: Choose the beach side ,even side view you could see the boats go out at the end of day and listen to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    894
    236
    62
    35
See reviews for
522
923
107
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Other than being hard to pronounce, the King Kam met all our expectations. While not a "luxury resort", this hotel is in a great location in Kona and was convenient to the Kona airport, our Blue Hawaiian helicopter trip and multiple scuba dives. There were a number of restaurants, grocery stores, and fast food places within easy reach, and we spent a couple hours walking through town, enjoying the shops. We booked a premium ocean view room and had a really nice view of the hotel beach and Kailua Bay. The room was nicely sized, clean, and comfortable. Unexpected bonuses included the proximity of the Kona Brewing Company, where we easily walked for a great lunch one day, watching out our window as the outrigger canoes went out for morning runs, and an "unstocked" refrigerator in the room where we could store some leftovers and purchased food/drinks.

The King Kam charges for parking, as it appears most places do on Hawaii, but at least it bought us close, convenient parking. It was also self-park, so we didn't have to deal with valet tips every time we needed the car.

Room Tip: We booked an oceanfront room based on other reviews we had read, and were pleased with this decision...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the great ocean views from your ocean front room. I would highly agree with you that our location allows you to enjoy great restaurants, shopping, galleries, farmers market and historical sites all within a short walking distance. We do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights. It was first time we visited Big Island. It was a nice place. It is not a fancy & luxurious place. But nice and conformable. Very close to lot of restaurants. We really liked it. The Island Breeze Luau was really great. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were so pleased to hear that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations and the Island Breeze Luau. I agree that we have a fantastic luau, noted to be the best in Kona. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and the luau is a wonderfully entertaining way to learn about the language and culture of the Island. Thank you for your great comments and your recommendations; we look to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My experience at the Honu Restaurant was horrible. The price is now $42 and the quality of the food is poor and not to mention the flies. I do not remember ALL these flies in the past. That just made me lose my appetite as they were all over the food and flying around when we were eating. Just very disappointing especially when we used to come to this buffet before and it used to be good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent dining experience at Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant situation that you encountered at our restaurant. We take all guests comments seriously; as this is the best way we can gain feedback to improve our services. We strive to provide each of our guests with a wonderful experience and I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations on this visit. Rest assured your concern has been addressed with the appropriate department manager for their review and corrective action to prevent future occurrences.
We hope this incident has not caused you to lose faith in our services and hope you will continue to support the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and your patronage and hope that we have an opportunity in the future to regain your trust in our brand. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for free with Marriott points so let me first preface that since we didn't have to pay for this hotel. We were also spoiled having just stayed at the Courtyard Airport location in Maui, upgraded to an amazing suite in a very new Courtyard with an amazing bathroom. The lobby area of this hotel is updated but walk around the corner to the beach/pool side and you can see old mixed with new. It has a bit of a 1970's strip mall feel to it but then they have newer carpet and some fancy ceiling installations to try to update it. Several of the store fronts are out of business and empty. The hallways to your room are poorly lit, a little dingy looking and there is no artwork or anything to perk up the halls. They also seemed to have been masking something with a strong carpet deodorizer when we exited the elevator you were almost breathless from it. The room is not horrible but I disliked the color of the walls, just didn't seem bright/cheery enough. The bathroom has been spruced up with granite and is somewhat nice but incredibly compact. We were shown one room and I remember the door opened into the toilet which would have been difficult getting in and out of the room. We switched rooms and the new one had two slider doors that came together on the outside which was much better access but maybe a little less private. There was also mold around the shower caulking which is always something that drives me crazy in a hotel bathroom.

It is in a good location in terms of walking distance to lots of shops/restaurants. They do have a spa, restaurant, pool bar and a small beach area that you share with locals, a water sports rental on the beach that you can room charge to. One of our biggest beefs was the parking. It seems they have a lot of people not staying at the hotel that pay to park in the lot, as a guest you have to constantly flash a parking pass to them and at night the parking was really tight. Overall it was okay but not my favorite property and it could really use more updating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and really do our best to take care of our loyal Marriott members. We sincerely appreciate that you have provided both the positives of your stay and those aspects that you were not as enthusiastic about. It is definitely disappointing to learn about some of the challenges you encountered, and for those we sincerely apologize.
Again we are sorry that your stay was not as you had expected but hope that you will allow us to welcome you back one day. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We loved the hotel! Our room was clean and beautiful, although the bathroom was kind of small, we were right in town within walking distance of everything. Heidi at the front desk was welcoming, we ate at the restaurant in the hotel (honu), our waitress Kenoi was very informative. We have a gluten allergy and she suggested menu items to help us. Even the Manager Colline came out and said hello, she was very nice and we plan on staying there the next time we visit! It was perfect as our kids loved the beach right out front!
Thanks-

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments on your recent stay. We could not be more pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It is always wonderful to read reviews from our guests and to learn about what made their visit memorable. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms our convenient location and the great service provided by our staff as well as your dining experience at Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for more great Hawaiian memories. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here while at KONA area. It is in a great location, steps away from the shops at the village. The shore is right next to the hotel. There are lots of great places to eat just steps away. The room is clean with a nice view if the water. There is a mini fridge inside the room. The beds are okay. Good quality sleep despite being in a busy location. The front desk people are very nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Aloha,
We strive to deliver exceptional service and accommodations, it is extremely important that our guests consider our hotel to have the best value for the best location in Kona. Your kind remarks for our hotel and staff is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for more Hawaiian memories. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.