We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Location-But a few things Mariott Can Improve On” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel & Location-But a few things Mariott Can Improve On”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good Day! We literally just returned from our 7 day stay in Kona. We stayed all nights at King Kam and it was a great experience. I will first give all the pluses and then list a few things that Mariott can improve to make this a 5 star Trip Advisor Hotel ranking.
Location, location, location!. Basically until you arrive at this hotel you will not understand this. It is on the corner of Palini road and at the starting of the board walk for downtown Kona. The hotel has the prime location on the corner nestled away but literally 100 feet from everything. Its a visual extravaganza when you arrive. Hard to imagine a hotel can be so private and yet so close. Enough on this you will not be disappointed.

The small lagon in the front of the hotel is great for getting your feet wet and getting the snorkelling skills down before you venture into the ocean or another beach . Amazingly we saw a ton of fish in this little area and my kids snorkelled for hours here when we had downtime.

The Laua is on the property very Tue, Thur, Sun and it fills up fast. For sure get the preferred seating. Its worth the extra cost to get seated near the stage as well as eating 30 minutes or more before the normal seated guests. The dancers are great and food was good. They roast a real pig like old times.

The parking is private if you have rental car and lots of spaces but they do charge a fee daily but not that much. Its worth it to have the parking on site and so convient.

They have a tennis pro shop and brand new tennis courts which we used and has light courts also.

The pool is really just a standard pool and the hot tub area is very small. We did not swim in the pool nor use the hot tube. But the pool was never crowded as Im sure most guests go to the beaches. Your in Kona so swim in the ocean. But the pool for small kids and people who dont want to go in the ocean-eldery perhaps etc might be a little disappointed. I think the pool area needs to be a expanded and they have the space in the front to do it in my opinion.

The ABC store in the hotel that goes out to the boardwalk area is handy and lots of great restaurants nearby. Mariott was very smart in purchasing this location!

Ok so a few things to consider for Mariott. There are no Microwaves in the rooms? Or atleast in the West Tower where we stayed. I travle often and I do not understand why the rooms dont have a microwave. We use it to heat up hot water for tea at night and my kids like burritos to heat up when hungry. I can also imagine families with small babies that use for heating up food or formula etc. Perhaps Mariott can indicate why no microwaves. My daughter realized the bathroom doors -atleast in our room(2 queens) has only a sliding type door that does not lock. Well with families and siblings many people want to lock the door when using the facilities. A few times my son accidently opened the door on my 13 yo daughter and they were not happy campers when that happenend. Again Mariott needs to correct this and place some type of locking system on the doors that enter the bathrooms witht the doors on the sliders as in our room. There is also no room service at all on the property. Let me explain why this was very very inconvient .

Most of the tours for helicopters and snorkelling etc leave typically around 7am -some earlier and some little later. But overall you will have to also drive to the locations to start the different tours. We needed to eat early early breakfeasts and the earliest that the buffett breakfeast opens is 6am. So we had to a few times be waiting to eat when they open the doors at 6am and gulp our food down then quickly leave and drive to our designiated tour pick up site. Really with kids this was a challenge. Again no microwave in the room to heat any breakfeast food-so little or no options to eat in the room unless you want to eat all cold foods. And my kids didnt like that idea. So definitely a hotel this size needs 24/7 room service.

The beds are really really comfortable and pillows also. They gave ample pillows .

All in All this hotel is really rated a 5 and I would definitely stay here again. People and everyone in the hotel was friendly and helpful!

Enjoy King Kama.

Room Tip: see my comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review of your seven night stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. It's truly disappointing that although you've shared an appreciation for many aspects of our hotel, we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with the non-privacy from the bathroom sliding doors and for the breakfast buffet hours. We do offer microwaves on a first come, first serve basis based on availability for a daily fee. If you find yourself coming our way again, please be sure to request a mircowave at check-in.
We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    809
    202
    52
    32
See reviews for
468
843
100
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed in many Marriott hotels, but this one was great for our little family vacation (one kid, two parents). The pool and beach are accessible, the rooms are very clean, the staff very friendly. The one issue we saw in reviews before we stayed was the odor of the place - the hotel was in bad shape before Marriott took it over before the tsunami. There is an odor, but you get used to it immediately and then it's a non-issue. The luau seems terrific - we only watched from our hotel balcony though. The coffee shop is nice and the convenience store has cheap bottled water, snacks, beach stuff, and beer! Parking is free, too. We walked through downtown Kailua town, which is a little touristy anymore, but really who cares. It's fun and way less crowded than towns in Maui or Honolulu obviously. I would go back to the King Kam with my family again easily. We spent 5 days there before going to Hilo and it was just right.

Room Tip: Avoid the South facing rooms near the main entrance - they are adjacent to Alii Drive, parking, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for for your comments. I'm so glad that our staff was friendly and that you had a great stay with us at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next trip to Kona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The King Kam is a perfect location for exploring the sights and enjoying the beach activities in Kailua-Kona. The hotel has been refurbished and has a bright, fresh new feeling in the rooms and common areas. And within the property is its own ABC Store! Very convenient! Beautiful Hawaiian art work in the lobby is enjoyable, almost like visiting an art gallery. Mennehune Coffee House is on the ground floor and a perfect spot for morning coffee and pastries. Guest rooms are spacious and well-appointed with balconies in many rooms overlooking the hotel "beach". The beds are incredibly comfortable, felt like sleeping in a cloud! Only complaint about the property is the smokers area of the hotel is basically right outside the front entrance. During our 10 day stay there were many days and nights we could not keep the balcony door open due to the smokers down below (both guests and staff). Please consider moving this area to a location further from the front door! Lovely staff, excellent service is the reason for 5 stars.

Room Tip: Choose a room high enough to avoid the smoke drifting up from the smoking area of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Mahalo for your review of your ten day stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for your shopping and beach explorations.
My sincere apology for the inconvenience that you experienced from our designated smoking area. Rest assured we have relocated the smoking area to a different location further from the entrance door.
Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The king Kamehameha is probably the finest hotel on the waterfront strip, it is located on the main beach in Kona, infact the only significant and usable beach in Kona is on the hotel grounds. so If sun time is important this should be your pick. The hotel is located 15 mins from the airport on the north end of the waterfront strip. service is excellent and the lobby is amazing, it is more like a cultural museum than a lobby.I spent some of my time just browsing the artworks and artifacts in the lobby and getting a feel for the history of the Hawiian islands. The hotel is located on the north end of the waterfront strip and excellent resturaunts are very close. The hotel grounds hosts the Island Breeze Lu'au which is excellent and well worth seeing. The beach front is next to the Kona Peir, from there you can take fishing charters with "bite me" charters, or Dive nearby with Jim's dive locker or take a sunset or dinner cruize, glass bottom boat tours or Para-sailing all from the peir. At the beach you can rent snorkel gear, kayaks, surf boards or stand-up paddle boards asl well as beach chairs and unbrellas from the "Kona Boy's' shack right on the beach. if you have a group you can even go paddle out on one of the large outrigger canoes. On the watefront is a "Hawiian cultural site- the King Kamehameha temple" which is a restoration a 2/3 scale but is unfortunately out of bounds to all as a site of religious importance to the Hawiian people, it is neat to have this much history and heritage suurrounding you. I highly recommend this hotel for its service and ammmenities.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms are quiet but not significantly excelp when the La'ua is on but tha ends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for providing us with insight into your recent stay. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and the grounds of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our Island Breeze Oceanfront Lu'au. I agree that we are in a great location for beach many beach activities. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return to the Big Island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This property is not your typical Courtyard: It has near typical Courtyard rates, and breakfast is not included, but the rooms are large and lovely, and the overall experience is almost luxurious. Fantastic beds! We were in the least expensive room available and it had a balcony with an ocean view! As the restaurant was a tad pricey for our purposes, we dined across the street at Quinn's and Splasher's and down the road at the Canoe House. I would avoid the Steak House next to Splasher's: just my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. I agree we offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a fairly new facility, wonderfully located right on the ocean’s edge.
This hotel boasts its own man made “beach”. Hawaii island is geologically too young to have natural beaches, so if you can find a patch of sand, enjoy it. Other islands have sand beaches, Big Island has Lava Rock beaches.
The hotel itself is an exceptional facility. Rooms are large and nicely decorated. The public areas of the hotel have a treasure of wonderful Island art, sculptures and wonderful grounds.
All possible land in Kona is used, there is little parking in the area. This hotel has a huge parking lot and as such rents space to anyone on an hourly basis, hotel guests also pay a $12 daily rate. This has become a local necessity.
The location is on water’s edge, my partial ocean view was fair. See photo.
The breakfast buffet is excellent.

Room Tip: Take time to enjoy the hotel's art collection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha,
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for mentioning your great dining experience at our restaurant. Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here on a four island tour and we will definitely be coming back. The hotel was clean, modern and well situated. Lots of great restaurants close by and even a Walmart for those that must have one. The snorkeling off the small hotel beach is out of this world. Lobby staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Walk across the street for breakfast, great restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review of your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.