We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, excellent concierge staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel, excellent concierge staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013 and thought it was a great location. We booked an oceanfront room and were very glad that we did. Our balcony looked out on the very calm bay so we could watch the boat traffic, snorkelers, paddleboarders, swim clubs, and kayakers. It was also the drop off place for the cruiseship tenders so it got very busy the 2 days that cruiseships were in port. There was also a large tree that was the nighttime home to hundreds of mynah birds. They were exceptionally noisy when they gathered to roost at night and when they left in the morning. It didn't wake us up but it was certainly very noisy. Our king room had a sofa and a small table with 2 chairs, a large closet and a safe. The hotel's location makes it easy to walk to shopping and restaurants. You can swim and snorkel or try the pool if you've gotten up early and reserved a seat. The concierge desk was helpful the 2 times we asked for recommendations for tours and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I always choose oceanfront if possible and there is always something happening oceanfront at this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha Minn T,
We appreciate your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us. We love to hear when guests enjoy our convenient location. I'm so glad that our staff took care of you and provided you with great service. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next vacation to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    727
    183
    45
    29
See reviews for
422
763
92
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Verde, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are loyal Marriott customers and save our points for longer vacation stays. This property is OK, rooms were clean and staff friendly but we were assigned the absolute worst view of the entire property: the roof of the adjacent conference room. Although we are super elite members there was absolutely no giving in the way of location or amenities. We still had to pay full parking price and full meal price if we chose to eat there. Good location for all the extras especially if you do not have a vehicle. Trolley stops right there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha!
We appreciate your feedback and really do our best to take care of our loyal Marriott members. Unfortunately, because the hotel was full it seems as if we were unable to upgrade your room reservation to your satisfaction. I am sorry that your view did not meet your expectations and felt you were not appreciated as a Marriott Rewards Elite member. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to welcome you back.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel is very clean, quite and a relaxing place. The service was great everyone was helpful. The area around the hotel has lots of shops (with no pushy sales people like Mexico). Took a private tour around the island and must say it was the best part of the trip. Got to stop at any place we wanted to and stay as long as we wanted to. If you like to make your own trip book, "MaryLou tours". The only part of the hotel that was bad was the beach and bay in front of the hotel is not private to the hotel. You need to get out there early if you want a place to seat because all the other hotel people come to the only real beach.

Room Tip: Get a room on ocean view side on the 4th floor or higher. The other rooms over look parking lot or M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha Ted H!
Thank you for your great review. I'm so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. It is always wonderful to hear that our staff is providing good service. We are fortunate that our location is convenient in an area that's close to shopping and good restaurants.
Many thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to your return to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over Christmas. While the location was good, the were several problems. Christmas Day, the fire alarm went off at 2 am. We all went outside and there was chaos. The night staff provided little information as to what was going on. They were confused and uninformed. We stood in the lobby for 45 minutes waiting for direction. In the morning, the manager said there would compensation for the inconvenience. The real problem was the ignorance of the night staff and the lack of understanding and poor service by the daytime manager. Other problems: small pool area, 2 umbrellas for the whole pool, a tiny strip of sand considered the "private beach".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay in December. Although we were happy to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay we do regret that you encountered some issues with the fire alarm and insufficient amount of pool umbrellas.

At Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel we strive to provide our valued guests with the highest level of service. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve our service and hospitality for all guests.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations on this visit and for the inconvenience that you encountered with the false fire alarm caused by an act of vandalism. It appears that we have fallen short of our normal goals and standards. We will be addressing and focusing on training our staff to improve our communication with our guests should this reoccur in the future.

We hope these incidents has not caused you to lose faith in our services and hope you will continue to support the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel and give us another chance in the future to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

To be honest, you can't beat the location of this hotel, because the beach, restaurants and bars are very close (if you got the chance trythe Lava Java, just amazing). Our room was very good with plenty of space and quite a good bed, also very clean service. After our visits to the national parks and beaches we love d to drink a cocktail and relax in the hotel before we go to rest. Price in our opinion was very good valued and maybe very good value for all. Special tip to all the Staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha!
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being a short stroll away from nearby restaurants and shops is an added bonus for our guests. I agree that we offer the best value for the best location in Kona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been there with my girlfriend and we know the norm and comfort of the Marriot-Hotels from some places all over the world already.
I think i don't have to say too much about how very good this hotel is. I think that is that very good in every Marriot Hotel all over the world. It's really excellent and you'll definitely relax, feeling very well and have a relaxing and luxurious time there! The rooms are quit, clean, generous with a perfect bathroom and the service is also very friendly an very good.

But what i wanted to point out is the thing, that they have only !! 2 or 3 !! umbrellas at the pool for, i don't know, about a few hundret guests! I thought that can't be an asked a employee and he said: Yes, I'm sorry but we only have 2 or 3 umbrellas.

That's the reason why i give 4 points out of 5.

But anyway, like i said a very very good hotel, except that they have insufficient umbrellas for all the guests ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. We were very sorry to hear about issues with the umbrellas at our pool. Rest assured, we are in the process of adding additional pool umbrellas to better serve our valued guests.
We hope that you'll allow us to have you as our valued guest again on your next visit to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights. Our room was ready upon check-in at 10pm. The agent at the front desk said she would look to upgrade us because of our Marriott status. The first room was facing the street and got quite noisy at night. A few days later we moved to the 6th floor with a partial ocean view. This was much quieter. It was nice of the Front Desk Staff and manager to move us.

The rooms were your standard Marriott Courtyard rooms. Pros: Balcony, Kona Coffee Packets, Nice pool and beach (the beach is good for snorkeling and calm lagoon), and has laundry facilities Cons: Bathroom is small and cramped, fitness center is not very inviting. Aloha!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that we were able to give you an upgrade to a quieter room for the duration of your stay. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities of the property, as well as our beautiful sandy beach. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.