We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Branscomb, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yet another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is our 5th year of staying at the King Kam during our yearly visit to the Island. It did not disappoint. The staff was friendly & professional. The room was clean as it can get. The location is perfect. The internet is fast! Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha!
We are so delighted to have you as a return guest over the past five years. We love hearing from our guests and appreciate your kind words for our hardworking staff. Also glad to hear that you enjoy all the amenities of the propery, as well as our convenient location. We look forward to your visit next year. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    893
    235
    62
    35
See reviews for
521
922
106
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Big Island during our Hawaii holiday and stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Firstly, I would suggest to only visit Big Island for 2 or 3 days and spend more time in Maui or Ohau. Big Island is big and it takes time to get around. There is however a lot of variety in landscape and scenery.
Kona is somewhat historic town and the hotel actually has a nice exhibit about the history of human occupation of Hawaii dating back to the first Polynesian coming from Bora Bora. It is a nice laid back place. The Courtyard Marriott is located centrally in town with easy access to restaurants and shops (including Walmart, etc.). The rooms are good with comfortable bedding. Beware however when asking for a rollaway bed as these are of the worst quality ever. The iron springs spike through the fabric and they actually are a hazard for children. We complained and it took a lot of hassle to get a proper bed. Housekeeping was not really interested and claimed that they 'just worked there'! Must be hard getting staff... The complimentary breakfast (for us included in the room rate) was just ok with sufficient variety, but very limited healthy choices. This is America after all! 

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced with the quality of our rollaway beds and the manner in which your issues were handled by our staff. I can assure you that we are in the process of replacing all rollaway mattresses at this time. And we are also working to enhance our breakfast buffet options to include a variety of healthy choices.
We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Big Island. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the closest hotel to town! How could you not love the spot,even some microsoft guy has a place next door. The lobby is beautifully done,with lots of areas to sit and relax. We rented bikes and they had no problem letting us take them into the room. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. You are within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. The small beach out front has lots of reef and you can see lots of fish without snorkeling. The pier is an interesting place just to watch swimmers practising,stand up paddlers,etc. Lots to see!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha Joan L,
Thank you for posting a great review on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balboa Island, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The lobby of the hotel has beautiful displays showing Hawaiian history and the story of the namesake king. Educational and artistic. ABC store located downstairs was mostly empty until the cruise ship anchored in the harbor. Very nicely located across from Splashers, Kona Steak house and Fish Hopper. 6 minute walk to Grower's market where fresh fruit can be obtained and bargain t-shirts (7 for $20). Most of the merchants had nothing special if you have visited any island before. Conceirge not very knowledgable. We went to the Luau first visit there, very convenient as it is on the grounds of the hotel. Reserve online and save about 20% on the pricey tab. Ok to splurge as our daughter's first luau, figured we were paying for the entertainment anyway. actually had roasted pig in the pit. She loved it and the mai tais were bottomless, take your own glass/cup as the plastic ones are poor. Entertainment was top quality. So what about this pool? The Canadians all thought it was balmy at about 68 degrees, but I lasted 30 seconds. Went to the 'tepid' tub instead. Important to have a warmer pool as sometimes, as on our visit, it is overcast and the ocean can get a cold current or chill to it. Room amenities were very nice, but few channels offered on the TV. Well, don't go to HI for the tv anyway, do you? Go to Minnesota in Dec. for the TV. :)- JK, we love Minnesotikans. Lots of merchants just across the street for activities stuff from renting an SUP to an electric scooter. Staff was very presonable and friendly, particularly Housekeeping. No problem with xtras. OH, YEAH, the Paul Mitchell conditioner was the worst stuff I have ever used, put tangles in our little girls hair, if you have long hair, take your own conditioner or get some at ABC.

Room Tip: They just resurfaced the tennis courts, watch out for rooms on that side unless you can sleep throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for posting a review of our property on Trip Advisor. Your lovely compliments for our staff are very much appreciated; thank you. We are so happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed her first luau. We regret that the pool temperature was not warm enough due to the overcast weather and hope that this did not greatly impact your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for more great Hawaiian memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Everyone treated us great. The location can't be beat; across the street from two very good restaurants and near shopping. The beach is not large, but, hey, it's a beach. The pool is nice. Overall we had a wonderful four night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha,
I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable four night stay with us. In addition, our team is really terrific about taking care of our guests and we do pride ourselves on our customer service. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to your return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to the Big Island several times but this was our first time staying in Kona. Started out trip here for two nights. Close to airport so it was nice to get off the plane and enjoy the area right away. We had a partial ocean view so we could see the front of the hotel and the water to the side. Was nice to sit on the balcony and have a view. Room was nice, bathroom was small and needed the shower head cleaned or replaced. The area we were in was quiet, wii fi worked well, parking was close.
Breakfast buffet was good but not like the Hyatt etc. Pool was very nice with only 30 chairs around it. Had to get a chair early or sit on the grass below or the sand by the water.
Location was great for walking to shops and restaurants, Splashers across the street was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review of our property. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation, and was able to take advantage of our convenient location and lovely pool area.
Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I feel nostalgic writing this review as the first review I ever wrote on tripadvisor was my review for the King Kamehameha Hotel before it became a Marriott (which is now no longer posted as it is that old). The title of my prior post was “disgusting” …enough said. You can only imagine how happy I was to return to this hotel now 10 years later after it had undergone a total renovation. As with all my reviews now I will run through the pros and cons/things to think about being as nitpicky as I can be so here we go:

Pros:
1.Location. If you want to stay in Kona this is a great spot. Walking distance to restaurants along the front (including my favourite Lava Java – good food, seating outdoors with excellent ocean views, byob with no corkage fee and you can make reservations for dinner – or at least we did for New Year’s Eve) and in the mall behind (including the Kona Brewing Company). It has a big parking lot that is reasonably priced (as you will most definitely want a car on the Big Island). Also close to the dock where activities go out.

2.Room: Good sized room, comfortable bed, fridge to store stuff, sitting area, and a balcony. There is a big enough fridge that you can store some milk, beer etc. (This helps as we bought cereal and ate our breakfast on our balcony - there is a huge Safeway not too far away in the mall where the Wal-Mart is – its better than the grocery store in the mall within walking distance of the hotel)

3.Cleanliness: Overall good (not perfect but fine), with good toiletries

4.Amenities: they have a pool, free wifi (in room) and a business centre so you can print off your boarding passes, and an ABC store on site (though in Hawaii you can’t walk 5 steps without tripping over an ABC store so I am not sure that is a huge advantage). People complain that this is not a “resort”, which is true, but to me that is an advantage as I hate staying in big resorts. Besides, you don’t stay in Kona to stay at a resort…you go elsewhere on the Big Island where there are better beaches. You stay in Kona for the atmosphere, town amenities and as a good home base to explore the rest of the Big Island. So basically you stay at this hotel if your vacation entails going out and seeing the island, visiting beaches, national parks, etc . but with the advantage that when you return you can head down to pool and lie out a bit and drink a cocktail.

5.Price: In my opinion one of the best value for money places we stayed in on our recent trip.

Cons/Things to Think about

1.Room selection: we know that at this hotel there is no real beach to speak of and that the price for an ocean view room is not justified (splash out on a different island or hotel) so it is not worth spending a ton of extra money for it. However if you don’t get the view you could get a room (like the one we had) on the second floor with a balcony that it was inches above the roof of the lobby. Your view is staring at either the parking lot or the ugly roof. That being said we didn’t mind it one bit as we still had a little outdoor space to hang our wet clothes and sit out and eat our breakfast.

2.While not a noisy hotel I did note that the maids like to yell/talk loud etc. in the hallway which was disruptive if you slept in at all (which we never did because of the totally inconsiderate people in the room next to us…seems they were part of trip with other people staying in the 2 rooms across the hall so they and their preteen kid would go from room to room slamming doors starting at 7 am.)

3. Musty smell – even though renovated there is a musty smell in the room…but then you are in Hawaii and they do have such a thing as humidity.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to recommend staying at this hotel if what you are looking for is a conveniently well-kept hotel to serve as your “home base” while you stay on the Big Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for returning and giving us another opportunity to have you as our valued guest. It's so wonderful to hear great feedback on our hotel renovations from our guests. We appreciate your review and feedback. I'll be sure to share it with the rest of the team. I agree we offer the best value for the best location in Kona.
I am truely sorry about the noise that you experienced in the hallway from our housekeeping staff. Please be assured that this issue has been addressed to the appropriate management staff for immediate attention.
We look forward to your return visit with us on your next visit to the Big Island.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.