We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Kona” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palo Alto, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Kona”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I went to Kona for a cousin's wedding, and I wanted to get in a day early to see the sites of Kona. When I searched the web for hotels in Kona, I chose this hotel because it was halfway between Kona Airport and a vacation home that our cousins and I were staying. Very good room, superb bed, good service. Breakfast buffet very good, but overpriced. Hotel was centrally located to most of Kona's shops and attractions. If you ever go to Kona, consider booking this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    893
    235
    62
    35
See reviews for
521
922
106
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in The Courtyard King Kamehameha Kona Beach and enjoyed our stay. We did not like the first room but were offered a much better room after asking the reception staff. The location is great and the staff is very friendly. The pool is not too big but nice and there is even a small strip of beach. Shops and restaurants are close by. Our room was good size and very clean. Parking is 10$ which is not much for Hawaii. Overall we were very satisfied and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the King Kam. We paid extra for a 2-room oceanfront suite and it was well worth it for us. We were surprised that it had 2 full baths and a walk-in closet; that was a nice extra bonus. The hotel seems a bit old but the rooms have been updated and the bathrooms and carpet look brand-new. The A/C worked fine and it's central so you don't have the annoying loud window units that are in many hotels. The location could not have been better for us - a great view of the ocean and island coast and you can easily walk to the many shops and restaurants in the village. You are also very close to the chain convenience stores if you need them. We recommend breakfast at Splasher's Grill right across the street or one of the other village restaurants vs. the hotel breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The housecleaning staff easily accommodated our schedule as we were in and out of the room each day. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi in your room, mini-frig, a nice gym, coffee shop, ABC convenience store, and a large pool with chairs and bar/grill. There is also a nice little white-sand beach on the grounds. You are also near the pier from where many tour boats depart. You will have to pay $10/day to park in the hotel lot if you have a car. We compared many hotels when making our selection and found that we got the best value and location to fit our needs at the King Kam.

Room Tip: If you can get an oceanview; it's great. If you want more room and don't mind paying more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Luau was so much fun! We paid extra for the preferred seating, it was worth it! We were up front and first to go for the buffet. A lot of fun activities and entertainment was a blast. Food included the traditional pig and much more. You can't go to Hawaii and not enjoy a traditional Luau!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I only stayed one night in the King Kamehameha's Beach Hotel. Therefore, my review might not offer enough insight to this hotel.
What I can say about my stay here is that the location was great, since it was right off the main street with all the restaurants, coffee shops, and stores. Everything was walking distance. The beds were extremly comfortable!! They had a very good security team. My husband and I had a rented a Jeep where the top could be easily removed. When we arrived, I was so exausted that I forgot my purse in the Jeep. My husband went to the parking lot to grab my purse, and a security guard pulled him over, thinking he was a robber. I was happy to know that the security guards were keeping an eye after tourists. The beach was not amazing. If you want to stay at a nice beach, then you need to go to Kona, the more expensive coast! Overall I was very satisfied with this hotel. It was clean, good price, and great for a short stay (2-3 nights).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here twice during a recent visit to the Big Island and we were satisfied with everything about the place. The room is a good size (although the bathroom is quite small). It has air conditioning and good WiFi (included in room rate). I liked the location with a small beach in a protected cove and a pool that never seemed very crowded. The hotel is right in Kailua-Kona with many restaurants and shops within walking distance, including a number of shops right in the hotel. As others have mentioned, there is a parking fee of $10 per day. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my first visit to the Big Island. I read so many great reviews about this hotel and they were all right on point. The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel has the best location. It at the beginning of the very small Kailua-Kona Strip. Everything is in walking distance.

Parking is only $10/night.

The rooms very modern and clean. Ask for an ocean view or view of the city, because if you chose the Mountain View, all you will see is the parking lot. There was a fridge in the hotel, so we were able to store snacks and drinks.

An ABC store was conveniently located at the hotel.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I go back to the Big Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.