We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Settings & Accommodation for Hawaiian Wedding"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona
Save
You added Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona to your Saves list
76-770 Hualalai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Waikoloa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Beautiful Settings & Accommodation for Hawaiian Wedding"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Love of my life & I exchanged our vows on June 21, 2014 amidst serene garden of Hale Maluhia Country Inn. All of our guests who attended our wedding & a few who chose to stay at the Inn raved about how beautiful & peaceful the Inn was with comfortable rooms & friendly & helpful staff. If you are looking to experience true Hawaiian Aloha, this is the place! A big mahalo (thank you) to owner Ken & the staff for making me a very happy bride! Happy journeys :0)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    47
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
26
129
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hale Maluhia - a more apt name is Hale Ho'olepo....the house of dirt. We reserved the Pikake room as we wanted a kitchenette. As we entered the room, we were assaulted with the "aroma" of not one but four plug-in air fresheners...our first clue to the room's substandard condition. We then found a dead mouse wedged under the refrigerator which was promptly removed by the staff when requested but shrugged off with "at least the bait is working". Walking through the carpeted room, we heard crunching only to find several long-dead bugs. The bathroom was replete with additional dead insect matter along with black mold on the ceiling above the shower and window and on all the shower caulking. I asked it be removed and some of it was.

In the bathroom, amenities were in short supply with a single bar of soap provided - no shampoo/conditioner, etc. Towels were changed once during our six day stay which mean we had damp towels throughout as the bathroom window sill had rotted and opening it meant a swarm of mosquitoes came in. The room was not air-conditioned nor was there a de-humidifier; hence, the constant musty smell. Supplies were also missing in the kitchen; however, there were plenty of ants (including inside the toaster oven) and a few cockroaches.

This B&B was chosen, in part, due to the pictures shown on the internet. Don't believe what you see; those pictures are at least 20 years old.

The residential neighborhood is nowhere near peaceful as the nearby dogs start barking around 6 am and the traffic noise begins shortly thereafter. And whether you agree with its content or not, the religious radio begins around 7am and the breakfast area is replete with religious paraphernalia.

We travel extensively throughout the southern US, Central America, Europe, and Asia for business and on vacation and this is the filthiest room we've ever come across. Fortunately for future visitors, the property went up for sale during our stay - let's hope the new owner provides cleaner accommodations for their guests.

Room Tip: Wear a respirator if you choose the Pikake room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
WELL!! seems we have seriously offended some folks with our Gospel of John on the Breakfast table between the salt and pepper shakers. This happens from time to time and we get reviews like this one. But then other guests have loved the Positive Spiritual Flavor of our Inn. And yes, we did find and removed a mouse, fist time in 22 years in that room in our Country Inn. We do replace towels if left on the floor but the room was occupied the whole stay by the male guest and our housekeeper was not allowed to do the normal housekeeping. We were in the middle of a serious rainy time with a 90% humidity. A de-humidifier is a good idea, we will get one, but not needed nos of for most of the year in Kona. We did accommodate this couple for several mornings with an early breakfast. We thoroughly cleaned again as requested. Would have been nice if these guests would had simple objected in the beginning when they spotted the single air fresher. The Pikaki Room is $97. Per night Including a full buffet breakfast for 2 with an DIY omelet bar and bird watching? If they had mentioned anything at all, we would have fixed it and did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

For the price, this is an unbeatable Hawaii country bed and breakfast experience. It is located on a beautiful, winding mountain road only a 10 minute drive from the beach and downtown Kona and a 20 minute drive from the airport. The quality of the rooms was reflective of the very affordable budget (less than excellent shower, loud ceiling fan, no travel toiletries, worn down carpet, etc.), but the room was very clean and neat. The atmosphere was incredible and the overall stay was very satisfactory. Chickens and turkeys roam the property and you are lulled to sleep by the gentle sound of mountain wind and Hawaiian wildlife. The do-it-yourself breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly/accommodating. Definitely recommended to travelers working on a budget and seeking a rustic, beautiful, serene Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was a lone traveler and it was my first time in Hawaii. Sarah at the House of Peace kindly picked me up from the airport and made me feel like I was being met by a good friend. The guys were great and really welcoming too. They even allowed me to join in with their morning get together where we had a bible reading and sharing, and I was given a lovely gift. The surrounds are so natural and plants and trees are everywhere. It's a really healing environment. Sarah and Rachel took me to the beach which was above an beyond anything they needed to do, and Sarah dropped me off at my next destination after two nights. I felt I was with real friends that I'd known for ages, the place really is aptly named as the house of peace, the nature and wildlife are free range around the place and watching the birds on the feeder was special. Breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh produce, fruit and other choices. The tables were laid with flowers. Coming from a long journey from the UK and still stressed with work, the House of Peace was an amazingly healing experience. Love and nature infuse the place - I can't recommend my stay more highly, thank you - and I'll hopefully return in Feb15! Veronica

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms as i booked late and the first room I was in was booked out. I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for about a week in the Tea House. It's close enough to town to be convenient but far enough away that you really get to enjoy the tranquil island nights. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The Tea House has a private bath with a rainfall type shower and separate tub. It was all marble and just beautiful. If you're looking for accommodations that feel more authentic to island life, this is it. That being said, if you're the type to get freaked out by a stray gecko on your wall then you might want to look into those sterile, boring, over priced hotels nearer to the dock. Great experience. We absolutely plan to stay here on our next trip to the Big Island!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the privacy of the Tea House. It has it's own bathroom and parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hale Maluhia is an eclectic group of Japanese style buildings interspersed with extensive lightly-shaded rock constructions and small pools, most of which filled with water hyacinth, and waterfalls, plus numerous pieces of cast-iron garden furniture and oriental knick-knacks. The entire area had a light dusting of delightful, small, dry, golden leaves creating an almost ethereal presence, fitting the name House of Peace. The location, way up a hill on the mountain side of the highway, was excellent for the airport and Kailua. Some previous TripAdvisor comments complained about the surrounding small road, but we found it no problem; the establishment was very quiet and peaceful (despite a couple of arguing dogs in the distance at night). Our room, the Jasmine room, was in the roof of one of the buildings, with a slanting roof and dormer arrangement, but it was sufficiently tall for us even though we are over 6 feet in height. We chose this room because the two queen beds enabled to my wife and I to stay with our adult daughter who was traveling with us. The self-service breakfast was excellent with fruit, breads, pastries, and make-yourself waffles and omelets with lots of fresh ingredients such as red peppers mushrooms, garlic, tomatoes, ham and cheese. The breakfast was eaten at communal tables on a very pleasant, airy lanai overlooking a small lawn with numerous birds, chickens and a turkey at a feeder on the other side. Following breakfast on the one day Jason (the manager) gave a delightful piano recital in the living room backing up the lanai. So why have I given this only four and not five stars even though we enjoyed our stay? The reasons 1) We found that the lights did not come on immediately when we returned after dark, resulting in our stumbling on the steps and surrounding edges before the lights were triggered by the motion detection system. 2) There was a gap between the shower and vanity in our bathroom that had accumulated quite a lot of dirt and had not been cleaned for a long time; while it was too narrow for a vacuum hose, this could have easily been done by a cloth on a broomstick. 3) My daughter had to depart at 7am and Jason had said that he would put out some fruit for her, but no fruit was available when she left. So overall an interesting and pleasant place to stay, but I hope that the management can pay attention to these little failings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Aloha Gibberellin,
We want to thank you for your really great support for our Inn. As to your constructive comments 1) As per your suggestion we have purchased a new sensor light that will be more immediate. 2.) The small gap between the shower and cabinet has been thoroughly cleaned. 3.) Now 3 is the difficult one as my manager is getting married in June and stuff does seem to fall between the cracks like the special 7 am early breakfast. But he will be bringing his bride home in June and I expect that things like this will no longer be an issue. Next time you are here please get a hold of me if there are any issues and we will address them very quickly. We do so want all of our guests to feel very comfortable and at home in our lovely Inn. Again, thank you for helping us keep our Inn snubbed up to a professional quality. Aloha and Mahalo, Ken<><, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone who wants a very restful and peaceful time. The atmosphere was very tranquil and relaxing. The staff was very helpful and super. The morning Bible Studies that were offered to the staff and for those who wanted to attend were uplifting to the soul. If you are looking for something for body and soul make your way to this secluded spot in Paradise! Ron & Diane

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Kona coffee plantation in comfort with exceptional food (full breakfast buffet and DIY omelet bar, w/ fresh bread baked daily & includes pure Kona coffee) with bird watching, sage advice, friendly prices , Japanese tile/stone spa, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). Five Rooms and two Cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.