We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B in Holualoa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona
Save
You added Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona to your Saves list
76-770 Hualalai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Honokaa, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Lovely little B&B in Holualoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friendly and wonderful hosts, a gorgeous setting in the hills above Kona town, and beautifully maintained landscaping all make Hale Maluhia a delightful retreat. We loved our first night in the Banyan Treehouse Cottage, which has an amazing view from both bed and balcony. Our second night in the Japanese Tea house was even better and we are already planning a return trip with the entire family!

Room Tip: Loved the Japanese Tea House!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Old banyans flanking the path and driveway give a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    47
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
25
129
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed three nights in Hale Maluhia Country in. And we wish we could stay longer. It is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, nice and autentic home for a few days.
Breakfast with the home made bread and cake was wonderful and everything is made fresh. The garden is lovely and you think you are somewhere far away in a secret place but still in town within 5 minutes by car.
We travelled for 6 months around the world and stayed in plenty of guest houses. But we will Keep the Hale Maluhia in Special mind, it was one of the nicest places we have been so far.
Thank you very much for this lovely stay. We hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My two children (8 & 10) and I stayed in the the Tea House Suite. It is a Japanese style octagon shaped suite with shoji sliding doors and windows on the top of the property. It is nestled under a huge banyan tree and you can look out over the lower areas of the B&B, including the library, kitchen and breakfast area. For us this was a magical place and great for the kids to explore the chickens, rabbits, and all the little steps and levels of the garden. The suite had a queen size bed and a futon could be added on the floor. It was spacious and airy. We opened all the shoji sliding windows and air was flowing through the screened windows. The bathroom was wonderful with a great tub and also spacious.

The library had a large selection of movies for children and families and we watched "Night at the Museum" at the end of our day.

Breakfast in the morning was served on a lovely lanai looking out into part of the garden where we were able to watch the birds, turkeys and chickens coming for their morning feeding. There were little water fountains in the garden and it was very beautiful. The buffet had a great selection of fruit, pastries, homemade bread, jams and cereals. There was a do-it-yourself station for waffles and omelets. The eggs and all the fruits were fresh from the B&B's own chickens and gardens.

The B&B is close to Kona town and it is only minutes to drive to Ali'i Drive, the main road with all the restaurants and shops in Kona. Also the Kona Beaches on Ali'i Drive are just as close.

The staff was super friendly and caring. All of them engaged also with the children and we all had a great time. Ken & Sue, the owners, were wonderful and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

First and Foremost. Be careful when trying to locate this establishment if it will be your first time there. Watch the right side mail box numbers carefully as you proceed up Hualalai Rd. and definitely slow down to a crawl, even if people are following you, when you see the 10 MPH sign about 1.5 miles up the windy road because the driveway entrance is on your right just as you get to the middle of that sharp horse-shoe curve.

Second, a few facts. The Inn is on the older side. You can unload your car at the top of the driveway but must park your car at the bottom of the inclined driveway and walk back up to your room. Many birds, chickens and even a few turkeys will grace your presence and provide entertainment while you watch them and enjoy the breakfast seating area. The Inn is very convenient to stay at after landing at the airport or before flying out another day. Breakfast was ready at 8:00 a.m. and there was a large variety of foods that allowed us to serve ourselves and eat at our leisure.

Third, my opinions. The owner, Ken, is a very nice friendly gracious gentleman who wants to make your stay there as enjoyable as possible. Mat and his wife, staff, were eager, friendly and very helpful. The Inn is really quite interesting. I believe we got good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hale Maluhia Country Inn right before Easter 2013. I had booked without reading reviews- then read some negative reviews, but we chanced it and went anyway. I couldn't have been more happily surprised. Every day I would get up early to have real Kona coffee in the garden and watch the birds. The breakfast was great- get their bread recipe! Make your own omlettes with all the possible ingredients at your fingertips. There had been some recent renovations, and everything was in tip-top shape. Talk about a chocolate on your pillow- there was a whole box on our pillow! It was peaceful and mellow- cooler due to a slight elevation- and quieter because it was not right in downtown Kona. We loved it. Thanks to Jason and the others- Carol L.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs corner room- not in the main house. It had been recently renovated and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As someone said in a previous review Not everyone's cup of tea. Though the tea was good.I loved it here and we only spent one night. Met some really nice guests. Whom we saw later around the island. Interesting guests, nice music, great chickens,birds and views. Loved the frogs songs. But that is country living. Much nicer in many ways then the box we are in now with the golf course outside our window and the music blaring at night from the club across the green. I would go back again in a heartbeat. I liked the ambience.

Room Tip: Tight parking area, but it is on a cliff type hill. If you have trouble with stairs ask about lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here after a long flight to the big island and were greeted with warm welcomes. We loved the setting as it was a 18 change from a resort. The breakfast options were yummy. I had still warm from the nest eggs to use for my omelet. The room was clean and comfortable but I did find myself wishing for a cup in the bathroom and soap in the shower. I loved the sounds of frogs as they reminded me of home. Probably the best things about the inn were the bright and interesting people we met that morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Kona coffee plantation in comfort with exceptional food (full breakfast buffet and DIY omelet bar, w/ fresh bread baked daily & includes pure Kona coffee) with bird watching, sage advice, friendly prices , Japanese tile/stone spa, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). Five Rooms and two Cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.