We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona
Save
You added Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona to your Saves list
76-770 Hualalai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I loved this Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

I loved this place. The setting is quite beautiful and the attention to detail is wonderful. The owners are extremely helpful, kind and generous.

I stayed in two different rooms: the Pitaki room which had a small kitchenette which was very nice. The Banyan Cottage is exquisite. It is a very large studio with a king bed set aside and behind curtains which I used while my friend watched TV and used his computer. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and a dolphin tiled shower.

WIFI throughout the entire grounds. They also have chickens and wild turkeys and wonderful birds come to their bird feeder.

The breakfast was large and varied and Ken's homemade bread was an extra treat.

I highly recommend this inn.

Pamela Galadrial

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    47
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
25
129
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CGY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We had a fabulous stay at this little out of the way beautiful B&B.
It was a last minute booking and we were fortunate they had a room. Maybe part of the charm as it seems to be a low volume place, due to low key marketing?

It has all the charm of a little country cottage, old style buildings wood construction, waterfalls, koi ponds and a great breakfast.
It felt gentle easy going and peaceful location. Several rooms of various sizes. Rates were very reasonable give our experience with other places.

Rooms were clean and well maintained. Bathrooms modern and no little corners of webs, dust or rust as in some poorly maintained locations. Beds were excellent.

Bonus that it is centrally located and easy to get to airport on the upper road bypassing all the now almost constant traffic on the 11 highway thru Kona.

There are no expansive grounds, unfortunately the hot tub didn't seem to be working and we had some trouble with the hot water in the Banyan room shower. But easily overlooked details in my opinion.
Traffic which does go around the property due to its location in a hairpin turn, is significantly less now that connector roads are in place between upper communities and the lower highway. But there is occasional racer screaming up and down the hill.

Given our other stays we were very happy with the quality and value for the money. Just quality amenities, food and care, comfortable accomodations without all the extra pools and features that make other places much more expensive. I mean, how much time to do spend in the B&B anyway when in Hawaii!

  • Liked — Charm and cleanliness, price
  • Disliked — Hot Tub not working, shower temp difficult in Banyan room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPilgrim, Ken Smith, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona, responded to this review, February 21, 2008
Our lovely Hot Tub was and is working, only the guest neglected to ask us for the use. The tub is big and solar heated and needs a boost on a cloudy day to come up to the 100 degrees. We are happy to have the tub ready if we know that a guest would like to use the Tub. It takes 1 hour propane to boost the temp. by 6 degrees. We do not keep the tub at 100 degrees all the time as there will be weeks when no one asks to use the Hot Tub.
We sometimes need 3-4 hours to heat the tub on a rainy day. We are very sorry that we did not know in time for our guests to enjoy a good soak, perhaps next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Banyan Cottage for three nights. We had planned our trip at the last minute and really weren't looking for the anonymous large resort experience so were delighted when Ken responded to my email right away. He let me know the cottage was all that was available, and based on other tripadvisor recommendations we jumped at the chance. Despite having seen thumbnail photos, it absolutely exceeded our expectations. For two is it is spacious and charming, and the swing on the lanai and large bath added to the comfort. From the moment we walked in, we didn't want to leave.

Having read all the reviews, we can confirm that the grounds are not a huge acreage, but that's not what we were looking for. Yes, it is nestled at a turn in the road, but it wasn't noisy during our visit at all and we much preferred being off the beaten track while having a short drive to amazing snorkeling (Ken and Sue pointed us in exactly the right direction). Breakfast was delicious and varied, and in beautiful surroundings next to a pretty lawn where small birds such as cardinals, chickens, roosters, and local turkeys would visit. We found the bed totally comfortable and though it's true that the rooster generally woke us in the morning, we would have slept in and missed an early morning boat excursion if it hadn't.

Ken and Sue's hospitality was unobtrusive and extremely accommodating - perfect for a B&B. The first night, the water heater went out, but unlike another reviewer, it didn't seem like much of a problem. We just gave Ken a call and he tended to it within 15 minutes and told us what button to press should it happen again, which it didn't. As much as we wanted to disconnect from email, etc., we had brought our laptop, and the free wifi provided did make it simpler to research and arrange excursions and make reservations that we hadn't planned in advance.

It's true that we are used to NYC prices, but this accommodation seemed like a tremendous value. I registered with tripadvisor just so I could recommend it to anyone looking for a similar low-key, thoroughly enjoyable time away from the resort scene.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

The Bed and Breakfast grounds and buildings were very clean, in wonderful repair. The hosts were gracious and the food was delicious.

I have never been treated so wonderfully. I felt like family. I will go there again when I go back to the Big Island.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Date Dec 16 2007
We have just return from a trip to Hawaii visiting 4 islands staying in 3 in B&B inns. Our stay in Hale Maluhia was the most pleasant stay as we enjoined the beautiful place and the pleasant hospitality of the Smiths. I don't think we will be able to make another trip to Hawaii as it is far away (and expensive) but if I do, Hale Maluhia will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrvill Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed five nights at the inn. Every one was very nice, quiet and comfortable. The owner was always very helpful and the breakfast buffet was wonderful and the view from the lanai of the birds and the plants at the water fountain was great. One morning we had some White Pineapple and it was fantastic. The room was very nice and clean. We had reserved a room that was not available because of repairs so the owner gave us a more expensive one at the same price. We would highly recommend this inn.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Not conducive to walking around in the area because of no sidewalks
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

A special treat to stay at the Hale Maluhia Country Inn in Kona,
Hawaii. We enjoyed visiting with the owner, Ken, and hearing about the Big Island. Our room was exceptionally well decorated and this owner built home had all of the extra's for guests. The woodwork in the home was fabulous and lanai overlooking lush, landscaped grounds made for a peaceful setting. It was a relaxing time over a homemade bread/fruit breakfast and in good company. I would recommend this B&B anytime.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Kona coffee plantation in comfort with exceptional food (full breakfast buffet and DIY omelet bar, w/ fresh bread baked daily & includes pure Kona coffee) with bird watching, sage advice, friendly prices , Japanese tile/stone spa, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). Five Rooms and two Cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.