We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Any Room
Ranked #1 of 12 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and personalised service, I really enjoyed talking to Wendi and Dave who were great and the other guests were all lovely too. The breakfast is fantastic and something different every day. Anything you could want throughout your stay or for an activity is there. I had help with tours that I had issues with and was given lifts into town as I didnt drive. :)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
368
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not since we B&B'd our way along South Africa's Garden Route in 2004, have we experienced anything that remotely approaches the standards of care,cuisine,hospitality and ambience you will find here.
But they have put our Garden Route travels in the shade, and we find it difficult to imagine how anyone could do better.
It's all the extras available to make your stay on Big Island more enjoyable and then there is the fount of local knowledge so freely shared and in such a genuine yet professional way.
So what you have read is true and do make this your Kona base. But as one fellow-guest discovered, because of the secluded location you will need a car to make the most of your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nigori Room - comes with carp to feed right outside!
See more room tips
Green Features: Real efforts here for recycling , solar and lighting
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mahalo Team Australia for your nice review of our home. Thanks for mentioning to our future guests about the need for a car. It is called "The Big Island" for a reason.
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the new feature of our Nigori Room. The Japanese Zen Garden and Koi Pond right out side the Nigori bedroom door with the newly added phantom screen door has been a real success. We've added Koi food at the sitting bench so guests can feed the fish when they're sitting and enjoying that special place.

Because we live on an island and we have a great respect for our aina, the Hawaiian word for our land, we do what we can to keep our island healthy and beautiful. We recycle all of our glass, cans and paper products. We've gone solar and have changed our lights to LEDs. We've put most of our common area and landscaping lighting on timers. We now only heat our hot tub in the early evening unless requested otherwise. We appreciate that you appreciate our conservation efforts.

We really had a great time with the 2 of you and are looking forward to your next trip back to our island.
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came as a couple, and when we regretfully left a week later, we were part of a loving and wonderful extended family. Wendi and Dave took us in, wined and dined us, planned excursions for us, made sure we set off with the proper equipment ( chairs, towels snorkel gear, water and snacks) and most importantly, a kiss farewell. This is the most extraordinary B & B we have ever been in, and we have traveled the world. Wendi, Dave, Sonny and Michael - Mahalo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
Green Features: Four trash bins, clearly marked. Lights on timers.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
"Ohana". The Hawaiian word for family. Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and feeling as though you were part of our Ohana. It is our Kuleana, or responsibility to our guests to make them feel at home and to share our magical island with them. We are extremely happy the 2 of you were able to visit Volcano National Park while Pele was do her show of eruption and creating more land before your eyes.
We'll try to have something as spectacular for your next visit to Hawaii.

Mahalo Nui,
David & Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the privilege of hosting a 5 day Transformational Retreat on Joy this March at Honu Kai B&B, and the experience for me, my team and our participants was exceptional. By the end of our Retreat we had a new standard of what a space and a host should be like; Wendy & Dave and Honu Kai are that standard. They anticipated all of our needs and went above and beyond in every way; from sublime breakfasts, to generous help in setting up our space perfectly for the group; outstanding tips for where to go to have fun and the best equipment to boost our experience; the outstanding beauty and serenity of their space and above all with the generosity of spirit and great service they embodied.

Whether you are planning on an Individual or Family Getaway, or hosting a professional Retreat on the Big Island, i cannot imagine a more perfect slice of paradise. I am looking forward to returning again and again. Thank you so much for an incredible week Wendy and Dave! You are missed.

Room Tip: Every room is incredible. I loved the gorgeous shower in the room off the main deck; and my private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kona Dave ensured our comfort and happiness while at his amazing B & B. It really was one of the best places we have stayed on our travels. Breakfast was amazing and Dave will go out of his way to be sure you have a great time. The rooms are spacious and clean and the house/grounds are lovely. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about the Honu Kai Bed and Breakfast says ZEN. From the beautiful landscaping with many water features, to the lovely tinkling of wind chimes and the fragrant flowers, the ambiance of Honu Kai appeals to all the senses. Breakfast is a culinary delight with fresh fruit, pastries and a delicious entree each morning. The owners, Wendi and Dave do everything to make your stay the best experience you've every had. I've never felt so pampered and I loved it. Thanks for a wonderful stay on the Big Island!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Our family, from disparate parts of the globe, spent a long time planning a memorable 3-week vacation in the Hawaiian Islands. Keeping 2 late teens, 2 parents and 2 grandparents happy might have been a challenge but Kauai was truly beautiful and Oahu was fun and had memorable moments, our accommodations in both were fine, but nothing compared to the outstanding hospitality offered to us by Wendi and Dave at Honu Kai, and the delights they led us to on the big island. First impressions as you enter the gate are of beautiful, lush, gardens. Dave and Wendi greeted us graciously and showed us to our beautifully appointed rooms. Each had it's own character, and we
were delighted with the mystical beauty of the Nigori room, with it's attendant deck which my husband and I shared. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home,
despite the unusual setting of lots of twittering birds at the feeder and geckos all around.
Nature surrounded us. The breakfasts were amazing, and everyone different from the last. True gourmet feasts, and as pretty to look at as they were good to eat. There were so many interesting things to do on the island and Wendi and Dave provided us with everything we might possibly need to make each experience comfortable and memorable, also guiding us to sights and points of interest not covered by your average
guidebook. That is a personal touch which they impart with so much humor and grace.
The week flew by so quickly with all the different experiences, each unique in its own way, and the visit to Volcanoes National Park, and the summit of Mauna Kea, unique to
the island itself. On our trip to swim with the dolphins we saw sea turtles, and whales,
and swam not only with dolphins but with several manta rays that came our way. That felt like the jackpot!! All too soon our memorable stay drew to a close and none of us wanted to go! Of the many and varied family vacations we have had, this one tops the
list, both in variety of activities and most especially for the outstanding hospitality that
was extended to us by Wendi and Dave, and the guidance they gave so our experience
would be perfect in each instance. No question that we will be back again as soon as
our lives allow. In the meantime we can dream of the challenging drive up Mauna Kea
in the mist and snow, and the beauty of the clouds in the sunset. A moment of magic
that will never be forgotten. So Mahalo, Wendi and Dave, thank you for a perfect visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, April 20, 2015
Mahalo Nui Wendy for your review of our home and our island.
It was so great to be a part of your family's visit to Hawaii. We feel it is our Kuliana, or responsibility, to make sure visitors have the very best experience possible on our island. We are also very happy the family enjoyed our 3 course varied morning breakfasts. We are proud of being one of the few B&B's on the island to have a certified and approved kitchen to serve hot meals which allows us the opportunity to have 14 different breakfast main courses. Unless you stay for more than 2 weeks, you won't have the same thing twice, and you won't go hungry.
A Big Island Aloha to you and the family,
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.