We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a lifetime of wonderful travel experiences, this is Number ONE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Any Room
Ranked #1 of 12 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“In a lifetime of wonderful travel experiences, this is Number ONE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family, from disparate parts of the globe, spent a long time planning a memorable 3-week vacation in the Hawaiian Islands. Keeping 2 late teens, 2 parents and 2 grandparents happy might have been a challenge but Kauai was truly beautiful and Oahu was fun and had memorable moments, our accommodations in both were fine, but nothing compared to the outstanding hospitality offered to us by Wendi and Dave at Honu Kai, and the delights they led us to on the big island. First impressions as you enter the gate are of beautiful, lush, gardens. Dave and Wendi greeted us graciously and showed us to our beautifully appointed rooms. Each had it's own character, and we
were delighted with the mystical beauty of the Nigori room, with it's attendant deck which my husband and I shared. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home,
despite the unusual setting of lots of twittering birds at the feeder and geckos all around.
Nature surrounded us. The breakfasts were amazing, and everyone different from the last. True gourmet feasts, and as pretty to look at as they were good to eat. There were so many interesting things to do on the island and Wendi and Dave provided us with everything we might possibly need to make each experience comfortable and memorable, also guiding us to sights and points of interest not covered by your average
guidebook. That is a personal touch which they impart with so much humor and grace.
The week flew by so quickly with all the different experiences, each unique in its own way, and the visit to Volcanoes National Park, and the summit of Mauna Kea, unique to
the island itself. On our trip to swim with the dolphins we saw sea turtles, and whales,
and swam not only with dolphins but with several manta rays that came our way. That felt like the jackpot!! All too soon our memorable stay drew to a close and none of us wanted to go! Of the many and varied family vacations we have had, this one tops the
list, both in variety of activities and most especially for the outstanding hospitality that
was extended to us by Wendi and Dave, and the guidance they gave so our experience
would be perfect in each instance. No question that we will be back again as soon as
our lives allow. In the meantime we can dream of the challenging drive up Mauna Kea
in the mist and snow, and the beauty of the clouds in the sunset. A moment of magic
that will never be forgotten. So Mahalo, Wendi and Dave, thank you for a perfect visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
362
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was a magical place, Wendi and Dave provided an excellent menu and the variety of fresh fruits and a main course that is every chefs pleasure. We woke to the sounds of birds and watched the geckos eating their breakfast of sweet jam. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and our beds were very comfortable, we stayed seven days and everyday we went and participated in different activities the island offered. We loved the visit and hike on the crater of a volcano Kilauea, the summit at Mauna Kea observatory, waterfalls my favorite and snorkelling at all the lovely beaches and finally swimming with the dolphins!! Fantastic!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is so much magic at Honu Kai that it is hard to know where to begin when sharing about this gorgeous B&B.

- Property: Lush, beautifully manicured and intimately secluded, the peaceful energy of this space will make you forget how close you are to all that Kona has to offer. It took us roughly 8 - 15 minutes to get anywhere we needed to be. Also private bathrooms!! Yay!

- Hospitality: Wendi and Kona Dave exude hospitality, care and the true meaningful definition of Aloha. They are welcoming, completely resourced (all I had to do was think it and it was handled) and gracious, not to mention interesting and funny. They prepare breakfasts that are so pretty you don't want to eat them, but so good that you soon get over that. Plus Dave might be the best bartender on the island - his Mai Tai is perfection.They also give great tips on hidden beaches and other must-try excursions.

-Professionalism - Wendi and I corresponded for roughly a year before my visit as I was scheduling a retreat (that was beautifully supported) here. She was always timely, giving and patient with her communication (and my 1,000 questions.) Booking Honu Kai was literally the best decision we could have made - the retreat would not have been the same without the amazing, generous space and without Wendi and Dave's loving, supportive help and energy. Truly, I want to clone them and bring them to every retreat venue.

My mother and I love B&B's and have stayed in many from coast to coast. I have never experienced as much loving care, attention to detail and special touches as I have at Honu Kai. I will be back for future retreats and to bring my family to experience this one of a kind, magical space.

Tip: Do not stay anywhere else :)

Room Tip: Nigori room has a beautiful secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wendi and Dave made our one week stay one of the best weeks I have ever experienced. Mahalo!

The B&B is beautiful from the dining area on the veranda overlooking an innovative garden to the spacious rooms with ensuites. The breakfasts are absolutely incredible, very inventive and tastey, worth waking up for and I'm not a morning person.

The owners are very knowledgeable on the big island, both its history and attractions. They send you off on reccomended trips with directions, information and equipment (at no extra charge) and then greet you with the much needed after sun at the end of the day!

You are made to feel very welcomed into their home and to the island, so that the experience is everything you dreamed of.

-DG

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I concur in the glowing recommendations of other guests. Wendi and Dave are wonderful hosts, and we have stayed in many B&Bs in US and Europe. This is a setting that encourages guests to mingle, so if you are looking to be alone you may have to work at it. It is also a car ride from almost everything, though not more than 10-15 minutes to whatever you need.

Room Tip: best to call to review the choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Honu Kai is definitely a cosy and friendly place,with a beautiful and well kept garden around it.Our room(Nigori) had all the comforts one needs and a very good bed ,the breakfast was substantial .But what makes the real difference is Wendy (assisted by her friendly husband,an ex-pilot):she is so incredibly knowledgeable about her island and so well organized in organizing the excursions of her guests (Beach mats,beach towels,snorkel gear,detailed maps of where to go and how,cooler...you name it)and truly reflects hawaiian
hospitality.
Not to forget :if (seldom enough)she is not present there is her lovely neighbor who will help you out
We can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dave and Wendi have created a special place at Honu Kai. The property is beautiful, the rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, the food amazing and the hospitality is second to none. It helps when your hosts come from the top strata of travel, entertainment & hospitality backgrounds - add a touch of "Aloha" sprinkled on top and you've got the icing on the cake. This was my first trip to the Big Island and will now be one of many more to come thanks to the warm experience I had at this amazing B&B.

Room Tip: Lanai room is perfect - top floor, private with a deck!
See more room tips
Green Features: I found Honu Kai to have all-around very green practices.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.