We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Any Room
Ranked #1 of 12 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
wien
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Honu Kai is definitely a cosy and friendly place,with a beautiful and well kept garden around it.Our room(Nigori) had all the comforts one needs and a very good bed ,the breakfast was substantial .But what makes the real difference is Wendy (assisted by her friendly husband,an ex-pilot):she is so incredibly knowledgeable about her island and so well organized in organizing the excursions of her guests (Beach mats,beach towels,snorkel gear,detailed maps of where to go and how,cooler...you name it)and truly reflects hawaiian
hospitality.
Not to forget :if (seldom enough)she is not present there is her lovely neighbor who will help you out
We can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
361
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dave and Wendi have created a special place at Honu Kai. The property is beautiful, the rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, the food amazing and the hospitality is second to none. It helps when your hosts come from the top strata of travel, entertainment & hospitality backgrounds - add a touch of "Aloha" sprinkled on top and you've got the icing on the cake. This was my first trip to the Big Island and will now be one of many more to come thanks to the warm experience I had at this amazing B&B.

Room Tip: Lanai room is perfect - top floor, private with a deck!
See more room tips
Green Features: I found Honu Kai to have all-around very green practices.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the Honu Kai B&B was amazing! Dave and Wendi think of everything to make everyone who stays there comfortable and able to enjoy Hawaii Island. The pictures on their website accurately depict the beautiful and comfortable rooms, relaxing common area and peaceful grounds. As mentioned in other reviews, they share detailed information about the island - beaches, dining, day trips, etc., and made sure we had everything we needed before we headed out for the day. We feel very fortunate to have discovered these wonderful people and their beautiful property. We will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at many B&B's around the world and this is one of the best anywhere. Wendi and Dave are gracious hosts of a beautiful property. We stayed in the Nigori Room which was incredibly comfortable. Every time we left on our day's adventure, Wendy or Dave made sure we had snacks, sunscreen, beach chairs or whatever we needed! On our last day, we used their beach club before flying home - what a treat. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the big island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So incredible to truly have the feeling you are revisiting family. We were so lucky to get back to Honu Kai for another wonderful vacation. The Honu Kai family, Wendi, Dave, Soni, Ray and Michael do everything possible to make every guest (new or returning) have the best Hawaii trip and then make it better as only they can. Their knowledge and true love of Aloha shows in all they do. We've been lucky to spend time on 5 Hawaii islands and you get a feeling of relaxation at Honu Kai and the big island you don't get anywhere else. You know all, at least about your accomadations, breakfast-incredible, and every detail about where or what you might want to do or see or eat is handled as if your total satisfaction is the only thing that matters that day. The bedding-so comfortable, the grounds-beautiful and peaceful, the details done to perfection. Trips to where ever (beach, mountain, volcano) and your cooler is packed with liquids, chips, tanning stuff, all that could be needed. Then, after returning, a sit by the fire for good conversation and drink, a soak in the hot tub or peaceful quiet as desired.
You leave, so happy to have visitied and counting the days to get back. The Honu Kai family put all they are into their place, it shows, you can not find a nicer place.

Room Tip: All room fantastic with plusses, we do like the suite with full kitchen and separate sitting/dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Mahalo Jim and Kim for taking the time to write a fantastic review about us. It was great having you back as part of our Ohana, the Hawaiian word for Family. Last time you were here we did not have our fire pit of friendship constructed yet, but we're happy you made it back to enjoy it this time. Next time those cold Minnesota snows begin to fall, think of our warm tropical trade winds blowing the swaying palms against a red sunset and our migrating whales breaching just off shore.

Then pick up the phone and let us know what time you want us to pick you up from the airport!

With Love and Aloha,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you plan to stay on the Big Island reserve a room at the Honu Kai B&B. Wendy and Dave will make your stay very memorable. The rooms are spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The common area is well set up for relaxing and enjoying the sunrise and sunset. Breakfasts are prepared fresh every morning, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! If you have any food allergies or sensitivities they will prepare you with something that will fully satisfy your palate. Wendy and Dave ensure you have all you need for your day trips to the mountain,the beach or wherever you plan to go - even provide you directions for your travels. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Honu Kai. Rated about 5 for a reason!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Mahalo Debbie,
We're very proud of our #5 national rating by TripAdvisor. I would like to say it's just from a lot of hard work, but the truth is having guests like you make it all that much more easier to do. Before our guests venture off on a long day of exploring our magical island, we do like to serve them a nice big 3 coarse breakfast. Special dietary needs, no problem! We're like Burger King, you can have it your way here. We are one of the few B&B's on island that has a certified kitchen to prepare and serve hot meals. We worked hard to get it, and now we do whatever we can to share it.
We look forward to your return visit to our island and to our Honu Kai B&B.
A Big Island Aloha from,
David & Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved this place! In the 30 years we’ve been staying at B&B’s, this one may be our favorite. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, with lots of artful touches all around. Honu Kai’s huge deck is designed for outdoor living, with the breakfast table and an outdoor kitchen. The rest of the deck is ideal for reading, lounging and just hanging out and chatting with the innkeepers and guests around a table-top fire pit! Really cool. The breakfasts are as beautiful to look at as they are delicious to eat. Innkeepers Wendi and “Kona” Dave could not have been warmer or more gracious. They are simply wonderful and they thought of everything to make our stay there incredibly comfortable and fun. We hated leaving when our stay ended. It felt like we were saying good-bye to long-time friends.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mahalo Anna for your nice review of our little slice of paradise called Honu Kai. With your extensive experience in traveling, it's a huge honor to have you acknowledge us as one of the best B&Bs you've stayed at.

The addition of our full outdoor kitchen has been a great success, especially this time of year when guests are coming from areas of the country where cooking and eating outside is more difficult to do with all that cold white stuff on the ground. For those cooler evenings when our temperature dips down into the frigid 60's, our fire pit of friendship is a great place to sit, relax and warm your feet.

Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.