We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Any Room
Ranked #1 of 12 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you plan to stay on the Big Island reserve a room at the Honu Kai B&B. Wendy and Dave will make your stay very memorable. The rooms are spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The common area is well set up for relaxing and enjoying the sunrise and sunset. Breakfasts are prepared fresh every morning, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! If you have any food allergies or sensitivities they will prepare you with something that will fully satisfy your palate. Wendy and Dave ensure you have all you need for your day trips to the mountain,the beach or wherever you plan to go - even provide you directions for your travels. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Honu Kai. Rated about 5 for a reason!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
357
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this place! In the 30 years we’ve been staying at B&B’s, this one may be our favorite. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, with lots of artful touches all around. Honu Kai’s huge deck is designed for outdoor living, with the breakfast table and an outdoor kitchen. The rest of the deck is ideal for reading, lounging and just hanging out and chatting with the innkeepers and guests around a table-top fire pit! Really cool. The breakfasts are as beautiful to look at as they are delicious to eat. Innkeepers Wendi and “Kona” Dave could not have been warmer or more gracious. They are simply wonderful and they thought of everything to make our stay there incredibly comfortable and fun. We hated leaving when our stay ended. It felt like we were saying good-bye to long-time friends.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mahalo Anna for your nice review of our little slice of paradise called Honu Kai. With your extensive experience in traveling, it's a huge honor to have you acknowledge us as one of the best B&Bs you've stayed at.

The addition of our full outdoor kitchen has been a great success, especially this time of year when guests are coming from areas of the country where cooking and eating outside is more difficult to do with all that cold white stuff on the ground. For those cooler evenings when our temperature dips down into the frigid 60's, our fire pit of friendship is a great place to sit, relax and warm your feet.

Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed with Wendi and Dave for 4 nights on a weeklong trip to Hawaii and we just have to reiterate everything said here. You land and feel like you are home. From driving us to the airport to pick up our rental car the morning after we arrived to handing over a sweater for the mountains and hat for the sun to literally lending us cash when the island's power was cut out, I can't imagine a better place to feel taken care of. Our next stop was the St Regis in Kuaui and our joke for the next three days was 'do you think they'll have packed us some snacks? or 'do you think they have snorkel gear for us to just 'borrow'? The truth is that once you've stayed with Wendi and Dave you won't care about having a better view or being right on a beach - you'll want to go 'home'!

For the actual hotel - great location, but you must have a car (for all the big island in general). Rooms are lovely and individual. Breakfast is fantastic.

We have stayed all over the world at places big and small, cheap and fancy and this was one of the absolute most wonderful experiences we have ever had.

Thank you Wendi and Dave! We miss you already!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mahalo for your review of Honu Kai B&B.

The biggest compliment we get is when people say they feel at home staying with friends or family. Most people arrive as guests, but most guests leave feeling like family.

It is our Kuleana, or in English, our responsibility to make sure all visitors to our island have the very best experience possible. We understand that even the best laid plans don't always work out the way you think, and we are here to help you fulfill them. Whether it's driving you to the airport to pick up your rent car, giving you some warm clothes for a Mauna Kea visit, to even lending you money for a nice dinner on the town. We are here to make the difficult easier, and the impossible possible.
Although I really don't like advertising too much the part about lending out money. :)

Mahalo Nui for allowing us to be a part of your family.
David & Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I just spent four wonderful nights at Honu Kai. We went the last week in January to celebrate my birthday. I’m afraid I’m not as eloquent as some of the recent reviewers, but I have to try to relate just how nice this B&B is and how nice your hosts, Dave and Wendi are.

The entire place—rooms, common areas, lawn, hot tub, etc-- is immaculate. The notes people have made about comfortable beds, tasteful rooms, and cool breezes are all accurate descriptions. The morning breakfast is delicious and the presentation is right out of a Michelin 3 star restaurant. Dave is the primary cook and you can tell he really enjoys preparing breakfast.
Dave and Wendi know all of the local restaurants and can give very good advice on where you might want to eat for lunch or in the evening. One night we went to the local Safeway supermarket and brought home steaks, potatoes, and salad. The outdoor kitchen has a great grill. We borrowed a bit of spice from the kitchen and had an excellent meal right there on the lanai. Real plates and real utensils were provided by the B&B.

The place is wonderful, but the things that make this so special are your hosts. Dave and Wendi go out of their way every day to make sure you have plans to do whatever you want even if that is just laying around and reading a book. They loan you coolers packed with ice and water—give you sunscreen –give you a personally prepared guide to the features of the island. Their background is in the hospitality business and they are certainly tops in taking care of their guests. Want to live like a rock star—just stay with Dave and Wendi. Some evening when things calm down, ask your hosts what they did for a living before opening the B&B. Hint- the letters G-V (where the V is a Roman numeral) come into play. They are very interesting people.

The next time my wife and I are back on the big island, we will stay several days at Honu Kai.

Room Tip: All are good. Upstairs rooms might get a little better breeze during warmer weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mahalo Judy for your glowing review of our Honu Kai B&B.
It is our Kuleana, or responsibility, as island hosts to make sure your time on our island is the very best experience you'll have. What better way to start that, then with a good nights sleep and a great 3 course breakfast. We enjoyed sharing the evening with the 2 of you when you decided to take advantage of our out door kitchen to cook those juicy steaks. The addition of the full out door kitchen has been one of the best new features we have added for our guests. After a quick stop at the grocery store, you can cook your own gourmet meal with everything at your disposal and dine in a beautiful outdoor setting. Afterwards, enjoy a glass of wine in front of our fire pit of friendship.
This sounds so good, I think I'd like to stay here!
A Big Island Aloha to both of you,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the beginning of January. We showed up and just wanted to sleep the first night after a long flight. We were welcomed by Wendi and Dave, given directions to a nearby restaurant for dinner, and made to feel at home right away. During our stay, the breakfasts were excellent, although served a little later than what we preferred (none earlier than 8:30). However, the coffee was great (and local), and this was more of the relaxed Hawaii way. The rooms were very comfortable with nice beds. There was no air conditioning in the rooms, but fans were provided and there were large windows to allow the cool night air to flow in. At night, there was an outdoor firepit on the lanai that was shared with the other guests. There was also a grill on the lanai that we used one night, as did each of the other guests (it happened to be one of the guests each night by coincidence). Wendi and Dave went out of there way to get to know the guests and to make sure everyone enjoyed their stay.

The location was better than we had imagined when booking. It is only a few minutes from the heart of Kona and its markets. It was easy to get to the main roads to travel the big island.

The best part about Honu Kai, Wendi, and Dave was after breakfast every morning, they would make sure each guest had plans for the the day along with anything they could possibly need. We were given coolers, snacks, beach towels, snorkel and masks, ice packs, glasses, napkins, plates, utensils, and most importantly, a guide for the part of the island we would visit that day. These guides, prepared by Wendi, were invaluable. They listed the best routes to get there, the best restaurants on the way, stops at beautiful overlooks or beaches, local shops, and where clean restrooms are. These honestly made this one of the best places we have ever stayed on a vacation. They made life easy.

We went on to a very nice, expensive resort for the final three nights of our trip so that we could spend a couple days on a beach without having to drive, park, and unpack. This made us appreciate Honu Kai even more. It was a nice hotel with beautiful grounds and beaches, but the service was horrible. We were treated as though we were a nuisance, especially if we were not spending a lot of money at this fancy resort (see my review of Mauna Lani). Needless to say, we preferred the B & B, but this could be due to our personalities. We really do not like being in touristy places, and Mauna Lani is a tourist trap. Honu Kai had much more of a local island flare.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room and it felt big to us. All seemed to be very nice and upscale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Mahalo for your review and for choosing to stay with us. After a long day of exploring and experiencing our magical island, we like to make our guests feel like they're coming home, and not just coming back to the place they're staying.
We're glad you enjoyed our 3 course breakfasts in which we take great pride in serving everyday, one of our 14 different main courses. As posted, we serve breakfast anytime between 7:30 and 9:00am. It is based on Aloha time, so sometimes a little later, sometimes a little earlier, but always served with Aloha. Because we don't do a self serve banquet style breakfast, many guests will mingle around our fire pit of friendship with other guests talking story. By time they get around to sitting at the table, it's all ready 8:30 Pacific Divine Time!
We're glad you found our beds and rooms comfortable and the temperature to your liking. No one at our elevation has air conditioning as our evening temperatures dip into the mid 50's. Most people don't like it much colder than that.
To make people feel more at home, we have added a full out door kitchen with barbeque, cook top burner, microwave, refrigerator, sink and all the dishes, flat ware, pots and pans that you would find at home. With our average stay being 6 nights, we have many guests who really feel at home when they take advantage cooking in for dinner.
Mahalo Nui for the nice review,
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed at Honu Kai B&B just after Xmas for 3 amazing days. I picked the B&B based on online reviews, including Trip Advisor.

From the moment we arrived, Wendi and Dave proved why all the reviews rated them so high and why they're number 5 B&B in all of US (and 1st in Hawaii, of course). Because they were out when we arrived, they left us a personalized message at the entrance so we could get settled in on our own.

The room was pristine, beautifully appointed and full of personal touches that makes one's stay amazing (incluing munchies, much appreciated). After we went out for dinner and returned later on, Wendi and Dave greeted us as old friends even tho we just met and we spent a wonderful evening on the lanai with complementary alcoholic beverages having great conversations with both our hosts and our guest.

Wendi and Dave provide most amazing breakfast in the morning (banana rum waffles!) where food is plentiful and conversation around the table delightful.

Our hosts know the island inside and out and will provide anything, from beach towels, to coolers, snacks and drinks for any kind of day you wish to have. We were directed to a fantastic lava tube we missed number of times before as well as great beaches to see turtles.

We can't wait to get back to Hawaii and visit with Wendi and Dave again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm glad the both of you enjoyed your Hawaii Christmas with us. I'm sure it was not as white and cold as it was back home in Toronto.
We're very happy your stay with us was more than you thought it would be. We strive to make good,
more better.

Mahalo,
David & wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My wife and I found the best place on the island. The breakfasts are to die for. Not only do they taste out of this world, but their presentation is right out of a five star restaurant. The facilities are top notch and very peaceful and calming. Wendi and Dave have great recommendations for sights to see and know the island like the back of their hands. They have day trips to various sights all planned and even equip you with with the necessities you might need for your adventure We can't wait to go back and spend more than the couple days we experienced with them. Wendi and Dave made us feel like long lost friends and the other guests were just as nice, welcoming, and interesting. Our hosts took better care of us than we could ever have imagined We look forward to our next stay at Honu Kai B&B!.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mahalo Doug for you're review of us.
We have found with most of the people coming to Honu Kai, they all arrive as guests, but most leave feeling like friends or family. That might be why 20% of our stays, are from repeat guests. We'll be looking forward to your return.

Aloha from your new friends on the Big Island,
Wendi and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.