We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Island Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Island Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the beginning of January. We showed up and just wanted to sleep the first night after a long flight. We were welcomed by Wendi and Dave, given directions to a nearby restaurant for dinner, and made to feel at home right away. During our stay, the breakfasts were excellent, although served a little later than what we preferred (none earlier than 8:30). However, the coffee was great (and local), and this was more of the relaxed Hawaii way. The rooms were very comfortable with nice beds. There was no air conditioning in the rooms, but fans were provided and there were large windows to allow the cool night air to flow in. At night, there was an outdoor firepit on the lanai that was shared with the other guests. There was also a grill on the lanai that we used one night, as did each of the other guests (it happened to be one of the guests each night by coincidence). Wendi and Dave went out of there way to get to know the guests and to make sure everyone enjoyed their stay.

The location was better than we had imagined when booking. It is only a few minutes from the heart of Kona and its markets. It was easy to get to the main roads to travel the big island.

The best part about Honu Kai, Wendi, and Dave was after breakfast every morning, they would make sure each guest had plans for the the day along with anything they could possibly need. We were given coolers, snacks, beach towels, snorkel and masks, ice packs, glasses, napkins, plates, utensils, and most importantly, a guide for the part of the island we would visit that day. These guides, prepared by Wendi, were invaluable. They listed the best routes to get there, the best restaurants on the way, stops at beautiful overlooks or beaches, local shops, and where clean restrooms are. These honestly made this one of the best places we have ever stayed on a vacation. They made life easy.

We went on to a very nice, expensive resort for the final three nights of our trip so that we could spend a couple days on a beach without having to drive, park, and unpack. This made us appreciate Honu Kai even more. It was a nice hotel with beautiful grounds and beaches, but the service was horrible. We were treated as though we were a nuisance, especially if we were not spending a lot of money at this fancy resort (see my review of Mauna Lani). Needless to say, we preferred the B & B, but this could be due to our personalities. We really do not like being in touristy places, and Mauna Lani is a tourist trap. Honu Kai had much more of a local island flare.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room and it felt big to us. All seemed to be very nice and upscale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Mahalo for your review and for choosing to stay with us. After a long day of exploring and experiencing our magical island, we like to make our guests feel like they're coming home, and not just coming back to the place they're staying.
We're glad you enjoyed our 3 course breakfasts in which we take great pride in serving everyday, one of our 14 different main courses. As posted, we serve breakfast anytime between 7:30 and 9:00am. It is based on Aloha time, so sometimes a little later, sometimes a little earlier, but always served with Aloha. Because we don't do a self serve banquet style breakfast, many guests will mingle around our fire pit of friendship with other guests talking story. By time they get around to sitting at the table, it's all ready 8:30 Pacific Divine Time!
We're glad you found our beds and rooms comfortable and the temperature to your liking. No one at our elevation has air conditioning as our evening temperatures dip into the mid 50's. Most people don't like it much colder than that.
To make people feel more at home, we have added a full out door kitchen with barbeque, cook top burner, microwave, refrigerator, sink and all the dishes, flat ware, pots and pans that you would find at home. With our average stay being 6 nights, we have many guests who really feel at home when they take advantage cooking in for dinner.
Mahalo Nui for the nice review,
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
354
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Honu Kai B&B just after Xmas for 3 amazing days. I picked the B&B based on online reviews, including Trip Advisor.

From the moment we arrived, Wendi and Dave proved why all the reviews rated them so high and why they're number 5 B&B in all of US (and 1st in Hawaii, of course). Because they were out when we arrived, they left us a personalized message at the entrance so we could get settled in on our own.

The room was pristine, beautifully appointed and full of personal touches that makes one's stay amazing (incluing munchies, much appreciated). After we went out for dinner and returned later on, Wendi and Dave greeted us as old friends even tho we just met and we spent a wonderful evening on the lanai with complementary alcoholic beverages having great conversations with both our hosts and our guest.

Wendi and Dave provide most amazing breakfast in the morning (banana rum waffles!) where food is plentiful and conversation around the table delightful.

Our hosts know the island inside and out and will provide anything, from beach towels, to coolers, snacks and drinks for any kind of day you wish to have. We were directed to a fantastic lava tube we missed number of times before as well as great beaches to see turtles.

We can't wait to get back to Hawaii and visit with Wendi and Dave again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I found the best place on the island. The breakfasts are to die for. Not only do they taste out of this world, but their presentation is right out of a five star restaurant. The facilities are top notch and very peaceful and calming. Wendi and Dave have great recommendations for sights to see and know the island like the back of their hands. They have day trips to various sights all planned and even equip you with with the necessities you might need for your adventure We can't wait to go back and spend more than the couple days we experienced with them. Wendi and Dave made us feel like long lost friends and the other guests were just as nice, welcoming, and interesting. Our hosts took better care of us than we could ever have imagined We look forward to our next stay at Honu Kai B&B!.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the good fortune to spend 5 nights with Wendi & Dave. We selected their B&B based upon TripAdvisor reviews. Everything the reviewers said was true and then some. There are many, many reasons for the outstanding reviews. Wendi & Dave are the perfect hosts. They know what you need before you know what you need. Maps and guides are provided, Umbrellas are provided. Water and snacks are provided. Great restaurant recommendations are provided. Their site seeing recommendations, and directions, were right on. They could not have been more helpful.

Our private room was tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. The room was furnished with all kinds of amenities, more than any uber-deluxe hotel or resort. We were there just before Christmas and on Christmas morning. The house was decorated for the Holiday and Dave got his electric training running around the tree. Christmas morning breakfast was even more delightful than the usual 3 course delight. Champagne and an artfully decorated gift. How nice is that? We felt like we shared Christmas days with friends.

The location is a short drive out of the city and the B&B is located in a secluded area, adding to its charm. There are friendly cats, birds, lizards and other creatures in residence. All are simply darling.

We would be delighted to return to this B&B.

Room Tip: Any room will be outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mahalo Jim & Marry for your Christmas review of Honu Kai.
We enjoy doing Christmas breakfast island style, with champagne and a large side of Aloha.
The 5 nights you stayed seemed to fly by, but we appreciated you staying as long as you did and allowing us that time to share our island with you.
Have a great 2015 and we hope this year finds you back on our island.

Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this b&b on trip advisor and what a jewel of a find. Wendi and Dave have thought of every possible thing you could require and provide it for you. They have detailed information for every tourist attraction, maps, etc. We were flabbergasted at the wonderful breakfasts, not only the variety but the quantity of food. The breakfast will hold you for the whole day. We all received a special treat on Christmas morning when Wendi had decorated the table even more extravagantly than the other mornings. We all received a cute wrapped gift. The trip advisor rating of #1 for this location is very well deserved. You must plan to stay here if you are ever in Kona. Dave will offer you some great recommendations for happy hour at Huggo's on the rocks, the access to the private beach at their condo location in Mauna Lani where we saw the whales breach from our chairs on the beach, "what a thrill". Wendi took care of our dinner reservations for Xmas Eve at Jackie Rey's, the food was terrific. We went on to Maui after our 4 nights in Kona but we should have stayed at Wendi and Dave's for the whole vacation. Definitely can't wait to go back. Don't look at any other B&B, this is "The One"

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's no wonder Honu Kai is rated the #1 B&B on the big island. What a pleasant stay we had! Wendi and Dave are super friendly and hospitable and it was like coming home everyday when we returned to Honu Kai. We were there over Christmas and the house was decorated beautifully. We were even treated with a Christmas ornament the morning of. The B&B is in a lush tropical setting and is quiet and peaceful even though it's only 10 minutes away from the town of Kona, The breakfast lanai area overlooks the garden and is inviting and homey. It has a fridge and grill for anyone who may want to cook up some fresh catch of the day. Wendi and Dave writes each day's guests name on the fridge so we know who's there and where they are from. What a wonderful idea! My fiancee and I stayed in the cottage which was spacious and cozy and private. It has its own lanai sitting area and is clean and well maintained. The cottage also has its own kitchen area. The breakfast, as other guests have noted, is yummy. It is different every morning and prepared with heart and love. It is not only delicious to the taste buds but is also a feast for the eyes.

Wendi and Dave are very relaxed but super helpful hosts. They know the islands well and have thought of anything and everything a traveler to Hawaii could ever want/need. They do not have strict rules about breakfast time which we appreciated. There are "cheat-sheets" and tips prepared for just about any activity one may want to do. They will give you the honest and local opinions on tours and restaurants. They supply coolers, towels, beach chairs for the guests to take as well as snorkeling gear and maps. Wendi was very gracious and packed jackets/gloves/scarves and neck pillows for our Mauna Kea summit tour. She even gave us extra sets for my parents who were staying at different hotel. Our first morning there we had an super early kayaking tour and Dave prepared a wonderful delicious to-go bag for us with a hot breakfast sandwich, yogurt and juice. Truly, they are the most considerate and resourceful hosts we could've asked for and our Kona experience would not have been the same without them.

We had a fully packed itinerary while in Kona and didn't get a chance to really relax and enjoy the B&B which I regret. Next time I'll be sure to have a day to just relax at home! Mahalo Wendi and Dave!

Room Tip: Cottage is spacious and private with an indoor kitchen. Good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Mahalo Vivian,

We couldn't have asked for better guests! It was great having you stay at Honu Kai and letting us be a part of your Hawaii vacation. We are very proud of our #1 rating, but it truly comes from guests like you who allow us to share our knowledge and love of our island. We've got more magical things for you to experience on your next visit.

Hope your New Year is safe and prosperous.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose to stay here because of the high rating on Trip Advisor, and all the wonderful things people have said in the reviews here are true. Wendi and Dave are passionate about the Big Island and love sharing their enthusiasm and expertise with guests. Two of the other couples at the Inn were repeat guests -- one had been there 5 times! -- and it's easy to see why. Wendi and Dave prepared customized itineraries for everyone's different tastes, from snorkeling to a day touring the volcano to exploring Hilo. Not only that, but they supplied us with coolers, snacks, jackets, umbrellas, snorkels, neck pillows, and flashlights! Breakfasts were delicious. Beds very comfortable. Cozy and spacious lanai overlooking beautifully landscaped garden, and everything very clean. While we were there, Honu-Kai was featured in the newspaper, which noted that this B&B is now in Trip Advisor's top 5 nationally. Guests from Canada, Iran, Thailand, Germany, and U.S. East and West, all interesting and friendly. Wendi and Dave exude positive energy and attract it in return. We will be back, like the others!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Mahalo Laura for your review of our Honu Kai B&B.
We are looking forward to having the both of you back and joining the ranks of our many repeat guests returning to the island. It's an honor to have awards, newspaper articles and high ratings, but the biggest honor for us is having guests return to Honu Kai as friends. Guests from all over the world coming to the most remote island chain in the world, is truly an incredible part of what we enjoy sharing.
Have a great New Year and let us know how we can help you plan your return visit to the islands.

A Big Island Aloha from your new friends,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.