We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on the Big Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off thru our website
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Centennial, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B on the Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I have stayed at the Honu Kai, B&B twice. We wouldn’t dream of going elsewhere when in the Kona area. We LOVE this place and here are the reasons why…
1. The owners, Dave & Wendi, are long-time residents of the Big Island, there really isn’t anything they don’t know about the island. Plus they’ve personally done all the excursions so they know what’s good and what isn’t. They're an endless source of information.
2. Dave & Wendi just might be the nicest two people on the planet. You’ll depart as best friends…guaranteed.
3. You’ll save $$ not having to rent boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels, beach umbrella’s and snorkel gear. They have all of it for you to use.
4. The breakfast food is out of this world. So good you won’t need to eat lunch.
5. The Hona Kai is centrally located and easy to get to with shopping and excursions nearby.
6. The rooms are spotless and decorated exceptionally well.
7. Get this, they have a fully equipped outdoor kitchen with frig so you can make your own meals. This is a huge money saver since island restaurants can get pricey.
The Hona Kai gets an “A+” from us.
Marty, Colorado

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
Green Features: Water-efficient bathroom fixtures Education for guests on green practices ENERGY STAR guest room appliances Landscaping designed to minimize flooding Leftover materials (e.g. food) donated or re-used Energy-efficient lightbulbs
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
346
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed for three days at the Honu Kai B&B in Nov/Dec 2014. It was one of the most pleasant stays we have had. Wendy & David go out of their way to make every guest feel like they are part of the family. The many little things they do are too numerous to mention, from packing a cooler with juice, snacks, and water for day trips, to offering a glass of wine in the evenings. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Thank you Wendy & David!!

ps. I'm hungry for more banana rum waffles

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
You'll be happy to know we were thinking of you this morning while serving your favorite Banana Rum Waffles which I picked fresh off our tree this morning. The bananas of course, not the rum!

Mahalo for the compliment about feeling like family, which in Hawaiian is 'Ohana'. Many visitors to Honu Kai arrive as guests, and like you, many of them leave feeling like Ohana.
We hope that when our warm tropical trade winds blow you back to our island, you'll choose to stay with us again.

A Big Island Aloha to you and the family, and have a safe Holiday season. As we say in Hawaiian, Mele Kalikimaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Going to the beach? Here’s your beach mat, beach towel, beach chair ..

Going snorkelling? Please take fins, mask, snorkel, noodle, map of snorkelling area …

Going to the summit of Mauna Kea? You’ll really need neck pillows for the journey back, scarves, bag of trail mix to keep away the munchies …

Just out for the day sightseeing? Why not consider a cool bag and ice block to keep your lunch cool, printed instructions of points of interest in the direction you will be going, and recommendations of where to buy said lunch …

Trust me, if Wendi and Dave haven’t thought of it, you do not need it. The service that this friendly, energetic and enthusiastic couple provide to their guests is beyond measure.

Their knowledge of the island is meticulous; the recommendations of tour operators are faultless (and personal). I’d booked the majority of our activities on the island prior to arrival to ensure we’d fit everything in to our short time, but absolutely used Wendi’s recommendations, and was thoroughly impressed with each one, from hot tubs and massage, to Manta Rays and swimming with dolphins, to ascending Mauna Kea.

The accommodation itself is a lush hideaway, up the hillside behind the town of Kona. Wendi’s orientation included being shown the room, the facilities, a quick lesson in geography and recommendations of how to fill the time we hadn’t squeezed our adventures into as yet.

The room (the Lani Suite) was one of two upstairs, comfortable and again, everything thought of – power adaptors, first aid kit, wine glasses, an extraordinarily comfortable bed. The room was light and airy, with access to the upstairs outside area.

Breakfast was an experience each morning – never the same items twice (unless, apparently, you stay longer than 14 days!), but always a fresh fruit course, followed by a cooked dish, with pastries, muffins, fruit juice and fresh Kona coffee. You are served by Dave, the other half of the dynamic duo, who has tales to tell, and the same passion for their business that Wendi exudes. The meal is enough to tide you through the day regardless of how active you are. As for dinner, well Wendi has many recommendations and can make bookings if required. Of course she can.

If you like, you can eat “at home” – there’s an outdoor kitchen to make you extremely envious, and a fridge shelf for each of the 4 rooms. There’s a large dining table (around which all guest are served breakfast), and a sofa area around an outdoor fireplace that looks like burning volcanic rocks. A great area to spend any time of day. And the gardens that surround the property? Beautiful, green, tropical and a world away from the hot dry landscape that surrounds Kona.

We chose Honu Kai for our trip to celebrate my husband’s milestone birthday, and discovered the place here on Tripadvisor. Everything everyone says is true, and our expectations were still exceeded! We absolutely loved every second of our 4 night stay. It just wasn’t long enough. As Wendi said, Big Island is the “be back” Island, there’s so much left that we didn’t do. We do want to come back, absolutely. And we would without hesitation stay at Honu Kai. So should you.

Mahalo Wendi and Dave :)

Room Tip: Lani Suite is upstairs and had direct access to the upstairs outdoor area. The room is light and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Mahalo Caroline and Peter for your glowing review, and for choosing to stay with us at Honu Kai. Our kuleana, the Hawaiian word for responsibility, is for making sure you have everything at your disposal to make your stay the very best possible. We contribute this to our many years in executive/corporate aviation. David as a pilot for 33 years and Wendi as a Flight Attendant for 17 years. It was a standard corporate policy that if a passenger had to ask for something, we weren't doing our jobs right. We bring that same mind set to our guests at Honu Kai B&B, which ultimately provides to our guests the very best experience on our island.

We're glad you enjoyed your "Breakfast Experience" with us. We are proud to be one of the few B&B's on island with a fully approved and permitted kitchen which allows us to provide our 14 different hot breakfast dishes. We try to provide much more than just a breakfast, we try to provide an island dinning experience using the 'From Garden to Table' method of cooking. Many of our ingredients we use for breakfast, if not from our own property, comes from local farms. For example, our tomatoes are from the Kamuela area and our mushrooms are from the Hamakua Mushroom Farm, which provides an excellent tour into the unique way we grow mushrooms here on our island.

Mahalo once again for allowing us to share our island's secrets with you, and allowing us to be part of Peter's Birthday. We hope our warm tropical trade winds blow you back to our island for another visit.

A Big Island Aloha from
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 9 days at the Honu Kai B&B in the Nigori Suite and we couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable time. The decorations in this property were marvelous, the breakfast superb, and the company fabulous. We are so glad we chose to stay here for our honeymoon. It is always peaceful and zen-like in this B&B after a long day of outdoor activities in Kona. Wendi and Dave really are amazing host who taught us the meaning of true aloha in hawaii. It comes at no surprise that this B&B is number 1 in tripadvisor. Also, ask them for help to customize your daily activities on the Big Island.
Aloha!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We like doing Honeymoons at Honu Kai B&B, we do Honeymoons the island way, with lots of Hawaiian Aloha!
Mahalo Nui for your nice review of our little island B&B, and most of all for choosing to stay at Honu Kai and sharing your special time with us.

We enjoy sharing our island and being your personal concierge to help you plan and maximize your time here on Hawaii. We know your 9 days with us went by very quickly, but we are glad you gave our island the time it deserves. It is called, "The Big Island" for a reason.

From Hawaii to Singapore, Mahalo and a Big Island Aloha from
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This was our first experience staying in a B&B and we were pleasantly surprised with our experience. Dave and Wendy have set the bar high in terms of what we would expect from other B&B's in the future. On arrival, we were greeted by Dave who offered us a drink before showing us to our room which was the Nigori Suite. The suite itself was very roomy, comfortable and tastefully decorated. I was impressed with the fine touches such as the placement of flowers and other subtleties throughout the suite. The bed was very comfortable and the room afforded both darkness and quietness for sleeping in.

The deck attached to the home is incredible and overlooks a beautifully maintained garden as well as the surrounding grounds. It also provides a comfortable area to sit and relax in as well as a large area to dine at breakfast. Entertainment is provided in the form of birds and geckos feasting on their morning provisions while under the watchful eye of the ever vigilant house cat. The breakfast provided was outstanding and more than what we ever expected.

Dave and Wendy were a great source of information regarding what to do and see. We chose to go to several beaches during our three night stay and on each excursion, we were provided with towels, snorkel, mask and flippers and a day pack which included water and snacks. On our day of departure, Wendy provided us with a worthwhile list of things to see on our way to Volcano.

Dave and Wendy are gracious hosts and I would highly recommend their B&B to anyone looking for one to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Mahalo for your review and for choosing us to be your first B&B experience. We hope your next B&B stay will be as memorable as the one you had with us. We find more travelers staying at B&Bs to get the most from staying with locals who care and can help make a vacation exceptional. Thanks for noticing the "fine touches" we provide. We believe it's the small things that make a big difference. We take a lot of pride in our comfortable beds and our gourmet breakfasts, after all we are a "Bed and Breakfast", and not a shack and a snack!
We hope our warm tropical trade winds blow you back to our island again from Vancouver, and you choose to stay with us again.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We found Honu Kai through Tripadvisor where it boasts the best reviews you're ever likely to see. Wendy and Dave run a charming B&B set in a beautifully maintained Hawaiian garden paradise. The breakfasts were delicious, varied, and gigantic. The rooms we saw were all beautiful. We stayed in the Nigori suite, which might house the most comfortable bed ever manufactured. In the common space is an outdoor kitchen and BBQ grill for those like myself who like to stay in every so often and do some grilling after a busy day of Big Island adventures.

Great beds and great breakfasts are alone would make Honu Kai one of the best places to stay while in Hawai'i, but what really takes it into can't miss territory are its owners Wendi and Dave. Wendi and Dave want to make your vacation perfect. They have extensive knowledge of all the sites and tours on the island and love suggesting the best options for your adventures. Wendi has binders of info categorized into different regions of the island that detail what's around, so you know where to stop along the road to your final destination. If you're going to the beach they'll bring out chairs, snorkels, towels, boogey boards, snacks, and drinks if you'd like. What Wendi and Dave do isn't as impressive as HOW they do it. You'll feel like you're staying at the home of old friends or family. They genuinely enjoy their guests and you'll enjoy Honu Kai so much that once you leave, you'll start planning your next trip back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Aloha Matthew and Carly,
Thanks for the glowing review and the thoughtful gift you gave us. Getting great reviews is easy when you attract great guests from all over the world like the two of you.

The addition of our full outdoor kitchen has really added a new dimension for our guests which we never expected. So many guests now choose the option to stay home and cook, enjoying a great dinning experience in the beautiful outdoors on our expansive lanai. Something most people who are traveling in the Winter from a cold climate can't do at home that time of year.

Saying you felt at home staying with us, is the biggest compliment you can give. All of our visitors arrive as guests, but many leave feeling like they're Ohana, the Hawaiian word for family. We hope you come back to the island in the not too distant future, to visit your new Ohana and your new island home.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We first arrived a little early as we had to leave our previous B&B. As we walked up the owners Wendi and Dave greeted us as old friends and allowed us to put our bags near the room while it was being cleaned. When we returned the bags had been placed in the room and we were ready to go.

The room was of a good size and everything one needs. There were good blackout drapes to help with sleeping. I would of like to have AC but there was an additional fan and the room temp was kept down to a good level.

The grounds are a tropical paradise. You get to sit on the large deck and just take in all the birds and the trees and flowers. The deck is also a good place to sit and talk with other guests. Also on the deck is a large fridge to supply ice and keep your own perishables.

The breakfasts were a work of art and very tasty. Probably one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in being at over 50 B&B's

Wendi and Dave are very personable and I had a couple of long conversations about the island and life with Wendi. This is where Honu Kai really shines-the quality and devotion of ownership-simply the best.

Do yourself a favour (notice the "U" might be Canadian) and just stay here. ALOHA

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
We're very honored to get such a great review from such a Top Contributor of TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us to be recognized by someone with so much travel experience. We contribute our commitment to excellence from the many years we worked in Corporate Aviation, where if a passenger had to ask you for something, it meant you weren't doing your job right.

Mahalo for mentioning our gourmet breakfast dinning experience. We are proud to be one of the few B&B's on the island which has a certified and permitted kitchen from which we are able to prepare and serve you every morning, one of our 14 different breakfast dishes.

Sharing and making your time on our island the very best possible is our Kuleana, the Hawaiian word for responsibility. We take this very seriously and do it not just because we want you to have a good time, but because we want you to return to our island.

Come visit Honu Kai and allow us to share this magical place with you.
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.