We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it’s not been thought of, you don’t need it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off thru our website
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“If it’s not been thought of, you don’t need it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Going to the beach? Here’s your beach mat, beach towel, beach chair ..

Going snorkelling? Please take fins, mask, snorkel, noodle, map of snorkelling area …

Going to the summit of Mauna Kea? You’ll really need neck pillows for the journey back, scarves, bag of trail mix to keep away the munchies …

Just out for the day sightseeing? Why not consider a cool bag and ice block to keep your lunch cool, printed instructions of points of interest in the direction you will be going, and recommendations of where to buy said lunch …

Trust me, if Wendi and Dave haven’t thought of it, you do not need it. The service that this friendly, energetic and enthusiastic couple provide to their guests is beyond measure.

Their knowledge of the island is meticulous; the recommendations of tour operators are faultless (and personal). I’d booked the majority of our activities on the island prior to arrival to ensure we’d fit everything in to our short time, but absolutely used Wendi’s recommendations, and was thoroughly impressed with each one, from hot tubs and massage, to Manta Rays and swimming with dolphins, to ascending Mauna Kea.

The accommodation itself is a lush hideaway, up the hillside behind the town of Kona. Wendi’s orientation included being shown the room, the facilities, a quick lesson in geography and recommendations of how to fill the time we hadn’t squeezed our adventures into as yet.

The room (the Lani Suite) was one of two upstairs, comfortable and again, everything thought of – power adaptors, first aid kit, wine glasses, an extraordinarily comfortable bed. The room was light and airy, with access to the upstairs outside area.

Breakfast was an experience each morning – never the same items twice (unless, apparently, you stay longer than 14 days!), but always a fresh fruit course, followed by a cooked dish, with pastries, muffins, fruit juice and fresh Kona coffee. You are served by Dave, the other half of the dynamic duo, who has tales to tell, and the same passion for their business that Wendi exudes. The meal is enough to tide you through the day regardless of how active you are. As for dinner, well Wendi has many recommendations and can make bookings if required. Of course she can.

If you like, you can eat “at home” – there’s an outdoor kitchen to make you extremely envious, and a fridge shelf for each of the 4 rooms. There’s a large dining table (around which all guest are served breakfast), and a sofa area around an outdoor fireplace that looks like burning volcanic rocks. A great area to spend any time of day. And the gardens that surround the property? Beautiful, green, tropical and a world away from the hot dry landscape that surrounds Kona.

We chose Honu Kai for our trip to celebrate my husband’s milestone birthday, and discovered the place here on Tripadvisor. Everything everyone says is true, and our expectations were still exceeded! We absolutely loved every second of our 4 night stay. It just wasn’t long enough. As Wendi said, Big Island is the “be back” Island, there’s so much left that we didn’t do. We do want to come back, absolutely. And we would without hesitation stay at Honu Kai. So should you.

Mahalo Wendi and Dave :)

Room Tip: Lani Suite is upstairs and had direct access to the upstairs outdoor area. The room is light and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
343
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 9 days at the Honu Kai B&B in the Nigori Suite and we couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable time. The decorations in this property were marvelous, the breakfast superb, and the company fabulous. We are so glad we chose to stay here for our honeymoon. It is always peaceful and zen-like in this B&B after a long day of outdoor activities in Kona. Wendi and Dave really are amazing host who taught us the meaning of true aloha in hawaii. It comes at no surprise that this B&B is number 1 in tripadvisor. Also, ask them for help to customize your daily activities on the Big Island.
Aloha!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, yesterday
We like doing Honeymoons at Honu Kai B&B, we do Honeymoons the island way, with lots of Hawaiian Aloha!
Mahalo Nui for your nice review of our little island B&B, and most of all for choosing to stay at Honu Kai and sharing your special time with us.

We enjoy sharing our island and being your personal concierge to help you plan and maximize your time here on Hawaii. We know your 9 days with us went by very quickly, but we are glad you gave our island the time it deserves. It is called, "The Big Island" for a reason.

From Hawaii to Singapore, Mahalo and a Big Island Aloha from
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first experience staying in a B&B and we were pleasantly surprised with our experience. Dave and Wendy have set the bar high in terms of what we would expect from other B&B's in the future. On arrival, we were greeted by Dave who offered us a drink before showing us to our room which was the Nigori Suite. The suite itself was very roomy, comfortable and tastefully decorated. I was impressed with the fine touches such as the placement of flowers and other subtleties throughout the suite. The bed was very comfortable and the room afforded both darkness and quietness for sleeping in.

The deck attached to the home is incredible and overlooks a beautifully maintained garden as well as the surrounding grounds. It also provides a comfortable area to sit and relax in as well as a large area to dine at breakfast. Entertainment is provided in the form of birds and geckos feasting on their morning provisions while under the watchful eye of the ever vigilant house cat. The breakfast provided was outstanding and more than what we ever expected.

Dave and Wendy were a great source of information regarding what to do and see. We chose to go to several beaches during our three night stay and on each excursion, we were provided with towels, snorkel, mask and flippers and a day pack which included water and snacks. On our day of departure, Wendy provided us with a worthwhile list of things to see on our way to Volcano.

Dave and Wendy are gracious hosts and I would highly recommend their B&B to anyone looking for one to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mahalo for your review and for choosing us to be your first B&B experience. We hope your next B&B stay will be as memorable as the one you had with us. We find more travelers staying at B&Bs to get the most from staying with locals who care and can help make a vacation exceptional. Thanks for noticing the "fine touches" we provide. We believe it's the small things that make a big difference. We take a lot of pride in our comfortable beds and our gourmet breakfasts, after all we are a "Bed and Breakfast", and not a shack and a snack!
We hope our warm tropical trade winds blow you back to our island again from Vancouver, and you choose to stay with us again.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found Honu Kai through Tripadvisor where it boasts the best reviews you're ever likely to see. Wendy and Dave run a charming B&B set in a beautifully maintained Hawaiian garden paradise. The breakfasts were delicious, varied, and gigantic. The rooms we saw were all beautiful. We stayed in the Nigori suite, which might house the most comfortable bed ever manufactured. In the common space is an outdoor kitchen and BBQ grill for those like myself who like to stay in every so often and do some grilling after a busy day of Big Island adventures.

Great beds and great breakfasts are alone would make Honu Kai one of the best places to stay while in Hawai'i, but what really takes it into can't miss territory are its owners Wendi and Dave. Wendi and Dave want to make your vacation perfect. They have extensive knowledge of all the sites and tours on the island and love suggesting the best options for your adventures. Wendi has binders of info categorized into different regions of the island that detail what's around, so you know where to stop along the road to your final destination. If you're going to the beach they'll bring out chairs, snorkels, towels, boogey boards, snacks, and drinks if you'd like. What Wendi and Dave do isn't as impressive as HOW they do it. You'll feel like you're staying at the home of old friends or family. They genuinely enjoy their guests and you'll enjoy Honu Kai so much that once you leave, you'll start planning your next trip back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha Matthew and Carly,
Thanks for the glowing review and the thoughtful gift you gave us. Getting great reviews is easy when you attract great guests from all over the world like the two of you.

The addition of our full outdoor kitchen has really added a new dimension for our guests which we never expected. So many guests now choose the option to stay home and cook, enjoying a great dinning experience in the beautiful outdoors on our expansive lanai. Something most people who are traveling in the Winter from a cold climate can't do at home that time of year.

Saying you felt at home staying with us, is the biggest compliment you can give. All of our visitors arrive as guests, but many leave feeling like they're Ohana, the Hawaiian word for family. We hope you come back to the island in the not too distant future, to visit your new Ohana and your new island home.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We first arrived a little early as we had to leave our previous B&B. As we walked up the owners Wendi and Dave greeted us as old friends and allowed us to put our bags near the room while it was being cleaned. When we returned the bags had been placed in the room and we were ready to go.

The room was of a good size and everything one needs. There were good blackout drapes to help with sleeping. I would of like to have AC but there was an additional fan and the room temp was kept down to a good level.

The grounds are a tropical paradise. You get to sit on the large deck and just take in all the birds and the trees and flowers. The deck is also a good place to sit and talk with other guests. Also on the deck is a large fridge to supply ice and keep your own perishables.

The breakfasts were a work of art and very tasty. Probably one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in being at over 50 B&B's

Wendi and Dave are very personable and I had a couple of long conversations about the island and life with Wendi. This is where Honu Kai really shines-the quality and devotion of ownership-simply the best.

Do yourself a favour (notice the "U" might be Canadian) and just stay here. ALOHA

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We're very honored to get such a great review from such a Top Contributor of TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us to be recognized by someone with so much travel experience. We contribute our commitment to excellence from the many years we worked in Corporate Aviation, where if a passenger had to ask you for something, it meant you weren't doing your job right.

Mahalo for mentioning our gourmet breakfast dinning experience. We are proud to be one of the few B&B's on the island which has a certified and permitted kitchen from which we are able to prepare and serve you every morning, one of our 14 different breakfast dishes.

Sharing and making your time on our island the very best possible is our Kuleana, the Hawaiian word for responsibility. We take this very seriously and do it not just because we want you to have a good time, but because we want you to return to our island.

Come visit Honu Kai and allow us to share this magical place with you.
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wendi and Dave made our too-brief two night stay more than memorable. We arrived late and were welcomed with open arms. Our room was lovely with hospitable touches and a more-than-comfortable bed. Breakfasts were delicious, with great conversations with interesting fellow guests. Wendi not only had printed activity suggestions and directions, but then she and Dave packed us a bag with drinks and snacks for our drive. They also have beach and snorkeling gear for guests to use. We didn't have time to relax on the inviting lanai, but did get to feed the geckos and eat with the birds. It was like staying with great friends. We will definitely stay with them again, and recommend them to anyone visiting Kona, even for a brief stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Making delicious breakfasts, great conversation and memorable vacations is what we serve up here at Honu Kai Bed & Breakfast! Mahalo Margaret for your big review of your short stay with us. Now that you have a taste of what we serve here, maybe next time we can have you stay longer so we can really spoil you and make it even harder for you to leave.

Hoping the warm memories of our island will keep you warm through your cold Michigan winter.
Mahalo,
David & Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon in Kona. We stayed here for 5 nights and we were absolutely blown away. Best B&B I have ever stayed at hands down. The property is gorgeous, romantic, tropical and calming. As soon as you drive up you feel like you're in another world. Wendi & Dave are the best hosts. They prepared 3 course breakfasts every morning. We never had the same breakfast twice. Lots of fresh fruit from their trees, baked goods, great Kona coffee, you name it. Breakfast was truly to die for. We got so excited every morning just waiting to see what we were going to be served. Their hospitality is top notch and they had great recommendations too. Any gear you need they have, snorkels, beach bags, beach towels, snacks, boogie boards, etc. They really made our honeymoon so special and memorable. Please do not waste your time at a resort or hotel. You will love it here and will plan on returning!! We miss them already!

Room Tip: any room is great but we stayed on the second floor and it felt like we were in the tree tops. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.