We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly retreat in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Save Saved
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off thru our website
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Heavenly retreat in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wendi and Kona Dave have created a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing retreat where you can truly wind down and escape the daily grind. If however you want action, excitement or adventure, they have all the information to hand to help you arrange whatever you want, from the best things to see and do to the best places to eat. The breakfasts are indulgent, generous and gorgeous and can be made "to go" if you have an early start. The rooms are very comfortable and there are facilities to BBQ if you don't feel like going out at night. Big Island is a fascinating place to visit but is made all the better with the help of Wendi and Kona Dave.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mahalo Nui Loa for your excellent review of our Big Island home and for being the 400th reviewer of Honu Ki Bed & Breakfast. We are honored and proud of the achievements we've made in the 6 years we've been operating as a B&B, and we have our many excellent guests to thank for helping us achieve our excellent status with TripAdvisor. The Big Island is a fascinating place to visit and we are here to help make it more enjoyable and interesting for the many guests who come to visit her. We're glad you enjoyed and made use of our out door kitchen, which includes not only the barbeque, but a cook top, refrigerator, microwave and a double sink, all incorporated in beautiful granite counter tops. Because our average stay at the B&B is 5 nights, we decided to add this large feature for our guests so they may have the option of cooking at home and eating outside surrounded by our beautiful landscaping. We look forward to our warm tropical trade winds blowing you back to our magical island.
A Big Island Aloha to the both of you,
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
330
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 8 nights at the Mauna Lani Golf Villa Condo and this was just wonderful! The condo is fully equipped not only with everything you need in the house but also with fun-articles for the beach.
The rooms are beautifully furnished and you feel at home instantly. It's a quiet refuge where you love to come back after an eventful day. Unfortunately we didn't see much of Dave and Wendi since the condo isn't just around the corner from the main B&B. We met Dave at our arrival and liked him at once. He gave us a very warm welcome. With the information Wendi provided prior to our arrival we felt well prepared and could make plans in advance.
Unfortunately we could not enjoy the highly praised breakfast because the condo is a self-catering apartment miles away from the B&B.

The condo is located ideally to make trips to the most interesting places (except volcano NP which is too far away for a comfortable day-trip).
Mauna Kea is easy to reach since they built a new road which is a shortcut of the old “Saddle Road”. If you go there, don't forget very warm clothing, even if you want to stop only at the visitor center and not go to the top. The sky is amazing at night and at the visitor center you get great star gazing opportunities by the provided telescopes.
The north and Waipio Valley are also within a comfortable driving distance.

The beach is within a two-minute-drive from the condo and since the main beach access is private, it is not crowded, very neat and has everything necessary for a great beach time. Snorkeling to the corals with colorful fish and turtles is great fun for the whole family and you have to swim only a few yards to immerge into a wonderful ecosystem. We couldn't get enough of it. The sand is white and smooth. The Beach-club restaurant serves high-end food for an affordable price.
All in all Wendi's and Dave's place is truly the number one. Whenever we'll come back to Hawaii, Honu Kai B&B is the place we want to stay on Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mahalo Charlotte for reviewing our Sister Property, the condo at the exclusive Mauna Lani Resort. We purchased this property not as an investment nor as a rental property, but as our home which we lived in until we purchased the Bed & Breakfast. We left our condo home just as it was when we lived there, so guests staying at our condo fell more like at home than they do in a rental unit. Although we are not golfers, our condo is located on the 4th golf tee of the Mauna Lani South course. We purchased here because of the access to the Homeowners Private Beach and Beach Club, which we also give our B&B guests access to. This is truly one of the prettiest little white sand beaches on the island, and having the cabanas, restaurant / bar and great snorkeling just makes it all that much more better. Looking forward to having the 4 of you back to Hawaii, and Mahalo again for choosing to stay with us.
A Big Island Aloha from Wendi & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish we could give Dave and Wendy 10 stars. We have stayed in fine hotels and b &bs around the world but this was by far the very best. We spent 6 wonderful nights here. Each day we had a completely different absolutely delicious breakfast but you can get that lots of places. We had a very pretty, absolutely spotless comfortable room but that is also found other places. What no one else has is Wendy and Dave. They absolutely have pampering their guests down to science. Each day they ask what your plans are and then have information and all supplies you didn't even know you needed. Going on a hike- you leave with a cooler including an ice pack and snacks. Snorkeling- towells and a stupendously awesome breakfast to go. We frequently travel with another couple. We emailed them about our "find". The day we reported that we left for the sunset tour on Mauna Kea with a bag full of parkas , gloves, hats, scarfs, flashlights, snacks and neck pillows for the ride home our friend's response was "now your just making this stuff up ". But it is all true. Wendy and Dave are what make this the only place you should consider staying on the big island. They are truly delightful people who welcome you into their home. We used their beautiful ourdoor kitchen with bbq several nights. They will tell you the best places to get high quality ingredients and have everything you need to make a meal. So nice to not have to eat in restaurants in the middle of a long trip. There were other couples that cooked and it was nice to share food and conversation. Wendy and Dave were always there to join in the fun. This was like staying with old friends. We will miss the Honu Kai and its fabulous innkeepers. We will be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The four of us (two couples) had a wonderful stay at Honu Kai B & B. The rooms and beds were comfortable, and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable visit to the Big Island. It is very quant with the Hawaiian décor, and the landscaping was breathtaking. My only very slight issue was the lack of A/C which we never really needed because the ceiling fan combined with the huge breezes kept us pretty comfortable; nevertheless, I have to admit that we are wimpy enough where there were a few times A/C would have made us somewhat more comfortable due to the humidity after heavy rains. But the food was good and the owners were outstanding, and I recommend it to get the taste of Hawaiian living you cannot possibly get in a hotel or resort. If you stay there, you will very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mahalo for taking the time to review our Honu Kai B&B, and we're very sorry you had less than an excellent time with us. Unfortunately when you were visiting us we did have warmer than normal temperatures due to the high humidity caused by the unseasonal rains. Normally at our elevation of a 1000 feet, the Summer to Fall months give us afternoon temperatures in the low 80's and evening temps in the high 60's, which most people feel comfortable with for sleeping. In our Winter to Spring months we have afternoon temps in the mid 70's and evening temps in the low 60's, sometimes even in the 50's, which some people find even a little on the chilly side. For this reason nobody at our elevation has air conditioning as it is just not a necessity. I would suggest that next time you come to the island and you feel more comfortable having air conditioning, you stay at our air conditioned condo at the exclusive Mauna Lani Resort where air conditioning is very necessary, or if you feel like you would like to be closer to our little town of Kona 10 minutes away, I would suggest staying at either the Royal Kona or the King Kamehameha hotels, which both also have and need air conditioning.
We hope our tropical island trade winds blow you back to our island for another visit and that our suggestions give you the most excellent place to stay.
Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed with Wendi and Dave - their knowledge of not only the big island but all the other islands was amazing to say the least. They were the most friendly hosts who genuinely enjoy the company of guests and entertain accordingly.

The property is absolutely pristine -bedrooms to die for. The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Stayed in two different rooms - both exceptional. Wendi and Dave make the best breakfasts ever!!!!!!!!

The gardens are just beautiful. Immaculately kept. Sitting on the decking is such a beautiful and relaxing experience. Could not have asked for a better experience.

Also went to Mauna Lani in the condo - accommodation again amazing. Private beach - the best experience I have ever had in all my trips overseas. Swam with turtles right next to me - swan in unison. Something I will never forget. Fishes also incredible. Beach amazing. Pool great. Can`t recommend it higher.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
Green Features: All comply with my standards which are definitely eco friendly
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mahalo Lonni for your most generous review of our B&B and for mentioning our Sister Property at the Mauna Lani Resort. We're very proud to be the only B&B on island to offer our guests access to such a wonderful place. Our Beach Club has a fantastic restaurant and bar situated on one of the pretties little white sand beaches on the island with calm protected waters for some of the best snorkeling around. Covered cabanas, lounge chairs and showers are also there for your use. Our 2 bedroom 2 bath condo rental, also shown on our B&B website, is a great place to stay for 2 couples, or for the one couple who prefer some quiet alone time.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed all of our 3 course breakfasts at the B&B which we change on a daily basis to keep it interesting and varied for our guest. We've worked had to get our Health Department kitchen certification and take full advantage of being one of the few B&B's to serve hot breakfast meals.
Our knowledge of our island comes from our love of the island, which we enjoy sharing with all of our guests to provide for them the best possible experience they can have on Hawaii.
We look forward to your safe return to our island home, and to sharing with you the adventures you may have missed on this last trip.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights on the Big Island in late June/early July. Upon our jet-lagged arrival on the big island, we were promptly welcomed by Wendi and Dave to the Big Island with a cold Kona Brewing beer. We stayed in the Mahina Suite, which was wonderful! The bed was quite comfortable and the setting was great. The housekeeping was also stellar during our visit. The B&B is located such that air conditioning is not needed in the room, just fans, which is a nice respite from a hot, muggy, DC summer. This was definitely one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed at!

And the breakfasts, oh the breakfasts! Dave makes a scrumptious breakfast, starting with fresh fruit and yogurt. We had fresh papayas & avocados from their property, such a treat. The main course for breakfast was also delicious and so filling that we didn't have room for lunch. We especially enjoyed the egg crepes and breakfast burritos. They also serve Kona coffee every morning, which is definitely needed when adjusting to the time difference.

To top it all off, as icing on the vacation cake, Wendi and Dave also have ALL of the supplies you need to have a good day exploring the Big Island, including beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, coolers/snacks, and growlers for buying your own Kona Brewing brew for sipping on the beach. Furthermore, if we ever had a question about an activity or where to go to do said activity, Dave always had a great recommendation. Honu Kai B&B is definitely one of the most inviting and welcoming bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed yet!

Mahalo, Wendi and Dave for a wonderful vacation experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Honu Kai, Kona, is the place to go,
You won’t be disappointed in your choice,
From the moment you enter your mind blows,
You’ll see your surroundings and you’ll rejoice!

Wendi and Kona Dave are there to greet,
From the moment they exclaim “Aloha,”
You know you’re in for a special retreat,
Think of a tree house with all the koa!

Rising you hear the java sparrows cheep,
Dave’s 6 am feeding time almost there,
Your three course meal awaits, you won’t oversleep,
Such eye candy to partake, yummy fare!

But, no, it can’t be, don’t tell me it’s so,
Goodbye, Wendi, Dave, Soni, Mahalo!

Kathy & Kelly from Tucson, AZ :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.