We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Perfect" Stay, Not to Be Missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Save Saved
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The "Perfect" Stay, Not to Be Missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Review of Honu Kai Bed and Breakfast
7/18-7/21/13

We have come to rely on TripAdvisor over the years for dead-on accurate information when planning trips and this time, not only were our expectations met, they were exceeded MANY times over and over!

A short trip to the west coast of Hawai’i and the Kona region afforded us the opportunity to stay at one of many lodgings in the area. While the hotels that dot the coast surely attract families and a wide array of travelers looking for that type of experience, we were looking for something far more personable and intimate. Welcome to Honu Kai!

Wendi and Dave (transplanted islanders and owners of Honu Kai) are the finest of innkeepers and their property is gorgeous. Honu Kai is situated within a short drive of Kona International Airport which, is a huge plus for weary travelers who have just spent the better part of a full day on a packed jet. Both Wendi and Dave understand this all too well as both were corporate pilots in a former life. Realizing their dream of moving to Hawai’i while maintaining their experience in life as service-oriented individuals, they have transformed Honu Kai into the very definition of paradise.

Honu Kai is situated higher up into the mountain area directly above the town of Kailua. It is a gorgeous property that while only 1.3 acres, gives the impression of total seclusion due to the beautiful grounds it encompasses and the lush tropical gardens that shelter this “little slice of heaven” from the real world outside its gates.

The airy, layout of the downstairs area at Honu Kai give one the impression of a welcoming home, like no other. There is a full outdoor kitchen area with everything (and, I mean ‘everything’) that one could hope for. Do you want to cook-in? No problem. A full size fridge provides a place to store groceries for the small number of guests staying at Honu Kai and there is a huge built-in Charmglow propane grill ready to grill steaks and seafood. Freshly cooked, Scrumptious 3-course breakfasts are served daily at a large communal dining table in the totally open air area on the 1st floor. Here too, Wendi and Dave have provided a lounge area with DVDs, lots of reading material relevant to travel on the Big Island, a huge monitor showing the incredible landscapes of Hawai’I and just about every minute detail you can imagine has been covered even before you arrive in preparation for your visit.

Indeed, the international cast of visitors we met while staying at Honu Kai included newlyweds from Toronto, a couple from Vienna and, another couple from Switzerland. The level of personal service and care that Wendi and Dave proudly take towards their guests has resulted in a very significant ‘return’ rate of satisfied customers. Although, when you stay at Honu Kai … you are not treated like a customer: you are ‘family.’ As jaded New Yorkers, the hospitality that Wendi and Dave exhibit towards their customers is astonishing and it will affirm your faith in knowing that there are still some places in the world where your business is cherished and appreciated. If you are looking for a very unique, special and memorable experience ... you've come to the right place.

The beautifully appointed and comfortable suites at Honu Kai feature all the amenities. You will feel both pampered and completely satisfied with your accommodations. If you forgot something, no worries; Wendi and Dave have that covered. Looking for suggestions on day trips, restaurants, sights to see, shopping, et al? Just ask. Chances are that Wendi has already compiled a book for you. Need beach towels? Check. Breakfast for the road? Check. How about a sweater if you travel north up into the mountains? No problem. Oh, and here … take these umbrellas just in case. Everything is provided.

Getting back to those breakfasts … here’s Dave up at the crack of dawn picking bananas off one of Honu Kai's banana trees for your breakfast. Wendi’s baked French toast with Mac nuts will blow your mind. Then there are the little touches like beautifully decorated plates featuring all local, indigenous fruits, Danish and a bottomless pot of freshly brewed 100% Kona coffee every morning. Yum! I could go on and on but, you have to experience this to really understand how amazing your hosts are, and how incredible your stay at Honu Kai will be. As Wendi says: she calls guests to the Big Island “be-backers,” as in, “I’ll be back.” You absolutely will.

This is a one-of-a-kind B & B that will blow you away. The generosity and sincerity of your hosts will make you feel like family and good friends by the time you leave. Saying goodbye to Wendi and Dave and, to Honu Kai was truly sad for us. Yet, we know that we’ll return as soon as we can

Mahalo, Wendi and Dave and thank you so much for taking such good care of us during our stay!

Tom and Karen - Northport, NY

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lani Suite which, was just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
315
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Wendi and Dave's gorgeous condo on the Kohala Coast - at the Mauna Lani Golf Villas.

Wendi was incredibly helpful throughout the whole booking process and was a wealth of knowledge!

The condo is beautifully decorated, very Hawaiiana - we particularly loved the artwork and photographs throughout. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything you could need, and the whole place was spotlessly clean. There were plenty of brochures on local restaurants, information on tours and recommendations.

I used the laundry facilities and found all appliances and furnishings to be of a very high quality. We also particularly liked the sound system with Hawaiian music CDs to use, and found the wifi reliable and fast. The bed was also extremely comfortable.

The condo complex is lovely, very quiet and relaxing. It is across the road from the pool and fitness room, and a 3 minute drive to the Beach Club, with owner's parking and access, which is fantastic! Beautiful little protected beach, good snorkelling, deck chairs and cabanas and a great restaurant on site (Napua) with lovely cocktails and food.

It was a marvelllous stay and we only wish we'd had some time to spend at the B&B - we made a quick visit to say hi to Wendi and Dave and it was a secluded rainforest oasis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Mahalo for sharing with us, and the rest of the traveling world, your positive experience at our B&B's Sister Property, The Golf Villas at the Mauna Lani Resort. Whether staying at the B&B or our condo, guests can expect the same high level of concierge service and attention to detail we have been proud to provide at both locations. Because of our strong connection and love of our island, we want to provide our guests with more than just a great place to stay, we want to provide to them a platform from where to launch their Hawaii dreams and memories from. If you are looking for a special place to create your own Hawaiian dreams and memories from, contact us directly through our Honu Kai website and allow us to help you choose between the B&B, The Golf Villas condo or a combination stay of both to make your Hawaiian vacation the best possible. A Big Island Thank You to our Australian guest for their review and for stopping by Honu Kai B&B to say Aloha. We hope to welcome you back to the island again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
David & Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved Honu Kai and wished we had stayed the whole trip here. Wendi and Dave were so helpful and their breakfast is the best, I even liked things I normally dislike - pineapple sausages with pineapple and chilli relish are a must.
The Lani room was really comfortable and quiet, we would recommend Honu Kai every time. The B and B is a short car ride to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and i just recently spent 4 nights at Honu Kai B & B as part of our 31st wedding anniversary trip and it not only met but exceeded all our expectations. From the initial warm welcome from Wendi and Dave, our stay there fit like a glove. Our room was well appointed, clean, and had an extremely comfortable bed. The common areas were warm and inviting, offering multiple spots to relax and lounge. Breakfasts were delicious to both the eye and the palate and were a great start to each day. Wendi and Dave made every effort to meet individual needs and offered great recommendations for things to do, sites to see, and restaurants in the area. It's a good thing there were wonderful sights to see around Kona or we may have never left Honu Kai.

We highly recommend Honu Kai B & B for a truly maholo experience in Hawaii.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Honu Kai for 4 nights on our honeymoon and, in truth, we should have stayed longer!! It truly made our stay so wonderful.

The room: We stayed in the Nigori suite which was so clean, nicely appointed and comfortable. The bed was so lovely I actually took the sheets off the mattress to see what brand it was. Initially, I was worried about no A/C, but, it honestly wasn't necessary at all. Honu Kai is far enough up the hill that it gets a nice breeze, and the nights were nice and cool. The shower in the bathroom was also incredible. It was a challenge getting out of the shower every day, it was so relaxing!

The food: Amazing. Fresh fruit every morning. Hot, delicious breakfasts were wonderful. If you're lucky, Dave might make you one of his famous Mai Tai's.

The hosts: Wendi and Dave are amazing. They are truly special people. Other reviewers have said this, but it's so true, they make you feel like family. I constantly felt like I was staying with good friends. If there's anything you forgot, they can lend it to you, or guide you to it. They have also led the most facinating lives, it was so much fun just chatting with them. We genuinely missed them when we left for the other side of the Big Island.

I would definitely recommend Honu Kai to any couple looking for a relaxing, quiet stay on the Big Island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nigori Suite which was very nice and right off of the breakfast lanai. Our lanai w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Kona for 4 nights and spent the entire time at Honu Kai. Wendi and Dave are the best hosts ever! They really know how to treat their guests. The breakfast were incredible and kept you full (my husband's favorite meal of the trip was Dave's breakfast burrito). The B and B was amazing and we enjoyed waking up and looking at the beauty that surrounded us.

We had no plans for our trip. Wendi and Dave had great ideas and would help make reservations for any excursions. When we left for the day, they would help us pack anything that was needed and give us tips for maximizing our experience. They had all of the beach items needed to enjoy your day (snorkel equipment, coolers, beach chairs, etc.) We did go to Volcano National Park for the day and Wendi put a binder together for sights to see while on the way and restaurants to enjoy while in Hilo.

I cannot say enough about Honu Kai. They went above and beyond my expectations. When we return to the Big Island, we will stay here. If you are thinking about a staying at a bed and breakfast, you should definitely stay here.

Thank you Wendi and Dave for making our stay on the Big Island a great memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Dave and Wendi are simply the best hosts you could ever wish for!!! That should be enough to say here because everything that is said on this site about them and their B&B is true ... but I'll mention a couple of things!

You won't find two individuals anywhere, working in the service / hospitality industry, who enjoy their jobs more than Dave and Wendi!!! And that enjoyment shows in their home and in their truly Hawaiian attitude to life. They made our trip ... and became our friends!!!

WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Thanks guys ... love to you both!
Alan and Sarah

PS if you stay with them get Dave to make you a drink ... they are soooo good!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Also Known As:
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Hotel
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.