We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honu Kai Mauna Lani Golf Villas - Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Save Saved
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off thru our website
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honu Kai Mauna Lani Golf Villas - Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Wendi and Dave's gorgeous condo on the Kohala Coast - at the Mauna Lani Golf Villas.

Wendi was incredibly helpful throughout the whole booking process and was a wealth of knowledge!

The condo is beautifully decorated, very Hawaiiana - we particularly loved the artwork and photographs throughout. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything you could need, and the whole place was spotlessly clean. There were plenty of brochures on local restaurants, information on tours and recommendations.

I used the laundry facilities and found all appliances and furnishings to be of a very high quality. We also particularly liked the sound system with Hawaiian music CDs to use, and found the wifi reliable and fast. The bed was also extremely comfortable.

The condo complex is lovely, very quiet and relaxing. It is across the road from the pool and fitness room, and a 3 minute drive to the Beach Club, with owner's parking and access, which is fantastic! Beautiful little protected beach, good snorkelling, deck chairs and cabanas and a great restaurant on site (Napua) with lovely cocktails and food.

It was a marvelllous stay and we only wish we'd had some time to spend at the B&B - we made a quick visit to say hi to Wendi and Dave and it was a secluded rainforest oasis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Mahalo for sharing with us, and the rest of the traveling world, your positive experience at our B&B's Sister Property, The Golf Villas at the Mauna Lani Resort. Whether staying at the B&B or our condo, guests can expect the same high level of concierge service and attention to detail we have been proud to provide at both locations. Because of our strong connection and love of our island, we want to provide our guests with more than just a great place to stay, we want to provide to them a platform from where to launch their Hawaii dreams and memories from. If you are looking for a special place to create your own Hawaiian dreams and memories from, contact us directly through our Honu Kai website and allow us to help you choose between the B&B, The Golf Villas condo or a combination stay of both to make your Hawaiian vacation the best possible. A Big Island Thank You to our Australian guest for their review and for stopping by Honu Kai B&B to say Aloha. We hope to welcome you back to the island again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
David & Wendi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
328
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved Honu Kai and wished we had stayed the whole trip here. Wendi and Dave were so helpful and their breakfast is the best, I even liked things I normally dislike - pineapple sausages with pineapple and chilli relish are a must.
The Lani room was really comfortable and quiet, we would recommend Honu Kai every time. The B and B is a short car ride to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and i just recently spent 4 nights at Honu Kai B & B as part of our 31st wedding anniversary trip and it not only met but exceeded all our expectations. From the initial warm welcome from Wendi and Dave, our stay there fit like a glove. Our room was well appointed, clean, and had an extremely comfortable bed. The common areas were warm and inviting, offering multiple spots to relax and lounge. Breakfasts were delicious to both the eye and the palate and were a great start to each day. Wendi and Dave made every effort to meet individual needs and offered great recommendations for things to do, sites to see, and restaurants in the area. It's a good thing there were wonderful sights to see around Kona or we may have never left Honu Kai.

We highly recommend Honu Kai B & B for a truly maholo experience in Hawaii.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Honu Kai for 4 nights on our honeymoon and, in truth, we should have stayed longer!! It truly made our stay so wonderful.

The room: We stayed in the Nigori suite which was so clean, nicely appointed and comfortable. The bed was so lovely I actually took the sheets off the mattress to see what brand it was. Initially, I was worried about no A/C, but, it honestly wasn't necessary at all. Honu Kai is far enough up the hill that it gets a nice breeze, and the nights were nice and cool. The shower in the bathroom was also incredible. It was a challenge getting out of the shower every day, it was so relaxing!

The food: Amazing. Fresh fruit every morning. Hot, delicious breakfasts were wonderful. If you're lucky, Dave might make you one of his famous Mai Tai's.

The hosts: Wendi and Dave are amazing. They are truly special people. Other reviewers have said this, but it's so true, they make you feel like family. I constantly felt like I was staying with good friends. If there's anything you forgot, they can lend it to you, or guide you to it. They have also led the most facinating lives, it was so much fun just chatting with them. We genuinely missed them when we left for the other side of the Big Island.

I would definitely recommend Honu Kai to any couple looking for a relaxing, quiet stay on the Big Island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nigori Suite which was very nice and right off of the breakfast lanai. Our lanai w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Kona for 4 nights and spent the entire time at Honu Kai. Wendi and Dave are the best hosts ever! They really know how to treat their guests. The breakfast were incredible and kept you full (my husband's favorite meal of the trip was Dave's breakfast burrito). The B and B was amazing and we enjoyed waking up and looking at the beauty that surrounded us.

We had no plans for our trip. Wendi and Dave had great ideas and would help make reservations for any excursions. When we left for the day, they would help us pack anything that was needed and give us tips for maximizing our experience. They had all of the beach items needed to enjoy your day (snorkel equipment, coolers, beach chairs, etc.) We did go to Volcano National Park for the day and Wendi put a binder together for sights to see while on the way and restaurants to enjoy while in Hilo.

I cannot say enough about Honu Kai. They went above and beyond my expectations. When we return to the Big Island, we will stay here. If you are thinking about a staying at a bed and breakfast, you should definitely stay here.

Thank you Wendi and Dave for making our stay on the Big Island a great memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Dave and Wendi are simply the best hosts you could ever wish for!!! That should be enough to say here because everything that is said on this site about them and their B&B is true ... but I'll mention a couple of things!

You won't find two individuals anywhere, working in the service / hospitality industry, who enjoy their jobs more than Dave and Wendi!!! And that enjoyment shows in their home and in their truly Hawaiian attitude to life. They made our trip ... and became our friends!!!

WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Thanks guys ... love to you both!
Alan and Sarah

PS if you stay with them get Dave to make you a drink ... they are soooo good!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a 5 days in Kona and wanted to get a genuine experience while we were there. We were not disappointed. Staying at at Honu Kai B&B, we were treated like family. The breakfasts were wonderfully yummy, the advice on daily activities and assistance in getting ready was much needed and appreciated. The B&B is located a short 10min drive away from the town so you will need a car but given the location, you also have the perfect weather - never too hot and never too cold - we never needed heating or cooling in our rooms and always felt perfectly comfortable. The surrounds of the B&B, with birds and trees makes you feel very relaxed and one with nature. The nearby roosters will no doubt wake you up but I found I got use to them by the 3rd morning anyway and they made for a good alarm clock to get ready for the day ahead of us. There are a couple of bedrooms above the meal area, I would suggest if you want a quieter more secluded room, you choose the Nigori Suite or Male Hale Bungalow. The overall experience was excellent though and I would go back again and again if I could.

Room Tip: There are a couple of bedrooms above the meal area, I would suggest if you want a quieter more seclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.