We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Question: Stay at Honu Kai!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Save Saved
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Question: Stay at Honu Kai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed with Wendi and Dave for 5 nights, and I'd never stay anywhere else in Kona. Here's why:

* It's simply lovely and cooler by far 8 minutes up the hill from the beach.
* Wendi and Dave anticipated so many of the things we might want: a glass of wine upon arrival, coolers, towels, boogie board, snacks, bottles of water. You name it.
* Breakfasts where delicious and huge. We BBQd on their outdoor grill several nights, saving $$$$ on food.
* They are fabulous hosts and we had such fun chatting with the other guests.

Add me to the list of Honu Kai fans!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
328
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

When you travel to Hawaii, your imagination is one of beauty, warmth, tropcial foods, relaxation and the welcome of the natives. We found all those at Honu Kai through Dave and Wendi. The warmth, kindness, and generousity of the hosts makes the Spirit of Aloha come alive. We stayed for 3 days there and 7 at a timeshare. Those three days set the tone for the rest week. Dave and Wendi met us as soon as drove up. Brought us to our room and then sat down with us for almost 2 hours getting to know us and sharing about themselves and the Island. We came back later in the week just have dinner with them. I won't talk about the breakfasts, or the generosity of setting you up for the day's activites with a binder of information and goodies and supplies. You can read about those in all the other posts. They are all as wonderful as the other reviews state. We stayed in the Mahina room. It was nice and bed was comfortable. They even had different pillows to choose from. You will love the birds chirping and feeding just feet away as you enjoy breakfast and plenty of Kona coffee. The decor is very tropical and zen. There is plenty of fountains to create a very relaxing atmosphre. There are a lot of Gecko's too. If we didn't have other arrangements we would of stayed there all trip. If you are looking for a romantic get away you cannot go wrong. Honu Kai is truely a wonderful place to start your Hawaii experience.

Room Tip: If you are larger then two people I would recommend the Bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with Honu Kai.
This is the 5th bed and breakfast we've stayed at (all the rest on the mainland though) - for us it was the best so far as far as atmosphere, amenities, breakfast and support/advice from the hosts.
Our room was very clean and welcoming, but before we even got there Kona Dave offered me his signature Mai Tai which was amazing! It was a wonderful welcome, served in a frozen pineapple.
We definitely felt catered to here and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.
The internet worked well for us for the entire stay (I mention this because of another review I read that said they had issues) and we enjoyed the hot tub and movie selections as well.
The property was very relaxing with birds and gecko's to enjoy and a large lower deck and small upper as well.
If we return to Kona I don't see us not staying here again! :)

Thank you Wendi and Dave

~jennifer & jeremy

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mahina Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our stay at Honu Kai was absolutely fabulous! It was as if we had all the comfort of 'home' while having all the pleasures and comforts of a 5-star hotel. Dave and Wendi are two of the most wonderful people...the are warm, welcoming, generous, and knowledgable. They went so far above and beyond anything we could have hoped for or imagined. Breakfasts were absolutely outstanding--truly gourmet. Our stay in the bungalow was so comfortable. And anything that we needed was anticipated by Wendi and Dave...when we went to the beach, they had chairs for us, snorkeling gear, towels, and a cooler packed with treats. They had information on restaurants and made reservations for us. Their suggestions on things to do and see we're great! We could not have asked for anything more...by far, one of the best places we have ever stayed! Thank you, Dave and Wendi, for all you did for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the B&B in the Nigori Suite and 5 nights at the condo in Mauna Lani. Both were great. Dave and Wendi are terrific hosts. You feel like you are staying with friends or family rather than at a business establishment. They want to be sure that you have anyhing you need and go out of their way for the comfort of their guests. They make an incredible effort to anticipate what you might want and try to provide it. The Aloha spirit is alive and well at the Honu Kia B&B. We were greated on our first night with a lovely Mia Tai served in a fresh pineapple and garnished with fresh flowers.The breakfasts at the B&B were unbelievable. Breads and muffins followed by a yummy fruit plate plus a great entree. The presentation was beautiful and the selections included food items that were grown right in the yard. The decorating is perfect with many thoughtful touches included throughout the rooms. The B&B suite was very large with a walk in closet and a generous bathroom with a very deep tiled tub. The decking at the B&B is wonderful and makes it seem as if you are living outside. The condo was great with a lovely pool right across the street. You also have access to a terrific private beach club. You are not on the ocean but have access to it whenever you would like. The condo is beautiful and open. We were provided detailed turn by turn directions for many of the local destinations. A great deal of effort had been given to make things easy for the guests. I would not hesitate to recommend B&B at either location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, allowing us to share our island with you, and for your review about the positive experience you had at our Bed & Breakfast and at our condo in the exclusive Mauna Lani Resort. We pride ourselves at being the only Bed & Breakfast on the Big Island to offer our guests access to a private beach and beach club attached to our Mauna Lani condo. We hope future guests will plan their vacation as you did, by first staying with us at the B&B and then at our Mauna Lani condo, giving them two totally different vacation experiences.
We enjoyed having you stay with us and experiencing our Island Aloha. We look forward to your return visit to Hawaii.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi and Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The best B&B in the world!! Great room, Great food, Great Great Great. Thanks Dave and Wendi for making our 5th anniversary one we will always remember. Your attention to details is what makes your home a great place to be. If you are ever in Canada, near the capital of Ottawa, look us up and we would love to have you visit us.

Randy and Heather Jones

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield MO
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Neither my husband nor myself are what you would call a "people person". However, we genuinely enjoyed all interactions with Wendy and Dave. They are both delightful, interesting people who I hope to meet again someday! As others have stated, Honu Kai is more than a place to sleep. We received great advice, directions, informative sheets, and supplies (beach towels, coolers, umbrellas, etc.) that helped us have an even better experience while exploring the island. Plus the beds are extremely comfortable, the bath towels are soft and fluffy, and breakfast is amazing! One of my favorite memories of our trip to Hawaii is sitting at the dining table listening to the birds while drinking that fabulous coffee! If (when) we ever make it back to the Big Island, we would stay at Honu Kai B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.