We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B was better than a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu Kai B&B to your Saves list
Honu Kai B&B
74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off thru our website
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“B&B was better than a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

I've never stayed in a B&B before and I am now convinced that this is the way to vacation when traveling to the islands. Wendi and Dave are amazing! I miss them already! Every morning, I looked forward to what fresh fruit and breakfast items would be served. I also looked forward to just taking to both Wendi and Dave. During our day trips, they gave us thorough directions and packed us snacks, a cooler, and beach towels! Couldn't ask for more!
They also have mosquito repellant (even deet free for people like me who are allergic) and sunscreen.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
346
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Honu Kai was our first stop post airport on the Big Island, and we knew as soon as we arrived that we'd found the perfect island home. The property is beautiful, private and, sitting half way up the mountain, wonderfully cool. The tropical landscaping is outstanding, and we loved the birds flocking to the feeders, not to mention the geckos who arrived each morning for their guava jelly breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, each morning was different, but always included a course of fresh fruit followed by an excellent hot dish. Our room in the treetops was very comfortable, beautifully decorated and filled with fresh flowers.

Good as all this is, it is the owners, Wendy and Dave, who really make the whole experience wonderful. They have a truly welcoming spirit, a wealth of information about the island, and a gift for making guests feel at home. They'll provide snorkels, beach towels and day packs, as well as maps and written down tips (!) for various day trips, best places to stop, etc. We had a great time getting to know them and the island. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. I would say there was definitely a moldy/musty odor though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
May and June were very rainy months for us, so we do apologize that your room had that "moldy/musty odor" which you say you noticed. As the owners of this property we strive to provide the best experience and service to all of our guests and take all criticisms from any guests very seriously. The room these guests stayed in was the only guest room in which we still had carpeting installed. At Honu Kai we don't look for excuses to issues that might arise, instead we find solutions. We have since removed all the carpeting from this room and replaced it with a solid bamboo flooring and lined the walk-in-closet with cedar. We are certain these changes have solved this problem and hope any future guest will advise us during their stay about any problems that may arise.

Mahalo for your review and we hope to welcome you back to our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Honu Kai and the Wassons far exceeded expectations for a bed and breakfast let alone any hotel we have ever stayed at. Beautiful flower arrangements, delicious breakfasts, day bags, LOTS of a wonderful information and tips, and especially their aloha spirit. Have I mentioned that they have insanely gorgeous hawaiian pieces all over the place? My husband loves gardening and he was in heaven here - everything is outstanding! They definitely care about their guests having a relaxing and special stay, and I feel that they could adapt to the various needs of their guets which is really important when staying at a b&b. We MORE than enjoyed our stay up in the tree house room (breezy and perfect at this altitude!) - even if we didn't have anything left to see on this island we would come back to stay at Honu Kai. This place and especially Wendi and Dave are in a class of their own! Mahalo! - Jen & Corey

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect coming to Honu Kai B&B, but were overwhelmed with Dave and Wendi's hospitality as they greeted us our first day. We felt at home right away. We thought we were only going to get a typical B&B experience, but Dave and Wendi went above and beyond that, providing us with useful information about the area, free laundry service, and items to take with us on day trips. They even provided us with flashlights to explore the lava tube in Volcano. Dave even fixed a complimentary Mai Tai, the best we had on the Big Island and Maui. The breakfasts were also incredible!

If you stay with Dave and Wendi, expect to be given the best service and wonderful food! Hopefully they won't retire before our 10th wedding anniversary ;)

Much aloha,
Holly and Andrew

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our staying on the big iland wouldn't be the same without staying at Honu Kai B&B. We came from Kauai and to be honest, we liked kauai much better than the big iland. But staying at Honu Kai B&B made us want to come back to the Big iland only because we want to stay here and see Wendi and Dave. Thank you so much for the great time!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed eight nights at Honu Kai. Wendi and Dave are the perfect hosts. They are entertaining, engaging, informative, and as their website advertises, promote the Spirit of Aloha. The breakfasts were fantastic and the room was superb. We toured the Big Island for eight days while using Honu Kai as our base camp. The location could not have been better. We had easy access to great restuarants, beaches, activities, and historic sites. Honu Kai offered everything we look for in a Bed and Breakfast, great food, great room, convenient location and above all hosts that we really truly enjoyed spending time with.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha filled vacation at a plantation styled B&B, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate. Private park-like setting,gated parking. 10 mins. from Kailua-Kona, shopping, beaches & restaurants. Old-growth garden, zen zone with lots of statuary, relaxing & peaceful, welcoming! Expansive covered and sun decks, garden jacuzzi. 4 spacious rooms, all private baths,luxury linens: bungalow w/kitchenette, 2 tree-top bedrooms with sundeck, & master suite w/deck area. Shared outdoor kitchen with huge gas BBQ, shared fridge. Concierge services, trip planning, owners are very knowledgeable of Island activities and special things to do. We provide snorkel equipment/beach chairs/bags/boogie boards/umbrellas. 3 course hot breakfast, varied daily: pastries, local tropical and exotic fruits, special dietary needs are catered to. Teas/Kona coffee 24/7. Adult guests, no children under 17 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu Kai B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.