We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast
74-4920 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cannot Recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed here twice, once in 2007 and previously in 2006, since we like Kona so much. The first year was okay, all things considered. The owner is not at the property, and it had changed hands sometime around 2005-2006. The previous owner(s) must have sold the place "as is." The raggedy ann and andy dolls mentioned in other reviews were still there, along with many clothing items in the closet of the master suite. I thought that odd. The man "on duty" was very accommodating, however, and that makes up for a lot. Returning the following yr. I expected appearances to be much improved, but it was the opposite. It looked a bit worse for wear and dirty. Other guests visiting from Belgium were so unhappy with the living conditions, they asked us for a recommendation, which we gave them (another B&B down the coast). They were gone in an instant. I cannot say why it is run as it is, but it seems that the offsite owner bought the house to "flip" it, and therefore didn't put in much effort to freshen the place up. Maybe that's not at all the case, but that fits what we saw.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — it felt strange
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

There was a death in the family and we had to cancel our stay at Kiwi Gardens. All other hotels were very accommadating, but Kiwi Gardens kept our money - all of it! We were appauled. Don't stay here, they are crooks...

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

My husband and I are planning another trip to Hawaii. As I was again looking for B&B's, I remembered the horrible experience we had last year on our honeymoon. My husband and I booked this B&B for the last night of our honeymoon. We were running late for check in due to the fact that there was bad weather traveling from Hilo. We called to let the owners know what we were experiencing and we thought we would arrive between 7 and 8pm. The response was short and terse but they said OK. We soon realized we would not be able to arrive until about 9pm. We called again (not wanting any surprises). We were scolded by a very rude man...telling us that "this is a neighborhood and and that we were putting them out". When we finally did arrive it was to a very dark house and to a room that was suppose to have a private porch, an ocean view and an ocean breeze. None of which was true. We tried to go to sleep but it was so hot and my husband has asthma. We ended up leaving in the middle of the night to go to a regular hotel.
The nightly rate we were charged was $100. Spend the extra $25-$50 for a hotel or nicer B&B. It is worth it to know what you will be getting and that you are not staying with people who are rude and inflexible. As tourists you never know what is going to happen and peace of mind is worth a few extra dollars.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, co owner at A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2005
We definitately have an ocean view, sorry their late night
arrival and no full moon did not lend to ocean viewing, as far the breeze, I cannot control
the weather... The Master Suite is located at the left end of the house,Total privacy there on that end of lanai and then the front of lani is screened in showing back gardens,
ocean view and the right side is open for emergency access......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2005

We did not enjoy our stay at Kiwi Gardens at all. To say that the people have eclectic tastes would be an understatement. I love character, but this was a little extreme.

I think the thing that freaked my wife out the most was that there were Raggedy Ann (sp?) dolls, decorations, books, knick-knacks, etc absolutely everywhere. She couldn't sleep as she had visions of being woken by the owner standing over our bed dressed as Raggedy Ann!

We stayed in the Master Suite "Keane" Room, which was a good size; however there was no bathroom door. Now my wife and I are close and all, but we do like to be able to close the bathroom door for some privacy.

Of all 10 places we stayed on our Hawaii honeymoon, this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, co owner at A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2005
The Master Suite has a large solid stand up screen (8 sections) separating the bathroom from the
bedroom.

There is not one raggedy doll in the Master Suite.
I am a raggedy doll colector and display two dozen
in the huge family room......Over the 15 years of
greeting guests in our beautiful bed and breakfast
I have heard sooo many fun raggedy stories from
my guests, I am very sorry that we made anyone
uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2005

This was a very nice place to stay. We had the master suite, which was clean and nice sized. We were also allowed to store our stuff in their garage when we went over to stay in Volcano for the night. We picked it up the next day before our flight out of Kona. Very convenient!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2005

The Kiwi Gardens B and B was the perfect place to relax, relax, relax! We three "native" islanders know what "aloha" is and Shirlee and Ron have plenty of it! Ron even fixed our car! Shirlee's breakfasts were awesome and we enjoyed chatting with her and the other guests. As islanders who have not stayed at B and B's before, we were a little skeptical. Shirlee dispelled our doubts. No more hotels for us!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

My husband and I have returned several times to Kiwi Gardens and have never had an unpleasant experience there. The warm welcome, explanation of house rules, the excellant breakfasts, the cleanliness of the rooms, the beautiful grounds, reasonable rates, and the friendliness that the hosts give throughout the entire visit keeps us coming back for more. We have recommended Kiwi Gardens to many of our friends knowing they will have a wonderful, peaceful and memorable visit. You just have to read the many positive comments written in guest books from visitors that have visited Kiwi Gardens to know many feel the same way as we do. Travelers today need to prepare for the ever common delays and always have extra food available. Many times we have stopped at the Denny's, Safeway or even Costco to grab a bite before signing in and bedding down for the nite. The handy mini refrigerator Shirlee has available keeps those little extras available if we feel like a snack. Shirlee and Ron are the best hosts we have ever had at any B&B. They are as helpful as possible and go above and beyond what one would expect of B&B hosts. It is truly a place you will want to come back to. Bill & JoAnn Shoemaker

Stayed November 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
Free internet...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Free internet...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#9 of 15 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#11 of 15 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Honu Kai B&B
Honu Kai B&B
#1 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
6.3 mi away
Yoga Hale Yoga & Surf Retreats
Yoga Hale Yoga & Surf Retreats
#9 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4920 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
A-Kiwi Gardens Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list