We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Save Saved
You added Kona Sugar Shack to your Saves list
77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We rented the entire Kona Sugar Shack for a week long birthday celebration. We loved it. Everything was exactly as advertised and the location is great. In addition, the house has all the little things we needed like beach chairs, coolers, etc. The pool is wonderful and you'll have no problem with bugs in the evening -- just be sure to light the tiki torches -- they make a huge difference.

The beach right across the street was perfect -- you just have to be a bit careful with the waves -- some days it was really fun for novice surfing, but some days the waves were huge and you better know what you're doing. If you drive 5 minutes south, there is a great bay with wonderful snorkeling -- we went in the morning and saw turtles and lots of fish. We went on a great snorkel trip (saw tons of dolphins), and the night dive with the Mantas is great.

We had great weather for 5 days and a bit of overcast / light rain on 2 days -- but if you still want some beach time, I suggest driving about an hour north to Waialea Bay -- we did that on one of the overcast days and still got some great sun that day.

Can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Ocean Suite on the second floor for a full week and really loved this location. It was away from the hustle and bustle of town but not too far. And, more than anything it was right across the street from the Magic Sands beach which was truly magical! Our kids LOVED the boogie boarding (when the waves weren't too dangerous) here. We also appreciated the hospitality from Jai. She and her husband ended up being gone for much of our time there but she did what she could to ensure we were well taken care of. The Kona Sugar Shack was our homebase as we traveled much of the island during the week that we were there. Our 9 year old was the only one to use the pool and just one time. There were too many wonderful beaches to visit! We also loved being able to use the beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and more that they have a great supply of so that we didn't have to purchase these items while we were there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean suite which had two bathrooms and three bedrooms. Each bedroom had a window ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our family loved the Kona Sugar Shack! We had the two units upstairs that open up as one unit, the Anniversary and Ocean Suites. The accommodations were roomy and comfortable for 7 adults and 2 children for almost 2 weeks. We loved the convenient location, good beds, nice furnishings, pool, etc., but what we loved the most was the experience of staying in an Hawaiian home. To wake up every morning to so many birds, to hear the ocean surf pounding on the shore, to watching sunsets from the deck at night, to picking limes for our drinks, flowers for our hair, going on gecko hunts in the yard where they hide in numerous tropical trees - it was truly an experience that we have not had before when visiting Hawaii and staying in a condo. The only problem we had with the Sugar Shack that it was hard to leave to go sight-seeing - we were happy just to sit on the porch or by the pool! This really made our family trip one of the best ever! We also very much appreciated all the "toys" that are available, beach towels, chairs, coolers, umbrellas, etc. that made our beach outings so great. I would absolutely recommend this place! (stayed March 12 - 25, 2013)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Sugar shack back in July 2012. We could not have had it any better than the ocean suite at the Kona Sugar shack. I wish they had a webcam and I could go back and day dream every day. The home is right across from white sands beach with gorgeous sunsets,a wonderful pool,all sorts of equipment to take to the beach,everything you could possible need for your vacation. We made our own leis with all the plumeria flowers they have on the property and I love the apple banana's. Kona sugar shack is close to everything on the west side of the island. We could walk down to Kahuluu beach and snorkle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We actually stayed in December of 2011, just before the Christmas holiday. We had the place to ourselves. A highlight for the kids was when John chopped a banana tree down. The location was perfect and we spent hours at Magic Sands beach. i also snorkeled in the bay next to it - a bit tricky to enter the water but lots of good fish to see.
Now when we ask our 8 year old where he wants to live, he always says, The Sugar Shack!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked in after reading all the reviews and we had been on the other side of the island at the Hilo Bay B and B so we could not help but compare. The location of the Sugar Shack is good, across the street from a small but beautiful White Sands Beach. The host Jae is a wonderful lady. We stayed in a room at the back of the house, it was large, decor a bit dated but more than adequate. We had to use the car to get down to the action in Kona every night which was a bit of pain if you want to go out for dinner and have drinks. My main problem was being charged a ! 150 fee for cleaning on top of our rental per night. We paid more per night plus the cleaning fee without a breakfast (which we did know about ahead of time) but for the price I would have stayed down in the heart of Kona in a hotel for much less. I don't like to make a poor review, depends what you want. Jae is wonderful and provides you with coolers and beach chairs but I think the cleaning fee is out of line. There should be one set price per night.

Room Tip: Probably better to stay on top floor or at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyJomac, Owner at Kona Sugar Shack, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the positive feedback and the opportunity to respond to the negative.

When you called last November and wanted to book two nights, I explained that we had a five night minimum and that for such a short stay it would be less expensive to stay in the village (which is about 3.5 miles from the Sugar Shack). We agreed to accommodate you and your husband anyway and you were given the full breakout of the costs, which included a discounted daily rate for the two nights, plus tax and a one time cleaning fee of $125.00, not the $150.00 stated in the review.

We charge the same cleaning rate no matter the length of the stay as we sanitize the baths, kitchen, clean all the linens, etc.

We are sorry that this has been on your mind since your stay last November 2012. We would be happy to forward the original reservation along with the email thread with the quote and other correspondence that you were given prior to your arrival to you or anyone reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Jae is simply an incredible host. The property is small and it runs like a well oiled machine. If you think of something you need, odds are Jae has already thought of it, and it's already there for you. Little beach across the street, typical of Kona beaches, with an adjacent snorkeling cove. Nice pool out front--small, but bigger than I thought it would be for a 3-unit property--with a nice little grounds, and comfortable chairs to watch the runners and bikers on the road, and the ocean right across the street, and the birds and mongeese that frequent the property. We liked the location, a few miles south of the busyness of downtown one way and virtually nothing the other. Very nice interior in the Honeymoon Suite--modern, updated, comfortable; can't speak to the other units, as we never got a chance to take a peek. We loved the convenience of the outdoor kitchen. Can't speak highly enough of Jae, and how accommodating she was, and how all her efforts were geared toward making the trip exciting, easy, and memorable. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was nice, and had a cool outdoor kitchen area (fridge, table, sink, cabinets, nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.