We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust Jae” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Save Saved
You added Kona Sugar Shack to your Saves list
77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407   |  
Hotel amenities
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trust Jae”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Jae is simply an incredible host. The property is small and it runs like a well oiled machine. If you think of something you need, odds are Jae has already thought of it, and it's already there for you. Little beach across the street, typical of Kona beaches, with an adjacent snorkeling cove. Nice pool out front--small, but bigger than I thought it would be for a 3-unit property--with a nice little grounds, and comfortable chairs to watch the runners and bikers on the road, and the ocean right across the street, and the birds and mongeese that frequent the property. We liked the location, a few miles south of the busyness of downtown one way and virtually nothing the other. Very nice interior in the Honeymoon Suite--modern, updated, comfortable; can't speak to the other units, as we never got a chance to take a peek. We loved the convenience of the outdoor kitchen. Can't speak highly enough of Jae, and how accommodating she was, and how all her efforts were geared toward making the trip exciting, easy, and memorable. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was nice, and had a cool outdoor kitchen area (fridge, table, sink, cabinets, nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an absolute blast at the sugar shack! Its our second time there now and we are thinking of it as a yearly trip! The pool is perfect for our little ones. The place is really set up nice - so we are spreading the word on Oahu! Perfect Kona location - right across the street from Magic Sands beach, so much fun!

Room Tip: The upstairs suites are great with lanai (deck) towards ocean. The mango suite doesn't have oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently started our family holiday at the Kona Sugar Shack and what a beautiful, serene few days we had.

Jae and John laid out a wonderful house for us to enjoy for three nights. Everything was clean, comfortable and welcoming. It was really like having our our own, secluded flat in a family home.

The beds were large and comfortable and plenty of room for a couple plus two kids. Also, the kitchen well-appointed and a lovely outside dining area and pool.

We were right opposite the White Sands Beach, which is one of the best swimming beaches we found on the Big Island, and sat by the pool watching the sunset most nights. Also, John and Jae had heaps of gear available to help our day trips - snorkeling, picnic etc.

Thanks again for a great place to stay.

Marcus
Sydney

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed in the Honeymoon pool suite. Loved the outdoor kitchen and being pool side. The Kona sugar shack is great. The owner's have thought of everything! The only negative is that Alii drive is alot busier than I thought it would be. Not very relaxing to lay by pool and hear car after car go by. Could not hear any traffic noise in room though. Despite that we had a very relaxing stay. It did occur to us though that as much as we love kids, we are so glad there weren't any at the sugar shack when we were there. Because the grounds are so compactit honestly it would not have been relaxing to stay in the honeymoon suite with kids being in pool area, as the honeymoon suite outdoor area is right there by the pool. The KSS would be a great large group rental to have the whole place to yourself!

Room Tip: May not want the honeymoon suite if kids or large groups are at the KSS. It would not be very romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Absolutely 5 stars!!! The Anniversary suite was amazing. The decor was comfortable and inviting. View of the ocean across the street can't be beat. Very comfortable bed in the main bedroom and two cozy single beds which converted from the couches. Well stocked kitchen (appliances, tools, condiments).

It was perfect for us with two small children. Luxury of having pool downstairs, but no safety issues. Toddler could play on the balcony and then we could take her down to the pool at our leisure. The house was stocked with pack and play, kids toys, bounce chair and more!

For scuba divers, we were able to dive the four mile site right across the street. It was so easy. The great public beach for kiddos was right there as well.

Jae and John were both very helpful with Big Island tips and making sure we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back to the "shack".

Also, great location, close to downtown Kailua-Kona. Shuttle picks up right outside the house too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay while visiting Kailua-Kona, HI. We had the pleasure of staying at the Kona Sugar Shack for 10 glorious days. The grounds are well kept. The home is just like a "home away from home". John and Jae have furnished the property with a Hawaiian flare. We stayed in the Anniversary Suite. We are a family of three and were very comfortable. There is a king bed in the master bedroom, two twin beds in the living room and a puna bed on the lanai. The home is directly across the street from a very nice snorkeling spot and Magic Sands Beach. I can't say enough about Vicki the house keeper. She was at the property almost everyday cleaning or doing something. If I had any questions she was there to answer them. Jae handled the reservations while John was at the property almost everyday as well. He was very helpful with sightseeing suggestions and just made us feel right at home. We absolutely loved this home and the ma-halo feel when you walk through the door. Thank you John, Jae and Vicki for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: For those individuals sleeping in the living room, you have to deal with Alii Drive traffic until ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Kona Sugar Shack for the last three nights of our two week Big Island vacation. We stayed at several nice places and the Sugar Shack topped them all. We stayed in the Anniversary Suite, two adults and one child. It was plenty big for all of us. Beautifully decorated, well outfitted kitchen, compfy furniture and a huge outside deck made our stay just simply delightful. Jae was wonderful to work with and easily accessible if we needed anything. The view off the deck was stunning and the location of the place is perfect for getting to shopping and beaches. We would definitely return. Ahhh, lovely to remember!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.