We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Save
You added Kona Sugar Shack to your Saves list
77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407   |  
Hotel amenities
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“September 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed in the Honeymoon pool suite. Loved the outdoor kitchen and being pool side. The Kona sugar shack is great. The owner's have thought of everything! The only negative is that Alii drive is alot busier than I thought it would be. Not very relaxing to lay by pool and hear car after car go by. Could not hear any traffic noise in room though. Despite that we had a very relaxing stay. It did occur to us though that as much as we love kids, we are so glad there weren't any at the sugar shack when we were there. Because the grounds are so compactit honestly it would not have been relaxing to stay in the honeymoon suite with kids being in pool area, as the honeymoon suite outdoor area is right there by the pool. The KSS would be a great large group rental to have the whole place to yourself!

Room Tip: May not want the honeymoon suite if kids or large groups are at the KSS. It would not be very romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Absolutely 5 stars!!! The Anniversary suite was amazing. The decor was comfortable and inviting. View of the ocean across the street can't be beat. Very comfortable bed in the main bedroom and two cozy single beds which converted from the couches. Well stocked kitchen (appliances, tools, condiments).

It was perfect for us with two small children. Luxury of having pool downstairs, but no safety issues. Toddler could play on the balcony and then we could take her down to the pool at our leisure. The house was stocked with pack and play, kids toys, bounce chair and more!

For scuba divers, we were able to dive the four mile site right across the street. It was so easy. The great public beach for kiddos was right there as well.

Jae and John were both very helpful with Big Island tips and making sure we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back to the "shack".

Also, great location, close to downtown Kailua-Kona. Shuttle picks up right outside the house too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay while visiting Kailua-Kona, HI. We had the pleasure of staying at the Kona Sugar Shack for 10 glorious days. The grounds are well kept. The home is just like a "home away from home". John and Jae have furnished the property with a Hawaiian flare. We stayed in the Anniversary Suite. We are a family of three and were very comfortable. There is a king bed in the master bedroom, two twin beds in the living room and a puna bed on the lanai. The home is directly across the street from a very nice snorkeling spot and Magic Sands Beach. I can't say enough about Vicki the house keeper. She was at the property almost everyday cleaning or doing something. If I had any questions she was there to answer them. Jae handled the reservations while John was at the property almost everyday as well. He was very helpful with sightseeing suggestions and just made us feel right at home. We absolutely loved this home and the ma-halo feel when you walk through the door. Thank you John, Jae and Vicki for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: For those individuals sleeping in the living room, you have to deal with Alii Drive traffic until ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Kona Sugar Shack for the last three nights of our two week Big Island vacation. We stayed at several nice places and the Sugar Shack topped them all. We stayed in the Anniversary Suite, two adults and one child. It was plenty big for all of us. Beautifully decorated, well outfitted kitchen, compfy furniture and a huge outside deck made our stay just simply delightful. Jae was wonderful to work with and easily accessible if we needed anything. The view off the deck was stunning and the location of the place is perfect for getting to shopping and beaches. We would definitely return. Ahhh, lovely to remember!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Amazing experience! I highly recommend the Sugar Shack to family and friends. My husband and I spent our week long anniversary in the Honeymoon Suite and enjoyed every minute. Our room was immaculate and had many special touches that made it feel like home. Jai and John were such excellent hosts and gave us insider tips on where to go and what to do. There is great snorkeling just a short walk from the Sugar Shack. Such a quiet and relaxing place to spend our honeymoon! Thank you Jai and John! I don't know why anyone would stay in a cookie-cutter hotel room when, for about the same price, they can stay at the Kona Sugar Shack.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were so happy to stay at the Sugar Shack. Clean, good location, FULLY stocked room, relaxing environment. It made our trip to Hawaii extra special. I highly recommend this place. Great for a family.

We were in the Anniversary Suite. If you are coming with more than two in your party, beware its a little noisy in the living area (where kids would sleep). There is also only air conditioning in the bedroom, not the main area. Just something to consider if you have light sleepers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Frankly I don't understand all the rave reviews the Kona Sugar Shack gets. Yes the accomodation is nice, but the location is awful.

Check the map and you will see that it faces directly onto Alii Dr, a noisy two lane race track of a road. Quietly sitting by the pool while tour buses fly by a few feet away just isn't my idea of a relaxing vacation. If you want a little quiet you have to go somewhere else during the day. And bring ear plugs if you want to sleep at night (Fortunately we had some). For the price, I just can't recommend the Sugar Shack. We won't be back.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyJomac, Owner at Kona Sugar Shack, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We're so sorry that these guests didn't have a good experience at the Kona Sugar Shack and found it "terribly noisy". They did mention that their home on Vancouver Island was in a rural area surrounded by a lot of undeveloped acreage, which may explain why they found our beach community a bit more active than they're used to.

Alii Drive is a quaint little two lane street that runs along the ocean, not a highway, and is easy to cross to go to the beach. At night, the traffic virtually stops until morning. Kailua- Kona is definitely not anything like a city or a bustling metropolis.

I just came from my jog down Alii Drive and stopped to greet some new guests. Two were sound asleep on lounges by the pool and two other guests were having coffee under the plumaria tree out by the rock wall, watching spinner dolpins and paddlers go by. The "Shack" offers lots of special spaces and gardens for privacy. It really does have good karma.

The Kona Sugar Shack is popular with families, couples and others seeking a peaceful tropical environment. Our guests are asked to make themselves at home while visiting and most find it a relaxing place to stay.

The Kona Sugar Shack is located in a beach side residential neighborhood. You can check our location on Google to see the actual location and it's proximity to Magic Sands Beach, the Village of Kailua-Kona and other sites. You will hear lots of birds chirping in the morning and evening (parrots, Mynas and doves) and the sound of waves breaking on the shore,

Please take the time to read some of the 72 positive reviews found on TripAdvisor and even the two negative ones before deciding where to stay when on the Big Island of Hawaii. We make every effort to ensure our guests have the best experience possible. Over the years, we have met wonderful people from all over the world and most have found the "Shack" a delightful place to stay, many returning year after year. This is why the Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently rated #1 by TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#4 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
2.5 mi away
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.