We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Save
You added Kona Sugar Shack to your Saves list
77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in the Mango room and had terrific stay. The owner, John, was a wealth of information about Big Island. We could walk to 2 amazing beaches or use the pool in the front yard. The Mango room had everything we could have wanted and all the comforts of home. The private yard was intimate and welcoming. We sat with our morning Kona Coffee in peace with the fragrance of Tahitian gardenias filling the air. John was truly a great host and guide. We would stay there again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: The mango suite is private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I won't duplicate all the other great things that other reviewers have posted, except to say they're all spot on. The Honeymoon Suite was perfect for me and my wife, not just because we like to cook a lot of our own meals when we travel (there's a supermarket nearby, as well as Da Poke Shack, which sells fresh fish in addition to serving great Poke), but because the outdoor kitchen was a great place to dry our dive gear =). Jae and John are wonderful hosts and provide great local tips. And I even inherited some old dive gear John is no longer using (thanks John!). We'll definitely stay again on our next trip to Kona, only next time we're planning to bring friends and rent the whole place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed for a week, with my parents, my sister and her husband, and our 2 year old daughter, and had an amazing time. We stayed in the three bedroom Ocean suite and were extremely happy with everything. The location is fantastic, and we spent plenty of time at the beach across the street, or just lounging on the balcony. One of the biggest pluses is the amount of extras they provide. Things like coolers, sun umbrellas, sun chairs, boogie boards and more, made daylong trips to local sights many, many times better; we almost felt like locals. We will be booking again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I'd heard great things about the Sugar Shack, and decided to give it a try. If you are visiting Kona, and you're primary interest is in snorkeling, this is a good location to base yourself from, because it's a little south of the noisy busy part of Kona (about 4 miles), and it ranges from extremely close (Kahalu'u) to reasonably close (Two Step, Captain Cook) to some of the best snorkeling on the island.

But there are other great reasons to choose this place. Though it's on Ali'i Drive (technically), it's set so far back from the street, and is slightly above the road, that you will not hear the road noise (especially if you're staying in the back units, which are facing a quiet residential street). The ocean noise is also absent. I know that might sound like a downside, because ocean sounds can be romantic. But I have stayed ON the water on the other side of Ali'i Drive, and had the ocean be so loud that it was actually difficult to sleep.

The Sugar Shack is well-kept, clean, fully-equipped, and the layout is very good (we were in the Mango Suite) for feeling like you've got some space. The living room is around a corner from the bedroom and kitchen area, and the bathroom is off the living room. There's a really neat private patio for this suite that has a dining table, tiki torches, and a gas grill.

Jae was extremely helpful when planning the trip, and she checked in with us via telephone, just after our arrival, to make sure everything was going smoothly.

And Vicki, who does the cleaning for the units, was extremely friendly, and even gave us a quick tour of the other units, since they were between guests the day that we saw her.

It was definitely the best place I have ever stayed on the Kona side of the island, and ranks among the nicest vacation rentals that I have stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a couple, I would recommend the Mango Suite over the Honeymoon Suite, bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Kona Sugar Shack was the PERFECT place to begin our Hawaiian honeymoon - it's hard for me to even write this review because I miss it so much! We stayed in the Honeymoon Pool Suite - it was spacious, clean, well appointed - we had everything we needed. The outdoor kitchen for our private use was great - every night we whipped up some appetizers and mai tais and watched the glorious sunset right from the Sugar Shack pool.

The owners were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. They often checked in to see how our trip was going and never seemed bothered by our questions or requests. We felt like we were staying with friends.

The location of the Sugar Shack can't be beat - it is on a busy road, yes, but it's several miles away from the main hustle and bustle of Kailua Kona. The road traffic was not noisy, however, and did not negatively impact our trip in any way. Right across the street is the beautiful ocean and a small beach, so the views are really fantastic. Nothing like waking up to the sound of crashing waves :)

The Sugar Shack is an incredible value. Not once did we regret our choice. If you are looking for charm, privacy, and a boutique feel, the Sugar Shack is the place to be.

We hope to return ASAP!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Pool Suite is very large and has its own private outdoor kitchen, and is directly adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the KSS. 2005, 2007, and now 2011. We have stayed there with family and friends. J and John are excellent hosts. J is a great resource for locating the best beaches and shopping. John enjoys people. They are very accommodating. Everything is there at the house! Beach, snorkel, you name it, they have it or they know how to get it. They have fully equipped kitchens. Lovely view of the ocean. Great pool. It's as if you are in your own home. Fresh bananas on the property. I can't say enough. My go to for Kona. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Big view from the ocean suite. The ocean suite has a master suite, full kitchen, living room and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the Sugar Shack for a bit more than one week and we felt in love with it, cannot wait to come back...

We were lucky enough to stay in the Honeymoon Suite and especially liked the outdoor kitchen a lot!

Service, value, location and the rooms were just perfect for us and we really felt like home there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.