We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim

Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim
Keahou Shopping Center, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 98626
808-322-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kamehameha III
Transit: Keauhou shuttle It's new, Open-Air 44seat trolley type shuttle. Between Keauhou and Kailua town eight times aday.
Poway, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very good meal. We had some very inventive sushi with pineapple. The bar is also nice if you just want drinks and appetizers. Kind of sad that so many shops have closed in this mall though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    19
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second visit to the island and since we enjoyed our last visit here thought we would try it again. They I'd not disappoint. Very fresh sushi and interesting options. The black cod is amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our group of 8 visited this venue on 2 occasions, and were delighted both times. The sushi was good but the Ahi Tuna sashimi was the best. A few tried the lamb and raved about the presentation and delicious flavor. I was there strictly for the sashimi and was not disappointed. The Salmon sashimi was also delectable. Request the FRESH ground wasabi and fresh shaved ginger to make the meal even better. A nice wine list enables one to pair the wine with the sashimi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better, but still too spendy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Disappointed last time over portion size and price, we were stuck (and hungry) choosing between Kenichi, L&L Hawaiian BBQ (and no booze), or buying a six-pack of Lava Man plus a deli chicken and eating it over the sink back at the time share.

Since it had been a long day on the water, we decided to chance it at Kenichi Pacific (again).

Put it this way: If the tab plus tip for four cocktails, three sushi items and two appetizers had been $100, we'd be okay, but it was $130 with tip (20% because of good service).

If you want to splurge and have the money for disproportionately extravagant spending for very good food, then Kenichi is an option.

Next time, it'll be KTA fried chicken and poke, and a six-pack.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Interesting choices. Specialty cocktails are unique. Half price sushi rolls are excellent. Try the warm sake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.