We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIED IT AGAIN AND IT FAILED AGAIN! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim

Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim
Keahou Shopping Center, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 98626
808-322-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kamehameha III
Transit: Keauhou shuttle It's new, Open-Air 44seat trolley type shuttle. Between Keauhou and Kailua town eight times aday.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“TRIED IT AGAIN AND IT FAILED AGAIN! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We tried this spot again since we hoped and prayed our waitperson had been locked up since our last visit. She most likely is on the lamb since she should never have been hired. Terrible service still and way overpriced for the quality. Skip this and head south to Keei Cafe for sterling service and food. This place just plain sucks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    19
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If you love black sole, this is the place for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just a terrific little restaurant in Kona. Nice ambience and service. Terrific food. But the black sole "appetizer" was just out of this world. Better than Nobu's! Don't miss this restaurant if you visit the Big Island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Interesting fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This restaurant is in a small shopping center, near the main road and many of the nice condo complexes located a few miles south of the town of Kona. It is very popular for its happy hour, because appetizers as well as drinks are at a reduced price. The appetizers are good. Local fish is fresh and prepared fairly well. It was my first experience having ono, a very light, non oily, white fish. It was okay at this restaurant, but I did have it better prepared in other restaurants as our trip progressed. It is a pleasant place to eat. Outdoor seating, is outside the restaurant, but inside the mall area. Main dishes will cost around $30.

Again, whether eating out or shopping at the market, all food is extraordinarily expensive. If trying to save on eating out on this side of the island, your best bet are the sandwich plates at the cafes/bar restaurants in the town of Kona. They can be generous and cost under $20 each.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great seafood and sushi in keahou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Happy hour 5-6:30 sushi is half price and it is awesome. Seafood dinners also awesome, I had the Ono plate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I ate there twice and the food and service were both fantastic. The first night we had the fish of the day, Black Cod, a must have it was great. The second night was more appetizers and they were great and almost full meal themselves. If you have not been to Kenichi's you have to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.