We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boat, Friendly, efficient crew.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides

Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides
78-7130 Kaleiopapa Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-322-2788
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$83*
and up
Ranked #24 of 204 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1971, Fair Wind has been the leader in snorkel cruises on the Big Island of Hawaii. Cruises include morning and afternoon tours to pristine Kealakekua Bay aboard the spacious Fair Wind II. Enjoy one of Hawaii's top snorkel locations and site of the famous Captain Cook Monument. Perfect for families of all ages and experience levels. Includes (2) 15-ft waterslides and high-jump platform.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice Boat, Friendly, efficient crew.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I took the manta ray night scuba dive on Xmas eve 2013. Dive master Katie was very professional and attentive. Surf and bottom surge was very strong. After bouncing around on the bottom like pinballs in the surge. She recognized hanging with the snorkelers would be better. She made sure I got a snorkel and all my gear was taken care of. The rest of the crew was also very friendly and efficient. The vessel itself is a very comfortable and seems custom made for diving and snorkeling and is complete with bathrooms.

I recommend this company.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    102
    23
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Comfortable boat and great snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Hula Kai is a fantastic boat. It's very comfortable and has two restrooms. There are stairs in to the water instead of a latter. The fresh water showers are also very nice when getting out of the water. Be sure your tour will take you to the Captain Cook monument. It's one of the best snorkeling spots in the world.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Go Every Year ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm 14 and I go with my family and the staff is super nice. They like to mess with you jokingly which makes it fun. The reef is beautiful and clear. They have a slide and a jumping dock thing and it's super fun. The top deck is the best place to sit for the best views

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful trip and fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time and recommend it highly! The staff was very friendly informative and fun to be with!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling Cruise Ever!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went on the morning cruise on Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013. Hands down, this was the best snorkeling cruise ever! We have been to all four major Hawaiian islands and this was the best. The staff was incredibly friendly and organized. The equipment they provided was great. The location was at Captain Cook's monument which is amazing. There were so many varieties of sea life to see. We saw a few hump back whales on the way. The boat is very clean with great bathrooms. Not to mention the awesome slides and high dive platform. The food was even incredible. They provided a great continental breakfast with coffee, juice and water. Lunch was hamburgers & hot dogs with great side items. Overall, this was a fantastic value for a wonderfully memorable day on the big island!!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Keauhou, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.