We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TOUCH OF THE CARIBBEAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)

Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)
Hwy. 19, Paved Road With Sign, Near Marker 88, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 51 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
kirkland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A TOUCH OF THE CARIBBEAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

THE most beautiful beach near Kona . The calm turquoise bay is surounded by a crescent of soft white sand Located just north of the airport. There is not much parking and it can get crowded. a short climb down some rocks to get to the beach. We visited several days in a row and saw a sea turtle each visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    85
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesvillle, SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“beautiful beach with really good snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Crystal clear waters dotted with lava rock formations make for a picture perfect beach. Young people could dive safely from cliffs into the slightly deeper water; snorkeling was actually surprisingly good especially since it wasn't really known for snorkeling! Snorkel the right end when approaching the bay. The sand is clean and white and the beaches were populated with locals and tourists, but not too crowded as far as I'm concerned. There isn't much for shade but umbrellas and canopies will work fine there. Also, no bathroom facilities so take care of business before you go! This is an absolutely beautiful beach and should be on everyone's hit list for the Big Island!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Soft white sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This beach is excellent for swimming and I didn't find the waves to be too strong. It did get a little hot on the beach but what better way to cool down than to take a dip in the clear blue water? We tried to snorkel but didn't find anything too interesting, although we didn't really venture that far out. It didn't take us long to find parking, but then again we did go in the afternoon so I'm not sure what parking is like in the morning.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach on the Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Did not like the (very) short climb down the rocks with two toddlers to get there. However, it was worth it. Loved the white sand and picture perfect blue water.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Take the family, spend the day. I enjoyed reading a book and relaxing. Bring sunscreen and extra water.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.