We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)

Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)
Hwy. 19, Paved Road With Sign, Near Marker 88, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 299 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Attraction details
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Beautiful beach with excellent snorkling on the North end. Bathhouse and showers available onsite. Waves were not to rough for small children. Excellent beach for family outing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    106
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Pretty white sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Located on the Kona side, Kua Bay is the type of pretty, white sand beach associated with vacation. There's no shade so bring your own umbrella. It's pretty popular so expect it to be crowded by Hawaii standards. There's no concession stand so be sure to bring lunch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Now that this beach has a paved road to it, this is a great place to go. For years the locals have needed a 4 wheel drive or a long walk to get there, but now easy access. But go in the morning as the parking gets crazy in the after noon.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach in Kailua-Kona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was definitely our favorite beach when we visited Kailua-Kona over the 4th of July weekend. I'm from Oahu, Hawaii, and I have to admit this beach was nicer than the ones back home!

Upon driving into the Kekaha Kai beach park, you can see the ocean is extra blue. The parking is along the street and is very easy to find parking. People are coming and going often.

What makes it my favorite beach is the water is so clear and so blue. I don't even know how it is such a beautiful shade of teal - you will not find beaches back on Oahu with water that beautiful! I took a ton of pictures, and even my friends back home said it looks like I'm in Bora Bora or something!

It's not the largest beach, but the vibe was good and we really enjoyed this beach. Another patron was telling me that they saw turtles swimming around the rocky areas, but unfortunately there were no turtles that day we went.

Another suggestion to make this spot better is if there was a food truck or shave ice/drinks stand.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful sandy beach- crystal clear water and a little boogie board surf. It was gentle enough for our smaller kids. There is no shade, and the scramble down over rocks from the main path was challenging for grandma. Restrooms, showers, but usually a walk for parking on a paved road. Very peaceful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.