We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a discount, book 24 hours again, or use AAA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm

Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm
Natural Energy Lab, Keahole Coast, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-329-6840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 204 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Aquariums, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Murrieta
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“For a discount, book 24 hours again, or use AAA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hi Everyone,

I'll add some information here that the other reviewers haven't mentioned (or I had to dig to find this info).

We were planning to visit this farm on the Saturday that we were flying out. On Thursday night, I reviewed the website, and found that there are no tours on Saturdays or Sundays! So we went on Friday.

If you book tickets on the website, you get a 5% discount for booking at least 24 hours in advance. Since the price is $40 a person, any discount is helpful. What I just now learned from looking at the other reviews is that they offer a AAA discount. It would have been nice if the farm had the AAA sticker visible indicating that a discount was available (again, only 5%).

This tour would be great for ages about 3 and up. To see most of the seahorses, one must look into big vats that are about 4 feet high, so the little ones need someone to boost them. If you have a lot of small children, you may want to skip this farm until they're a little older.

I always buy a Christmas ornament while we're on vacation -- and I found my distinctive ornament here: a glass-blown seahorse! Can't wait to hang it up in December.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    68
    19
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seahorse Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

While in Kona we saw ads for a Seahorse Farm. We decided to go and was really glad we did! It is an amazing place. You even get to hold a seahorse at the end of the tour! Very informative tour! If you love sea horses you have to go there!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

As an offshoot of a failed attempt to use temperature differentials in surface and subsurface seawater several aquaculture businesses have sprung up on the site of the natural energy lab. Among them is the Ocean Ridwr Seahorse Farm. A tour of tge facility shows you all stages of the growth process from newborn to full adult. Unlike most available in the pet trade these are captive born and raised and as a consequence are better adapted to captivity. Want to own a pair? Be prepared to take an online course that will ensure you are up to the task

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The ony Seahorse Farm in the World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

we decided like many others to do this last minute and were taken aback by the steep price - $40 per adult (12 and older) so our family's price for 5 was $178 with 10% off for AAA. That being said once we committed it was one of our highlights.

You get to feed seahorses, you get to hold a seahorse, and learn about these beautiful creatures. I think about it like a miniature Sea World or Zoo - if you've visited any of these places then you'll enjoy the Seahorse Farm.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice find-interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My daughter found this online and suggested we visit on our trip to Kona. I'd never heard of it before but was glad we found it. I do understand the other reviewer's concern about the care of the seahorses and I'm not a fan of captivity. That being said, it was still interesting to learn more about seahorses and to see the different species. They give the visitors some shrimp to feed the seahorses with and they will swarm to the top of their tanks to get them. There is an opportunity to put your hands in the water and a seahorse will wrap it's tail around your finger. It's unlikely to see a seahorse in the ocean so the chance to see them up close and learn about them was worth the experience. It's a small place and not on the beaten path. The sign to the energy lab is large and is where you turn off the main highway to get to it. The area is not air conditioned but they do have water available. There is a waiting area outside with tables and umbrellas while you wait for your tour. They have a shrimp pond where they grow some of the shrimp that are fed to the sea horses. They began giving tours as a way to raise money to support their efforts. You can judge for yourself how the seahorses are treated if you go but you will learn some things that you may not have learned and be able to see seahorses up close.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.