We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to experience local culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kona Resort Luau

Royal Kona Resort Luau
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
866-482-9775
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #87 of 204 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great way to experience local culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everyone who goes to Hawaii should attend at least one luau. The entertainment explained a lot about local culture through dance and the food was delicious with different flavours from our own diet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    254
    116
    19
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We got discount tickets after being tortured at a time share meeting. Not really worth it. The food was palatable at best. The pork was dry as a bone and actually made me sick the next morning. The drinks were just ok. The best one was the free water. My friend asked if the bar tender could get her a pina colada and he said no. Later a woman at our table was brought a pina colada... ok... The band was terrible. The dancers were good and the fire dancer was amazing. He actually made the show.

Oh, did I mention they don't give refunds for rained out shows? We only spent $28 a person to get in and it wasn't worth it. My advice, find another Luau....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“oh no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was by far the most touristy tourist thing I have yet experienced. Cafeteria style 'Hawaiian' food, free 'cocktails' (about a half a shot of Whaler's Dark Rum), and the cheesiest host of all time. The dancing was about what you would expect. The band executed flawless renditions of the most forgettable Hawaiian music... basically you are forced to mingle with other tourists and eat sub par food, and hopefully if you drink enough alcohol, the experience becomes entertaining. I did not drink enough. Luckily, the bar attached to the hotel has great cocktails if you need a reprieve. This thing goes on for like 3 hours. Or it seemed that way. You can see the boredom on the faces of the other hundred or so people who were told they 'had to do this!' Also, as an aside, the host kept changing Hawaiian shirts throughout the show... why?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An okay experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've never been to a luau... so not sure what to compare it to. Everyone said we have to do it at least once while in Hawaii...so we did. The show was good, lovely location, the drinks were okay and the food was so-so. Actually, food could have been a lot better. The check in staff was actually a bit rude... we asked if they could take our picture and they said sure when the line is finished.... there was no line? Anyway, the dancers were all good, especially the fire show at the end.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Where's Lawrence Welk when you need him?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Expect a hokey experience, like most luaus, with hula dancers, a Hawaiian band, fire majorettes, and mostly forgettable food - all at premium prices! The pit roast pig was indeed very good and tasty, but the beef was fit for resoling boots and the sides were not worth fighting over. The initial mai tai drinks were mostly fruit juice with a mere topping of rum. The most impressive sight of the evening - the massive and mocking protruding tongue of the chief male dancer, seemingly intended to taunt the audience, which like me, tends to the silver-haired demographic. Lawrence Welk would have loved it, but alas.....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Kona Resort Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Royal Kona Resort Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kona Resort Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.